1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome to Lightroom Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to register and post your first thread under Help on the menubar above. You're also welcome to join our newsletter, download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBook and explore our other FAQ resources.
    Dismiss Notice

Virtual Copy or Duplicate Work Around on the Phone?

Discussion in 'Lightroom CC for iOS, Android and Web' started by reidthaler, Jan 12, 2018 at 11:18 PM.

  1. reidthaler

    reidthaler Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Messages:
    293
    Location:
    San Francisco Bay Area
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Any good ideas that preserve working in DNG? Exporting to the iPhone camera roll and re-importing will only return a message that the photo has been skipped since it's already in LR.

    I can make a JPG, but that defeats a RAW workflow.

    Ideas beside making a VC on the desktop?

    Thanks,


    Reid
     
  2. Jim Wilde

    Jim Wilde Lightroom Guru Staff Member Moderator Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    10,348
    Location:
    West Sussex, UK
    Lightroom Experience:
    Advanced
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.11.x El Capitan
    Lightroom Version:
    Classic 7
    I'm not following you here. What do you mean by "preserve working in DNG"?
     
  3. reidthaler

    reidthaler Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Messages:
    293
    Location:
    San Francisco Bay Area
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Windows 7 64-bit
    I’m wanting to make a copy so i can process as black and white. Lightroom mobile has no VCs, and i cant duplicate an image
     
  4. JohanElzenga

    JohanElzenga Lightroom Guru Staff Member Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2015
    Messages:
    6,223
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.13.x High Sierra
    Lightroom Version:
    Classic 7
    Select the image, then tap on the three dots in the upper right corner. That will give you a menu with several options. The second option is 'Copy to...'. Doesn't that do what you want?
     
  5. Jim Wilde

    Jim Wilde Lightroom Guru Staff Member Moderator Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    10,348
    Location:
    West Sussex, UK
    Lightroom Experience:
    Advanced
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.11.x El Capitan
    Lightroom Version:
    Classic 7
    I think all that does is add the photo to another collection, but it's the same photo.
    The desktop version of LRCC does have a true "make a copy" option, which is actually a full copy of the original, not a VC, but can be separately processed. The copy would, however, sync back down to Classic as a VC.
     
  6. JohanElzenga

    JohanElzenga Lightroom Guru Staff Member Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2015
    Messages:
    6,223
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.13.x High Sierra
    Lightroom Version:
    Classic 7
    Seems you're right. I thought that it would make a real copy (just like the desktop version), but it doesn't. It seems you have to use a desktop version of Lightroom (Lr CC or Lr Classic) to do this.
     

Share This Page