Upload to SmugMug-- here's how I WANT it to work, but does it do this?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bill CKM

Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
I'm a long-time pro photographer but new to LightRoom. Here's what I want to do. I'm working in LightRoom. I've got a screen with several hundred four- and five-star picks that have been corrected for color and exposure and cropped. I want to upload these images to a new gallery in SmugMug, keeping the corrections and crops intact. I can see ways to modify galleries AFTER I have uploaded images, or synchronize galleries, but if there are clear and understandable instructions on how to do what I just described, I haven't been able to find them.

Many thanks for all help.

I do not use the SmugMug plugin, but the first thing I would check would be the publish/export settings.
Can you take screenshots and post them of the export or publish settings you are using?

I do this all the time for event photos. Once you get the workflow down it is very fast.

First, define your smugmug folder structure the way you plan to use it. Plan ahead -- people tend to make the structure too flat at first, meaning not enough levels. Works great the first year for basketball, but after a while you may find you want folders that break down by school or year or something else (to continue the sports example). You CAN create all this in lightroom, but you will also likely want to parallel this on Smugmug itself with home page links or drop down menus, etc. I am not suggesting you get the galleries created ahead of time, but the folders (think of them as scaffolding to hold the galleries).

Set up the Smugmug publishing plugin once, so it has your user ID and such, and review all the settings, in particular sizing, file types, metadata, and what things cause republish (I just check them all).