Trying to understand print size relativity

Status
Not open for further replies.

vanderloo5

Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
Can someone point me to a good tutorial that will help me get my head wrapped around lens cropping vs. print size.
I guess my camera's aspect ratio isn't relative to common print sizes and I keep finding myself cropping valuable real estate from my photos to make them proportionally correct for standard prints.
Shooting a canon 5D mk III and trying to print 11 x 14 prints.
I'm fairly new to this so if any terminologies used here seem confusing, that's why. But hopefully my intent is clear.
Thank You

You do not need to crop.
Why do you need to have the image and the paper correspond to the exact ratio?
Answer - you do not.

I print a lot and I never crop for the reasons you have outlined.

Tony Jay

Print size depends upon two things: Pixel count (Height & width) and Paper size (in inches or mm)
If you divide the long edge (paper or image) by the short edge, you get the aspect ratio of an image that describes the proportional relationship between its width and its height. It is commonly expressed as two numbers separated by a colon, as in 16:9 So an 8X10 sheet of photo paper can be described (when reduced by it lowest common denominator) as 4:5. Your HDTV sized monitor (1092X1080) resolves to 16:9.

Your Canon 5D MkIII has a sensor the size of a 35mm film frame (36mmX24mm and 5760px X 3840 px) It's aspect ratio is 3:2. This aspect ratio (3:2) is common for almost all cameras though some are not quite 3:2.