1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome to Lightroom Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to register and post your first thread under Help on the menubar above. You're also welcome to join our newsletter, download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBook and explore our other FAQ resources.
    Dismiss Notice

Tethering a D800 - connection

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by Marc Lucas, Dec 7, 2017 at 4:50 PM.

  1. Marc Lucas

    Marc Lucas Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2013
    Messages:
    41
    Lightroom Experience:
    Beginner
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.8.x Mountain Lion
    Hi

    The Tether tools orange cable connecting to the D800 is constantly coming loose from the camera. The actual connect is not that tight so is there an additional bracket or some kind of connector that I can fix to the camera so it doesn't come loose. I have contacted Tether Tools but they haven't replied.

    There are various other things in the video world to connect USB & HDMIs to cameras so the cables don't come out but haven't seen any for this scenario

    This is the connection

    IMG_4558.JPG IMG_4558.JPG
     
  2. RikkFlohr

    RikkFlohr Senior Member Staff Member Moderator Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,793
    Location:
    Twin Cities, MN
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Windows 10
    Lightroom Version:
    Classic 7
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    Gaffer's tape works wonders.
     
  3. Ferguson

    Ferguson Linwood Ferguson Staff Member Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,440
    Location:
    Cape Coral, FL
    Lightroom Experience:
    Intermediate
    Primary OS:
    Windows 10
    Lightroom Version:
    6.10 / CC 2015.10
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    My boxes are all well up into the attic but didn't it come with a little plastic piece to clip over the cable?
     
  4. Ferguson

    Ferguson Linwood Ferguson Staff Member Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,440
    Location:
    Cape Coral, FL
    Lightroom Experience:
    Intermediate
    Primary OS:
    Windows 10
    Lightroom Version:
    6.10 / CC 2015.10
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    See bottom right... note I've never used it, indeed am not even sure I still have it, but it says it has one. Does it not work?


    PS. [​IMG]
     
  5. clee01l

    clee01l Lightroom Guru Staff Member Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Messages:
    13,282
    Location:
    Bellaire, TX USA
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.13.x High Sierra
    Lightroom Version:
    Classic 7
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    The D810 comes with a similar USB cable clamp that attaches to the door and door housing. Because it is more robust than the one that shipped with the D800/E, I think this was an issue that was corrected in the D810. I've never used one for either my D800E or D810 as I don't often tether.
     

Share This Page