1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome to Lightroom Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to register and post your first thread under Help on the menubar above. You're also welcome to join our newsletter, download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBook and explore our other FAQ resources.
    Dismiss Notice

Silver Efex Pro causes vertical line on images

Discussion in 'Extending Lightroom' started by nullifidian, Dec 13, 2016.

  1. nullifidian

    nullifidian New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Lightroom Experience:
    Intermediate
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.12.x Sierra
    Lightroom Version:
    6.8 / CC 2015.8
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    New to the forum - hope I'm in the right place.
    Recently I have noticed that several (not all) images edited in Silver Efex Pro have a vertical line in them.
    Examples can be seen at Black & White set 2 - luberonlife
    It's clearly visible in images 9, 14, 19, 35, 39 and 40, but is also present in others.
    These are jpegs with no blemish in Lightroom before editing in Silver Efex Pro.
    Has anyone any idea what might be causing this? Thanks
     
  2. clee01l

    clee01l Lightroom Guru Staff Member Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Messages:
    12,009
    Location:
    Bellaire, TX USA
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.12.x Sierra
    Lightroom Version:
    6.8 / CC 2015.8
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    I see the problem. Unfortunately, the Nix plugins are no longer supported and have been orphaned by Google. Many apps needed to be updated to meet the changes with the introduction of MacOS. LR was one of them. You may need to look for alternatives.

    As a test, can you use the Edit in function in LR to call PSCC? From PSCC call the SEP plugin and see if the result is the same.
     
  3. johnbeardy

    johnbeardy Senior Member Staff Member Moderator Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    3,958
    Location:
    London
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Windows 10
    Lightroom Version:
    6.6 / CC 2015.6
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    Do these lines show in Lightroom too? They don't just appear online, do they?
     
  4. rob211

    rob211 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Messages:
    890
    Location:
    Oakland, CA USA
    Lightroom Experience:
    Advanced
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.12.x Sierra
    Lightroom Version:
    6.7 / CC 2015.7
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    I just ran a RAW from Lr to Silver Efex and saw no such line. Perhaps if we had access to the original we could test it?
     
  5. johnbeardy

    johnbeardy Senior Member Staff Member Moderator Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    3,958
    Location:
    London
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Windows 10
    Lightroom Version:
    6.6 / CC 2015.6
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    I've also tested a few raw files and see no indication of this problem.
     
  6. nullifidian

    nullifidian New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Lightroom Experience:
    Intermediate
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.12.x Sierra
    Lightroom Version:
    6.8 / CC 2015.8
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    Thank you all for your helpful thoughts.
    Cletus - sorry, I don't use Photoshop. The learning curve is too steep for me. I have just re-installed PS but I have no idea how to find/use the SEP plugin.
    John - the line does not appear in Lightroom before SEP editing, but it shows up in Lightroom after the SEP edit. It's not only online.
    Rob - The max file upload size here is 1MB. I'm not sure how to get the files to you for testing but I have uploaded to Onedrive here:
    Test images LR-SEP
    I just repeated the SEP editing from an original and the same problem occurred.
    Thanks again to all
     
  7. rob211

    rob211 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Messages:
    890
    Location:
    Oakland, CA USA
    Lightroom Experience:
    Advanced
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.12.x Sierra
    Lightroom Version:
    6.7 / CC 2015.7
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    I ran one of those through Silver Efex Pro 2 and saw no line. I imported that into Lr and saw no line.
     
  8. nullifidian

    nullifidian New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Lightroom Experience:
    Intermediate
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.12.x Sierra
    Lightroom Version:
    6.8 / CC 2015.8
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    Thanks Rob.
    Hmmm. I just re-imported into Lightroom two of the problem images, the pair I uploaded to OneDrive. I then edited in SEP and no line appeared.
    Goodness knows what's causing this. Thanks for your concern.
     
  9. Samoreen

    Samoreen New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    83
    Location:
    Samoreau, France
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Windows 10
    Lightroom Version:
    6.8 / CC 2015.8
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    Did you try to disable hardware acceleration in the Nik plugin ? Similar problems have been solved this way by other users.
     

Share This Page