1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome to Lightroom Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to register and post your first thread under Help on the menubar above. You're also welcome to join our newsletter, download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBook and explore our other FAQ resources.
    Dismiss Notice

Rant! Why are slideshows so different between LR desktop, web, and mobile?

Discussion in 'Output Modules' started by Cuzzinbrucie, Jan 2, 2017.

1. Cuzzinbrucie

Cuzzinbrucie Active Member

Lightroom Experience:
    Beginner
    Primary OS:
    Windows 10
    Lightroom Version:
    6.7 / CC 2015.7
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    I'm new to LR. Maybe my 40 year career in a two platform mainframe/PC IT environment did not adequately prepare me for what to expect when the output goes to the internet and mobile platforms also. I expected that whatever I created on the developer's platform, ie desktop, would carry forward to the web and mobile LR outputs as well. At least a substantial share of characteristics and features, particularly with an entity like a slideshow. Adobe touts synchronizing entities between platforms as a very desirable characteristic provided by the LR products. Some of the slideshow differences I see are:

1) Music added on LR desktop is absent from the web and mobile versions
    2) Location of metadata field values that on the desktop either surrounded the slideshow image or overlaid it is either absent or has moved to a totally different location when viewed on the web or mobile
    3) The default image/slide sequence established on LR desktop is lost when it moves to web and mobile