Status
Not open for further replies.

Mickey

Premium Classic Member
Premium Cloud Member
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
I've never used file syncing software before but copying my lightroom folder (mostly catalog and selected smart previews and a bit more) to an external drive and then copying to my laptop when I travel and plan on working on photos is getting way to time consuming. I'm hoping file syncing software will be quicker.

I'm looking at ViceVersa based on Victoria's recommendation, but is the Plus version enough for the bidirectional syncing, or do I need the Pro version. I definitely don't need the server support.

I've seen in other posts that some folks use FreeFileSync, is that really as good as ViceVersa?

Mickey

I don't think this is practical or prudent. You have two catalogs and image files of the same images. YOU have to maintain discipline to manage to work with only the latest catalog and keep up with which is the one with the latest changes and that there are not any changes in the catalog file that is not the latest that is not also in the "latest" catalog file. If you are confused by that sentence, you will be just as confused sorting out two catalogs of the same data.
Adobe has developed the concept of merging catalogs using the "Import from another catalog" function and "Export as a catalog" function. You can export ONLY those images that you plan to work on while using the laptop and this cuts down on the size of files and folders necessary to transfer to the laptop. You can even add new photos to the laptop catalog and then when you return to your master catalog use the "Import from another catalog" function to merge the travel catalog back to the master catalog. If you transfer the Smart Previews for the images that you want to work on while traveling, then you don't even need to take the original master image copies and you can still develop from the Smart Previews.