1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome to Lightroom Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to register and post your first thread under Help on the menubar above. You're also welcome to join our newsletter, download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBook and explore our other FAQ resources.
    Dismiss Notice

Olympus in-camera HDR

Discussion in 'Workflow Discussion' started by BobT, Feb 17, 2017.

Tags:
  1. BobT

    BobT Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    119
    Location:
    Australia
    Lightroom Experience:
    Advanced
    Primary OS:
    Windows 10
    I have an Olympus E-M1. It has in-camera HDR mode. If the camera is set to HDR and raw shooting mode, the camera take a number of images at varying EV adjustments then outputs two images, one is the composite HDR as a jpg and the other is a raw with 0EV adjustment, that is to say, the correct exposure. Why? Don't ask! Anyway, both the jpg and the raw are given the same file number but of course with different extensions. When importing into LR, only the raw is taken up. This is of no use because it doesn't have the HDR effect. I suspect that LR assumes the files are identical so disregards the jpg and shows only the raw. The work around is to remember to switch to jpg mode when shooting HDR or deleting the raw in explorer before importing into LR but that's a bit clumsy. Is there a setting in LR that will allows it to import both images, that is to say, two images with the same file number but different extensions?
     
  2. Victoria Bampton

    Victoria Bampton Lightroom Queen / Owner Staff Member Administrator Moderator Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Messages:
    18,811
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.12.x Sierra
    Lightroom Version:
    6.8 / CC 2015.8
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    If you go to Preferences > General tab, there's a Show JPEG images next to RAW checkbox that'll import them as separate photos in the Grid. The warning is if you shoot RAW+JPEG at other times, they'll end up as separate photos too.
     
    BobT likes this.
  3. Hoggy

    Hoggy Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2012
    Messages:
    303
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Lightroom Experience:
    Advanced
    Primary OS:
    Windows 10
    Lightroom Version:
    6.8 / CC 2015.8
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    Just out of curiosity, are you sure that's not a raw-HDR file?
    If it's anything like the Pentax K-3's raw-HDR mode, it should have all the exposures in that one raw file. (Check the filesize.) The downside, is that LR still doesn't do anything with the extra exposures - making it rather pointless to me. I'd rather them just be separate and do the merging in LR. What's worse, is that if you ever do an 'update DNG previews & Metadata' or ever do a '2nd conversion' (like to alter compatibility settings) - the file will get flattened to just one exposure without you knowing it. ... Although come to think of it - I doubt your camera writes DNG's in the first place, so just doing an initial conversion will likely discard all but one.

    I haven't checked, but I'm guessing the only one that LR will deal with is probably the 1st exposure the camera is set for.
     
  4. clee01l

    clee01l Lightroom Guru Staff Member Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Messages:
    12,217
    Location:
    Bellaire, TX USA
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.12.x Sierra
    Lightroom Version:
    6.8 / CC 2015.8
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    I was not aware that any in camera processed HDR produced a RAW output file. Since RAW files are not RGB, I am not sure how you could process a RAW HDR image using the conventional RAW processor scheme of one file per exposure. I do see how Pentax could bundle 3 or more RAW files in side a single file envelop, but I do not know of any 3rd party app (like LR) that could properly process such a file.
     
  5. Victoria Bampton

    Victoria Bampton Lightroom Queen / Owner Staff Member Administrator Moderator Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Messages:
    18,811
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.12.x Sierra
    Lightroom Version:
    6.8 / CC 2015.8
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    No, Bob's right, it's just a standard 0EV raw file.
     
    Hoggy and BobT like this.
  6. BobT

    BobT Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    119
    Location:
    Australia
    Lightroom Experience:
    Advanced
    Primary OS:
    Windows 10
    Thanks Victoria! That's perfect.
    I've since learnt the reason for providing a 0EV adjusted raw in addition to the composite HDR jpg, is so that one has fall back if the HDR proves unsuccessful.
     
  7. Hoggy

    Hoggy Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2012
    Messages:
    303
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Lightroom Experience:
    Advanced
    Primary OS:
    Windows 10
    Lightroom Version:
    6.8 / CC 2015.8
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    Yep, that's what it is.. Several separate exposures bundled.
    Outside of the full-size JPG in the raw, the only way to do anything with it, I think, is to use that crappy crashy Silkypix. But since that ain't about to happen for me, I haven't even bothered to check for sure. That's what makes that mode so pointless IMO.

    Although, my understanding is that Pentax's Pixel Shift also uses the 4 separate raws bundled into 1 file - and I think at least one other manufacturer might do the same for their version of it. So it'll be interesting if the likes of LR or C1 will ever do anything with bundled raws. ... At least not flattening them without warning could be a nice start.
     
  8. Ian.B

    Ian.B Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2014
    Messages:
    676
    Location:
    Nth Victoria; Australia
    Lightroom Experience:
    Intermediate
    Primary OS:
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Lightroom Version:
    5.6
    I works very well too; even hand held. How I understand it: The camera makes jpg and raw files --- the jpg are made into the HDR (or panorama and stacked ) and the raw files are saved to the card and can be used in other ways. Jpg file disappear . Been awhile since I have used it, or the Oly for that matter . EM1 would have to be the best camera I have own or used ; so far ahead of the dslr cameras
     

Share This Page