1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome to Lightroom Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to register and post your first thread under Help on the menubar above. You're also welcome to join our newsletter, download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBook and explore our other FAQ resources.
    Dismiss Notice

New Camera photos will not upload

Discussion in 'Lightroom 1-6 for Windows & Mac (perpetual)' started by grdnangl313, Jun 17, 2017.

  1. grdnangl313

    grdnangl313 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2015
    Messages:
    39
    Lightroom Experience:
    Beginner
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.10.x Yosemite
    Lightroom Version:
    5.6
    Lightroom License:
    Perpetual (Standalone)
    I just bought a new camera and the photos I took on it will not upload into lightroom 5. I have a Mac and the "Photos" app opened up and I can see the photos are in there, but I have never uploaded my photos into that I only upload them into LR. I did end up uploading them into it, but I still have to figure out why I am not able to upload them into LR.

    The message that shows up on the photos in LR is preview unavailable for this file. The name of the photos show up, but no preview.

    Do I need to do anything because I am trying to upload for the first time to a card from my new camera?
     
  2. marcb

    marcb Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    212
    Lightroom Experience:
    Intermediate
    Primary OS:
    Windows 10
    Lightroom Version:
    6.12 / CC 2015.12
    Lightroom License:
    Perpetual (Standalone)
    I suspect your new camera isn't supported by LR5. LR5 uses Camera Raw 8.7 to read your raw files; check Cameras supported by Camera Raw to see which version of Camera Raw you need.
     
  3. grdnangl313

    grdnangl313 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2015
    Messages:
    39
    Lightroom Experience:
    Beginner
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.10.x Yosemite
    Lightroom Version:
    5.6
    Lightroom License:
    Perpetual (Standalone)
    Great my new Nikon D500 is Not on the list. So what do I have to do now?
     
  4. marcb

    marcb Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    212
    Lightroom Experience:
    Intermediate
    Primary OS:
    Windows 10
    Lightroom Version:
    6.12 / CC 2015.12
    Lightroom License:
    Perpetual (Standalone)
    It is, actually ;):

    D500 NEF 9.5 6.5

    So you can either upgrade to LR6, or download the stand-alone raw converter from Adobe Digital Negative Converter 9.x (but then you'll have to convert the NEF files from your D500 to DNG first before importing them in LR).
     
  5. grdnangl313

    grdnangl313 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2015
    Messages:
    39
    Lightroom Experience:
    Beginner
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.10.x Yosemite
    Lightroom Version:
    5.6
    Lightroom License:
    Perpetual (Standalone)
    Great that's what I was afraid of. I really don't like the way Adobe makes you pay the yearly fee (is it like $100) to upgrade, so maybe I will try that Converter thing. More things to worry about. Thanks marcb.
     
  6. grdnangl313

    grdnangl313 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2015
    Messages:
    39
    Lightroom Experience:
    Beginner
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.10.x Yosemite
    Lightroom Version:
    5.6
    Lightroom License:
    Perpetual (Standalone)
    I downloaded the converter and it does work! Yay! I can use my new camera this morning on my photo club's photography walk! Thank you so much!!! You're awesome!!
     
  7. clee01l

    clee01l Lightroom Guru Staff Member Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Messages:
    13,270
    Location:
    Bellaire, TX USA
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.13.x High Sierra
    Lightroom Version:
    Classic 7
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    You do not need to buy a subscription ($10USD/mo-$120/yr) You can still purchase an upgrade to LR6 perpetual license (standalone) for a one time upgrade fee of $79USD.
    It is a misconception to many that LR is only available as a subscription. A perpetual license may not remain an availability forever, but you can still purchase LR6 this way today.
     
  8. grdnangl313

    grdnangl313 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2015
    Messages:
    39
    Lightroom Experience:
    Beginner
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.10.x Yosemite
    Lightroom Version:
    5.6
    Lightroom License:
    Perpetual (Standalone)
    I didnt know that - thanks so much! Do I go to Adobe's site and download it there? What happens to my LR photos, so they automatically upgrade or do you have to re-import the library back into LR6?

    How do I find out if the D500 is compatible with LR6 version?
     
  9. clee01l

    clee01l Lightroom Guru Staff Member Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Messages:
    13,270
    Location:
    Bellaire, TX USA
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.13.x High Sierra
    Lightroom Version:
    Classic 7
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    As marcb has indicated, the minimum version of LR is indicated in the link Cameras supported by Camera Raw
    When you upgrade from LR5 to LR6, the first time you open the catalog file in LR6, LR6 will ask to convert the LR5 database structure to the LR6 database structure. When you let it do this, the LR5 data will be translated into LR6 data and a new catalog file will then hold the contents of the old catalog. You do not and should not re-import.
    Adobe is not so straight forward on providing an upgrade link to the Perpetual license You can find it at this link: Buy now Be sure and click on the dropDown that says "Full" to choose and get the upgrade price.
     
  10. Victoria Bampton

    Victoria Bampton Lightroom Queen / Owner Staff Member Administrator Moderator Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Messages:
    19,536
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.12.x Sierra
    Lightroom Version:
    CC Cloud
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    This link wasn't working correctly over the weekend due to the left hand (web team) not knowing what the right hand (LR team) do, but that should be fixed now, so if anyone had trouble... no need for conspiracy theories, just incompetence. :D
     
  11. grdnangl313

    grdnangl313 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2015
    Messages:
    39
    Lightroom Experience:
    Beginner
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.10.x Yosemite
    Lightroom Version:
    5.6
    Lightroom License:
    Perpetual (Standalone)
    Ok so now I would like to upgrade to LR6 version and have a question since I will most likely also keep my Nikon D7000 also. Will I be able to upload photos from my both of my cameras the D7000 AND my D500 now? Or what will happen to uploading my D7000 photos now in LR6?
     
  12. Hal P Anderson

    Hal P Anderson Lightroom Guru Staff Member Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    2,422
    Location:
    Canada
    Lightroom Experience:
    Advanced
    Primary OS:
    Windows 10
    Lightroom Version:
    Classic 7
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    Nothing. Lightroom only gains the abilities to read raw files from new cameras. It never loses them.
     
  13. grdnangl313

    grdnangl313 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2015
    Messages:
    39
    Lightroom Experience:
    Beginner
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.10.x Yosemite
    Lightroom Version:
    5.6
    Lightroom License:
    Perpetual (Standalone)
    Thanks so much for your fast reply I just wanted to know that before downloading the new version!
     
  14. grdnangl313

    grdnangl313 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2015
    Messages:
    39
    Lightroom Experience:
    Beginner
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.10.x Yosemite
    Lightroom Version:
    5.6
    Lightroom License:
    Perpetual (Standalone)
    Great I just clicked on the link you provided and the license upgrade is $79 but the full is $149, which one do I need? (Is the full for downloading LR for the first time maybe? Help? I want to upgrade today..
     
  15. DGStinner

    DGStinner Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2015
    Messages:
    368
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Lightroom Experience:
    Intermediate
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.13.x High Sierra
    Lightroom Version:
    Classic 7
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    Yes, full is for people who have never owned Lightroom before. Since you have v5, you qualify for the upgrade price. Make sure you have the activation key for v5, in case you ever need to install v6 on a new system.
     
  16. grdnangl313

    grdnangl313 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2015
    Messages:
    39
    Lightroom Experience:
    Beginner
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.10.x Yosemite
    Lightroom Version:
    5.6
    Lightroom License:
    Perpetual (Standalone)
    ok so how do i make sure i have the activation key for v5?
     
  17. clee01l

    clee01l Lightroom Guru Staff Member Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Messages:
    13,270
    Location:
    Bellaire, TX USA
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.13.x High Sierra
    Lightroom Version:
    Classic 7
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    When you purchased any version of LR and registered that purchase with Adobe, All of your license keys are available to you in your Adobe user account area. If you have LR5 installed on the machine that you are installing the upgrade, then LR6 will find the qualifying LR5 license automatically and all you will need is to supply the LR6 license key.
     
  18. grdnangl313

    grdnangl313 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2015
    Messages:
    39
    Lightroom Experience:
    Beginner
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.10.x Yosemite
    Lightroom Version:
    5.6
    Lightroom License:
    Perpetual (Standalone)
    I did end up finding it, but I had installed it from a disc, so had to search around for it - whew - it worked! thanks!!
     
  19. grdnangl313

    grdnangl313 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2015
    Messages:
    39
    Lightroom Experience:
    Beginner
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.10.x Yosemite
    Lightroom Version:
    5.6
    Lightroom License:
    Perpetual (Standalone)
    I downloaded the lightroom 6 version and just tried to import my photos from my D500 but got this message: The files are not recognized by the raw format support in lightroom (651) I thought these would work now with the upgrade I just paid for for LR6? Now what do I do? It says I could click for an updated version of lightroom, but why would I have to do that. Not sure what to do now to get these imported into LR6...
     
  20. grdnangl313

    grdnangl313 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2015
    Messages:
    39
    Lightroom Experience:
    Beginner
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.10.x Yosemite
    Lightroom Version:
    5.6
    Lightroom License:
    Perpetual (Standalone)
    I just looked and it looks like my version is only 6.0? I thought it would upload the latest version?
     
  21. Jim Wilde

    Jim Wilde Lightroom Guru Staff Member Moderator Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    10,211
    Location:
    West Sussex, UK
    Lightroom Experience:
    Advanced
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.11.x El Capitan
    Lightroom Version:
    Classic 7
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    No, LR6 changed the update method....instead of each update being the full installer, with LR6 there's the base program (6.0) and each update is a smaller "patch". However, the patches are cumulative, so you can simply download and install the latest patch (6.10.1) and you should be good to go.

    You can find the download links for this patch at the end of this blog post from Victoria: What's New in Lightroom CC 2015.10.1 / 6.10.1? | The Lightroom Queen
     

Share This Page