1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome to Lightroom Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to register and post your first thread under Help on the menubar above. You're also welcome to join our newsletter, download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBook and explore our other FAQ resources.
    Dismiss Notice

Need a 'visually convenient' keywording plugin

Discussion in 'Extending Lightroom' started by _MZ_, Jul 19, 2015.

  1. JohanElzenga

    JohanElzenga Lightroom Guru Staff Member Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2015
    Messages:
    5,193
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.12.x Sierra
    Lightroom Version:
    6.12 / CC 2015.12
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    Impressive, except that this tools does not see existing keywords in your keyword hierarchy, so it adds the same keyword again at root level.
     
  2. rkursem

    rkursem New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Lightroom Experience:
    Intermediate
    Primary OS:
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Yes, this will be fixed in the next release. Keywords will be reused - even if they are at a lower level in the hierarchy.
     
  3. JohanElzenga

    JohanElzenga Lightroom Guru Staff Member Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2015
    Messages:
    5,193
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.12.x Sierra
    Lightroom Version:
    6.12 / CC 2015.12
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    That would be perfect! Also look for case-sensitivity. Somebody may already have a keyword like 'Travel', in which case the plugin should not add a separate keyword 'travel' if possible.
     
  4. rkursem

    rkursem New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Lightroom Experience:
    Intermediate
    Primary OS:
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Hi again,

    Just wanted to let you all know that this has been fixed in the new release (v1.20), which also allows the following preferences:
    • Placement of new keywords below a special keyword "New keywords" - this makes life a lot easier if you have keywords in a hierarchy.
    • Create new keywords as upper case - a user requested this.
    • Copy-paste field to copy list of keywords to clipboard - another user requested this.
    Please visit: MyKeyworder | Find Images and Generate Keywords Instantly to download the latest version.
     
  5. JohanElzenga

    JohanElzenga Lightroom Guru Staff Member Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2015
    Messages:
    5,193
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.12.x Sierra
    Lightroom Version:
    6.12 / CC 2015.12
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    I sent a donation, not via the 'Donate' button but directly through the Donate menu on the website. I did not get a respons so far, so how do I tell the plugin that I donated?
     
  6. Tony Jay

    Tony Jay Lightroom Guru Staff Member Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2012
    Messages:
    2,281
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Lightroom Experience:
    Advanced
    Primary OS:
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Lightroom Version:
    6.8 / CC 2015.8
    Lightroom License:
    Perpetual (Standalone)
    Had a look at MyKeyworder.

    It is not clear to me how this might work for removing keywords from images.
    For lots of reasons this is an important part of workflow flexibility.

    Tony Jay
     
  7. rkursem

    rkursem New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Lightroom Experience:
    Intermediate
    Primary OS:
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Hi Johan,

    Ahh - you need to donate through the plugin to have the donation linked up with your user account. I'll contact you directly on email to sort this out.
     
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2017
  8. rkursem

    rkursem New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Lightroom Experience:
    Intermediate
    Primary OS:
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Hi Tony,

    The plugin will overwrite the existing keywords with those you choose with the plugin. For example, if you have "woods" and "woodlands" and decide to replace those by "forest" you just open the plugin and make sure the keywords you want are in the right list - these will be the final keywords. You can either add "forest" manually or probably find it through "auto identify" or by searching on "forest" which will give you "forest" and about 200 related keywords. Use the > and < to select and deselect the keywords to want to add and remove and finally click "Save keywords to photo".

    Hope this answers your question.
     
  9. Tony Jay

    Tony Jay Lightroom Guru Staff Member Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2012
    Messages:
    2,281
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Lightroom Experience:
    Advanced
    Primary OS:
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Lightroom Version:
    6.8 / CC 2015.8
    Lightroom License:
    Perpetual (Standalone)
    So, to clarify, I can see any and all keywords already assigned and can delete them at will within this plugin.
    It may not have anything to do with replacing one keyword with another.

    Tony Jay
     
  10. rkursem

    rkursem New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Lightroom Experience:
    Intermediate
    Primary OS:
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Yes, you can see the already assigned keywords and remove any of them as you like. You can also add new keywords from search, auto-identify, synonym search or manually added. Words in title and caption will also be placed in the list and you can choose which of these you can assign to the photo.
     
  11. Tony Jay

    Tony Jay Lightroom Guru Staff Member Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2012
    Messages:
    2,281
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Lightroom Experience:
    Advanced
    Primary OS:
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Lightroom Version:
    6.8 / CC 2015.8
    Lightroom License:
    Perpetual (Standalone)
    Thanks for the clarification.
    This might make certain workflows a bit more efficient and flexible.

    Tony Jay
     
  12. rob211

    rob211 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Messages:
    1,013
    Location:
    Oakland, CA USA
    Lightroom Experience:
    Advanced
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.12.x Sierra
    Lightroom Version:
    6.7 / CC 2015.7
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    I'm not sure how best to use this with hierarchical keywords.

    I seemed to see that if I had _Plants>flower>rose it will find rose (wish that would go to top of list since I know I wanna add that for sure) and deal with the implied keywords as expected (_Plants and flower). But what about when I don't remember that _Plants and flower are implied? I can add flower and that will list it in the keyword box in Lr but I still can't tell if it's now part of a hierarchy. If say "crane" is only in one hierarchy, say bird, that's fine, but it gets more confusing if "crane" is also a child of "construction equipment." It will imply bird, but not the equipment (not sure why it didn't at least imply both, although perhaps that's an Lr thing).

    Perhaps most importantly, if say "jaguar" is a completely new to me keyword, how can I CREATE a hierarchy, like cars>jaguar? (Cars won't come up searching "jaguar").
     
  13. JohanElzenga

    JohanElzenga Lightroom Guru Staff Member Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2015
    Messages:
    5,193
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.12.x Sierra
    Lightroom Version:
    6.12 / CC 2015.12
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    You can simply create the hierarchy afterwards. Assign 'Jaguar' to some images, then in the keyword list drag & drop it onto 'cars'. The problem may be if you also shot the animal, so you already have 'cats > jaguar'.
     
  14. rob211

    rob211 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Messages:
    1,013
    Location:
    Oakland, CA USA
    Lightroom Experience:
    Advanced
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.12.x Sierra
    Lightroom Version:
    6.7 / CC 2015.7
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    True enough. But that means the plugin doesn't save me much work although the suggestions can be nice.

    But I'll keep an eye on it. Content searching is the future; I've found some interesting things using that with Google but there's no automatic way to get what Google finds (or Flickr either I think) back into keywords. This gets me some similar things.
     

Share This Page