1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome to Lightroom Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to register and post your first thread under Help on the menubar above. You're also welcome to join our newsletter, download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBook and explore our other FAQ resources.
    Dismiss Notice

Malware from Adobe?

Discussion in 'Lightroom Classic CC for Windows & Mac (folders)' started by JPS2, Jan 12, 2018 at 1:31 PM.

  1. JPS2

    JPS2 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    Location:
    Denmark
    Lightroom Experience:
    Intermediate
    Primary OS:
    Windows 10
    Upon updating Creative Cloud my McAfee said that CoreSyncCustomHook.exe is malware?
    Is that true?
    Peter
    Denmark
     
  2. Roelof Moorlag

    Roelof Moorlag Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    738
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Windows 10
    I don't think so. On my computer this file exists on two locations:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Adobe\Adobe Sync\CoreSync\Customhook
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Adobe\CoreSyncExtension\Customhook

    My computer is protected by Bitdefender and it has no problems with the CoreSyncCustomHook.exe
     
  3. clee01l

    clee01l Lightroom Guru Staff Member Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Messages:
    13,427
    Location:
    Bellaire, TX USA
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.13.x High Sierra
    Lightroom Version:
    Classic 7
    CoreSyncCustomHook.exe is a third party (Adobe?) DLL that is part of the Microsoft application compiler. Any application can include the file. If your copy is digitally signed by Adobe and has a valid signature, then most likely it was not infected by malware. Nefarious websites could introduce malware infected copies of CoreSyncCustomHook.exe but I think this unlikely if it is digitally signed by Adobe and has a valid signature.
    Check out this link: What is this exe file? Is this file safe? Check here I think you might be able to D/L a trial of this Emsisoft Anti-Malware app to test your system
     
  4. JPS2

    JPS2 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    Location:
    Denmark
    Lightroom Experience:
    Intermediate
    Primary OS:
    Windows 10
    Thanks for your reply.
    When disabling McAfee i updated CC, but McAfee soon found out and the two files are quarantined.
    Are these files really necessary?
    Peter
     
  5. Jimmsp

    Jimmsp Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    754
    Location:
    Green Valley, Arizona, USA
    Lightroom Experience:
    Advanced
    Primary OS:
    Windows 10
    Lightroom Version:
    Classic 7
    I have 2 computers, one protected by Norton Internet Security and Malwarebytes Pro, and the other by Malwarebytes Pro and MS Windows Defender.
    Neither has had a problem.
     
  6. JPS2

    JPS2 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    Location:
    Denmark
    Lightroom Experience:
    Intermediate
    Primary OS:
    Windows 10
    Well, maybe McAfee has a problem.
    I use Malwarebytes Pro and Defender and they see no problem after a scan (before McAfee removed the files).
    I am not really using CC for images, so lets see what happen over time.
    Lightroom and Photoshop works fine.
    Peter
     
  7. RikkFlohr

    RikkFlohr Senior Member Staff Member Moderator Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,814
    Location:
    Twin Cities, MN
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Windows 10
    Lightroom Version:
    Classic 7
    Adobe registers its files with various anti-virus software manufacturers. If your anti-virus is out of date, this can happen as the registration hasn't caught up to current yet.
     
  8. Jimmsp

    Jimmsp Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    754
    Location:
    Green Valley, Arizona, USA
    Lightroom Experience:
    Advanced
    Primary OS:
    Windows 10
    Lightroom Version:
    Classic 7
    Personally, I gave up on McAfee a number of years ago when someone or something blew through it one night after I had left Skype on (by mistake).
    They had control of my system and wanted to sell me a fix. Nothing I had or could find would get rid of it.
    I had to scrub the system, reformat, and reload everything.
     
  9. LinSenGottFried

    LinSenGottFried New Member

    Joined:
    Friday
    Messages:
    4
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Windows 10
    Lightroom Version:
    CC Cloud
    Today I got the following message from McAfee: CoreSyncCustomHook.exe infected by Artemis!A104317B615B (Trojan Horse). I could not install the update for Adobe Creative Cloud. Adobe-Errorcode 183
    McAfee VirusScan Enterprise 8.8 Patch 10 V 5900.7806 DAT-version 8771.0000 11.01.2018
    I do not know if the file has a virus, or the virus scanner reports false alarm.
     
  10. clee01l

    clee01l Lightroom Guru Staff Member Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Messages:
    13,427
    Location:
    Bellaire, TX USA
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.13.x High Sierra
    Lightroom Version:
    Classic 7
    #7
     
    PhilBurton likes this.
  11. LinSenGottFried

    LinSenGottFried New Member

    Joined:
    Friday
    Messages:
    4
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Windows 10
    Lightroom Version:
    CC Cloud
    I heared from another guy about the same error.
     
  12. Roelof Moorlag

    Roelof Moorlag Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    738
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Windows 10
    Did you contact McAfee?
     
  13. LinSenGottFried

    LinSenGottFried New Member

    Joined:
    Friday
    Messages:
    4
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Windows 10
    Lightroom Version:
    CC Cloud
    McAfee is actually updated.
     
  14. LinSenGottFried

    LinSenGottFried New Member

    Joined:
    Friday
    Messages:
    4
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Windows 10
    Lightroom Version:
    CC Cloud
    Yes
     
  15. clee01l

    clee01l Lightroom Guru Staff Member Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Messages:
    13,427
    Location:
    Bellaire, TX USA
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.13.x High Sierra
    Lightroom Version:
    Classic 7
    That still does not meant that McAfee has implemented the Adobe reference in their latest update.
     
  16. PhilBurton

    PhilBurton Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2015
    Messages:
    989
    Location:
    California, USA
    Lightroom Experience:
    Intermediate
    Primary OS:
    Windows 10
    And to Cletus' point, ever since Intel acquired McAfee in 2011 (and then sold it off in 2016,) McAfee is not the top-tier security products vendor they used to be.

    Phil Burton
     

Share This Page