1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome to Lightroom Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to register and post your first thread under Help on the menubar above. You're also welcome to join our newsletter, download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBook and explore our other FAQ resources.
    Dismiss Notice

LR Tethering for Sony Cameras - Added Soon?

Discussion in 'Workflow Discussion' started by HamsterDR, Jan 11, 2017.

  1. HamsterDR

    HamsterDR New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    28
    Lightroom Experience:
    Intermediate
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.10.x Yosemite
    LR currently doesn't support tethering for Sony cameras. I wonder if anyone knows if this support may be added in the next release or update. Sony has some very nice cameras now (I love my A7RII) and I expect there are an increasing number of LR users with Sony cameras who could use this feature. Any hope that this will be added soon?

    David
     
  2. BobMc

    BobMc New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Messages:
    86
    Location:
    Sevierville, TN - USA
    Lightroom Experience:
    Advanced
    Primary OS:
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Lightroom Version:
    5.7
    Lightroom License:
    Perpetual (Standalone)
    Do a Google search on "LR Tethering for Sony Cameras", there are several sites that will help you.
     
  3. clee01l

    clee01l Lightroom Guru Staff Member Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Messages:
    12,938
    Location:
    Bellaire, TX USA
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.12.x Sierra
    Lightroom Version:
    6.10.1 / CC 2015.10.1
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    FWIW, the three camera Mfgs that do have tethering for LR are supported because the Camera Mfg has released a software development kit that indicates an API to be used for interfacing directly with the camera. Adobe needs this information to develop the plugin to work with your camera.
     
  4. HamsterDR

    HamsterDR New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    28
    Lightroom Experience:
    Intermediate
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.10.x Yosemite
    I know about the monitored folder approach. That is not what I want - I want to be able to "live view" the image on my MacBook Pro 15 Retina display - and adjust from there. I have the Sony app for adjusting the camera settings - but I want to see the image before taking the shot.
     
  5. HamsterDR

    HamsterDR New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    28
    Lightroom Experience:
    Intermediate
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.10.x Yosemite
    Capture 1 Pro says that it supports tethering for Sony cameras. I have the software (V10) and it doesn't appear to work. I have a support request in but no response yet. I like the features of Capture 1 Pro better than LR (and there is a Sony-only version for $50 which is a real bargain), but there appear to be some performance issues and bugs in the newest version. I have been looking at LR alternatives because I don't like the "rent the software" approach Adobe has taken. Capture 1 Pro is a great alternative - if it worked! (The Capture 1 developers claim they have access to the appropriate SDK software from Sony which they use in their implementation.)

    David
     

Share This Page