1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome to Lightroom Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to register and post your first thread under Help on the menubar above. You're also welcome to join our newsletter, download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBook and explore our other FAQ resources.
    Dismiss Notice

Lens profile - Sigma 17-70 F2.8-4.5 DC Macro

Discussion in 'Lightroom 1-6 for Windows & Mac (perpetual)' started by Movetorecyclebin, Dec 8, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Movetorecyclebin

    Movetorecyclebin New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Hi,

    I'm unable to find the Lens profile for the Sigma 17-70 F2.8-4.5 DC Macro.
    It's well detected in the metadata but no profiles are available for correction.
    I can't find it also in Adobe Lens Profile Downloader.
    My camera is a Canon 400D; the correction profile of my Canon 55-250 is available
    I'm using Lightroom v3.3. The problem was also there with v3.2.

    Any help is welcome

    Thanks
     
  2. Mark Sirota

    Mark Sirota Lightroom Guru Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,055
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA, USA
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.8.x Mountain Lion
    Lightroom Version:
    5.5
    Welcome to Lightroom Forums.

    Lightroom and Camera Raw ship with a profile for that lens for Canon... Two, actually -- one with OS and one without. If you manually select Sigma as the make in the Lens Corrections panel, do you see it in the Model pulldown?
     
  3. Jim Wilde

    Jim Wilde Lightroom Guru Staff Member Moderator Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    10,191
    Location:
    West Sussex, UK
    Lightroom Experience:
    Advanced
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.11.x El Capitan
    Lightroom Version:
    Classic 7
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    Hi, welcome to the forum.

    Are you shooting RAW or Jpeg? Reason for asking is that on both my systems there is a much reduced set of profiles offered for a Jpeg compared with a RAW. The profile for your Sigma 17-70 is available, but only for RAW files. I hadn't realised that was the case, so cannot explain the difference....but somebody will be along soon to explain. Not sure if you are Windows or Mac based, but if Windows you can see the Lens Profiles which are installed on your system by looking in c:\programdata\adobe\cameraraw\lensprofiles\1.0.
     
  4. Movetorecyclebin

    Movetorecyclebin New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    First of all, thanks for your help

    When selecting Sigma as the Brand, I can see 5 Sigma model but not the 17-70

    I'm using both raw and jpeg files.
    I'm a windows user. I've found several camararaw lensprofiles folders. One in "All users". this one seems to have Sigma profiles. Another cameraraw profiles folder in the main user account. This one is empty. I will search in that way (copy files/profiles).
    Thanks
     
  5. Jim Wilde

    Jim Wilde Lightroom Guru Staff Member Moderator Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    10,191
    Location:
    West Sussex, UK
    Lightroom Experience:
    Advanced
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.11.x El Capitan
    Lightroom Version:
    Classic 7
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    OK, have you tried on both a Raw and a Jpeg separately, and is there any difference?

    Sounds like you are on XP, so the path with be different to the Vista/Win7 path I gave you. For XP, path is c:\documents and settings\all users\local settings\application data\adobe\cameraraw\lensprofiles.
     
  6. Movetorecyclebin

    Movetorecyclebin New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Yes, the path given was for WinXP. But I'm using also (mainly) Win7 Pro, x64. Under "C:\ProgramData\Adobe\CameraRaw\LensProfiles\1.0\Sigma\Canon", Sigma profiles are there.
    I'm back to home and Win7. Sigma correction is available with Raw files (I've few raw files from the Sigma 17-70). So, like you .. no correction for jpeg only.
     
  7. Jim Wilde

    Jim Wilde Lightroom Guru Staff Member Moderator Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    10,191
    Location:
    West Sussex, UK
    Lightroom Experience:
    Advanced
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.11.x El Capitan
    Lightroom Version:
    Classic 7
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    Well, at least we've ascertained that the profiles are on your system. Now we just need to explain why the majority are only available for RAW files, not Jpegs.
     
  8. b_gossweiler

    b_gossweiler Lightroom Guru Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    3,207
    Location:
    Zurich, Switzerland
    Lightroom Experience:
    Advanced
    Primary OS:
    Windows 7 64-bit
    The profiles folder in the user account is to be for user downloaded or user created profiles rather than the ones shipped with LR, so it is empty to start with. In the display of the profiles, LR merges the two folders.

    Beat
     
  9. Mark Sirota

    Mark Sirota Lightroom Guru Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,055
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA, USA
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.8.x Mountain Lion
    Lightroom Version:
    5.5
    Because that's how lens profiles work. Except I thought that raw profiles work for JPEG files too, but as I almost never work with JPEG files, I don't know for sure.
     
  10. Jim Wilde

    Jim Wilde Lightroom Guru Staff Member Moderator Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    10,191
    Location:
    West Sussex, UK
    Lightroom Experience:
    Advanced
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.11.x El Capitan
    Lightroom Version:
    Classic 7
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    Nor do I (work much with Jpegs, that is)....so that's something I've learnt today.
     
  11. b_gossweiler

    b_gossweiler Lightroom Guru Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    3,207
    Location:
    Zurich, Switzerland
    Lightroom Experience:
    Advanced
    Primary OS:
    Windows 7 64-bit
    AFAIK, the profiles are made for Raw or non-Raw, as there is a difference in the treatment. But you can copy a "- RAW" profile to a name without "- RAW" and edit its content by means of any text editor as follows:
    Change
    Code:
    <stCamera:CameraRawProfile>True</stCamera:CameraRawProfile>
    to
    Code:
    <stCamera:CameraRawProfile>False</stCamera:CameraRawProfile>
    There might be more than one occurende of this string in a profile. After doing this, you can select the profile for non-Raw files.

    Beat
     
  12. Movetorecyclebin

    Movetorecyclebin New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    It's working. Thanks a lot for the tip Beat.
    Thanks also Mark and Jim
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page