1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome to Lightroom Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to register and post your first thread under Help on the menubar above. You're also welcome to join our newsletter, download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBook and explore our other FAQ resources.
    Dismiss Notice

FolderSize plugin problem

Discussion in 'Extending Lightroom' started by Ad Astra, Oct 21, 2016.

  1. Ad Astra

    Ad Astra Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2016
    Messages:
    110
    Lightroom Experience:
    Intermediate
    Primary OS:
    Windows 10
    Lightroom Version:
    6.10 / CC 2015.10
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    I know John's FolderSize plugin is free and not supported, but just in case John sees this I am having the following problem:

    1. Select a folder in library module
    2. Run plugin via Library > Plug-in Extras > Size & Count
    3. Size & Count window appears briefly then disappears behind Lightroom Window
    4. If I try bringing Size & Count window to front from task bar will not work, it always disappears behind Lightroom Window
    5. Other plugins like John's search and replace work OK

    Plugin version: 2.4
    Lightroom version: 2015.7
    OS: Windows 10 Anniversary Edition 64 bit
     
  2. johnbeardy

    johnbeardy Senior Member Staff Member Moderator Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,202
    Location:
    London
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Windows 10
    Lightroom Version:
    6.6 / CC 2015.6
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    Adobe's fault, I'm afraid. Most of my other plugins use Adobe's standard "modal" dialog boxes which prevent you doing anything in Lightroom until you close them. But this uses a different type of dialog box which acts like a totally-independent program, so its window can therefore be hidden behind Lightroom. While this isn't great, the advantage for this plugin is that it allows the user to change the selected folders without being forced to reopen the dialog box. So I usually find it and drag it to my second screen or outside the Lightroom window.

    John
     
  3. Ad Astra

    Ad Astra Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2016
    Messages:
    110
    Lightroom Experience:
    Intermediate
    Primary OS:
    Windows 10
    Lightroom Version:
    6.10 / CC 2015.10
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    Thanks John for the quick reply.

    Is there some option on invoking the dialog to bring the dialog box on top? Just that I run Lightroom full screen on both my monitors so its a tad awkward to grab it and bring to the front.
     
  4. johnbeardy

    johnbeardy Senior Member Staff Member Moderator Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,202
    Location:
    London
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Windows 10
    Lightroom Version:
    6.6 / CC 2015.6
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    I would if I could!

    Update.... watch this space

    Update2.... try version 2.5
     
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2016
    Ad Astra likes this.
  5. Ad Astra

    Ad Astra Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2016
    Messages:
    110
    Lightroom Experience:
    Intermediate
    Primary OS:
    Windows 10
    Lightroom Version:
    6.10 / CC 2015.10
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    Cool, thanks a million for version 2.5. I see a floating and modal version now and modal works just fine for me.
     

Share This Page