1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome to Lightroom Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to register and post your first thread under Help on the menubar above. You're also welcome to join our newsletter, download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBook and explore our other FAQ resources.
    Dismiss Notice

Error: Lightroom_Fatal_SQLite_Transient_Error

Discussion in 'Lightroom Installation & Performance' started by karelowe, May 18, 2017.

  1. karelowe

    karelowe New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Messages:
    93
    Location:
    Meridian, Idaho and winter in Mesa, Arizona
    Lightroom Experience:
    Intermediate
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.11.x El Capitan
    Lightroom Version:
    6.7 / CC 2015.7
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    I have a brand new MacBook Pro and when I plug in my EHD (which has my photos and LR Catalog on the EHD) I get the error above. The EHD works just fine on my older iMac when I go back to it. I am doing an update to see if that is the problem. Apple doesn't think it is the computer......Anyone one else every had this happen? Thanks for any input.
     
  2. Victoria Bampton

    Victoria Bampton Lightroom Queen / Owner Staff Member Administrator Moderator Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Messages:
    19,137
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.12.x Sierra
    Lightroom Version:
    6.10 / CC 2015.10
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    Hi Karen. What specifically triggers the error? Are you just plugging the drive in? Or actually trying to open Lightroom?
     
  3. karelowe

    karelowe New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Messages:
    93
    Location:
    Meridian, Idaho and winter in Mesa, Arizona
    Lightroom Experience:
    Intermediate
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.11.x El Capitan
    Lightroom Version:
    6.7 / CC 2015.7
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    Hi Victoria....After lots of experimentation.....I am pretty sure it is my new hub....which plugs into the new USB-C port on the new Mac Book Pro....and must not be compatible. Lightroom would start to load, but then it had trouble finding the catalog, etc, which is on my EHD. Since most things wouldn't load (or after 30 minutes would load) I would get that error and have to force quit.

    I am extremely curious what people are using with the new USB-C connections. The hub I bought had hundreds of reviews and mostly positive. I have written the manufacturer today and hoping they might have some info. Thank you.
     
  4. Victoria Bampton

    Victoria Bampton Lightroom Queen / Owner Staff Member Administrator Moderator Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Messages:
    19,137
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.12.x Sierra
    Lightroom Version:
    6.10 / CC 2015.10
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    Yep, that sounds about right Karen. I'd tend to plug external hard drives directly into the machine when possible. Hubs can make things a bit slow, or not provide enough power. The hub is probably perfectly fine for everything else.
     
  5. karelowe

    karelowe New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Messages:
    93
    Location:
    Meridian, Idaho and winter in Mesa, Arizona
    Lightroom Experience:
    Intermediate
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.11.x El Capitan
    Lightroom Version:
    6.7 / CC 2015.7
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    Yes I agree about plugging in to the computer, but this new MacBook Pro with the USB-C ports doesn't make it very easy. That is why I want a hub, so I can plug things in since everything I own is USB and not USB-c.....Wish I knew what others are doing......
     
  6. Jim Wilde

    Jim Wilde Lightroom Guru Staff Member Moderator Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    9,777
    Location:
    West Sussex, UK
    Lightroom Experience:
    Advanced
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.11.x El Capitan
    Lightroom Version:
    6.9 / CC 2015.9
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    On my late 2013 MBP I use a Belkin TB2 Dock, which gives me 3 additional USB3 ports. However, if I had a new MBP I would be pre-ordering one of these:
    The New OWC Thunderbolt 3 Dock - Pre-Order Today
     
  7. karelowe

    karelowe New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Messages:
    93
    Location:
    Meridian, Idaho and winter in Mesa, Arizona
    Lightroom Experience:
    Intermediate
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.11.x El Capitan
    Lightroom Version:
    6.7 / CC 2015.7
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    Hi Jim. Yes, I have one pre-ordered.....Talked twice with B & H and they seem to feel it should work fine. And, as of now, it appears to be the best option out there. I had ordered this smaller one to have as more of a "travel" hub....Thanks for your input Jim.
     

Share This Page