1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome to Lightroom Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to register and post your first thread under Help on the menubar above. You're also welcome to join our newsletter, download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBook and explore our other FAQ resources.
    Dismiss Notice

Confirm Deletion?

Discussion in 'Lightroom General Discussion (ARCHIVE)' started by larrye510, Apr 13, 2008.

  1. larrye510

    larrye510 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    29
    Hi -

    It seems that I have lost the message that asks me to confirm deletion. When I'm in Develop mode and press the delete button - it just auto deletes the picture. I use to get message asking me if I wanted to delete from disk.

    Also, has anybody downloaded 1.4.1? I know there were many issues with 1.4.

    Thanks,
    Larry
     
  2. Victoria Bampton

    Victoria Bampton Lightroom Queen / Owner Staff Member Administrator Moderator Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Messages:
    19,273
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.12.x Sierra
    Lightroom Version:
    6.10 / CC 2015.10
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    Someone else said the same the other day... before 1.4.1 was released... but I can't remember where!

    Obvious question, I'm sure, but you are deleting from a folder and not a collection?

    Check the Library module > Photo menu and double check what happens when you use the Delete command at the bottom.
     
  3. larrye510

    larrye510 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    29
    >>Obvious question, I'm sure, but you are deleting from a folder and not a collection?

    I'm hitting the delete key from the Develop module. It was working yesterday and I did not upgrade to 1.4.1 yet. So strange...
     
  4. Brad Snyder

    Brad Snyder Lightroom Guru Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    6,293
    Location:
    Port Deposit, Maryland USA
    Lightroom Experience:
    Intermediate
    Primary OS:
    Windows 7 64-bit
    I'll re-emphasize VB's question. When you're working on your images in Develop mode, how did you choose the grouping of images you're working on?

    The delete behavior is different depending on whether the grouping is a folder or a collection. If you've selected a folder, and delete, you *should* get the remove/delete confirmation dialog. If you've chosen a collection, and delete, bang, the image is removed from the collection with no confirmation. Of course the image remains in the catalog, in its respective folder tree, and on the hard-drive.
     
  5. larrye510

    larrye510 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    29
    That was the issue. I did not understand the difference between folder and collection deletion. Thank you all for the clarification.
     

Share This Page