1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome to Lightroom Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to register and post your first thread under Help on the menubar above. You're also welcome to join our newsletter, download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBook and explore our other FAQ resources.
    Dismiss Notice

Troubleshooting: LR has encountered a problem reading this photo

Discussion in 'Lightroom Troubleshooting (ARCHIVE)' started by pgman, Oct 17, 2011.

  1. pgman

    pgman New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Messages:
    74
    Primary OS:
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Hi,

    I'm having problems where LR gives the following message on quite a few photos:

    Lightroom has encountered a problem reading this photo, You will not be able to adjusments to the photo.

    1. How do I go about troubleshooting this in Lightroom.
    2. Is there a way of filtering the catalog for the photos with problems

    I think that it's an LR problem. When I look at a couple of these photos with other softwares like dpp or irfran, no problem or error. The catalog is local, the photos are on the network. When check the users and the permissions, no problem they are the same as the other photos in the same folder.

    LR3.5 Windows 7sp1, 2 cpu 3gbRAM, 30gb free space.

    Thanks
     
  2. Victoria Bampton

    Victoria Bampton Lightroom Queen / Owner Staff Member Administrator Moderator Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Messages:
    18,304
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.12.x Sierra
    Lightroom Version:
    6.7 / CC 2015.7
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    Hi pgman, if you copy the problem photo to the local hard drive, and try importing from there, is LR happier?

    And I don't suppose you have Photoshop on that machine? I'd try opening in that.

    There are a few possibilities, so we need to check whether the raw file does have any corruption before we can go much further. You're welcome to drop one of them on my server (www.vbftp.net, username webupload, password 123) and I'll try it here if you want a definitive answer to that question.
     
  3. Kiwigeoff

    Kiwigeoff Lightroom Guru Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    4,627
    Location:
    Paradise
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.10.x Yosemite
    Lightroom Version:
    5.7
    My reading is that the files are already in Lightroom, is that correct?
     
  4. pgman

    pgman New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Messages:
    74
    Primary OS:
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Sorry, I was away

    1. There doesn't seem to be any problem with the actual raw files, I can open them in bridge and cs5
    2. The files are already imported in LR3.x. This was a brand-new catalog in LR3.1.
    3. I have tried creating a new catalog under LR3.5 and importing photos (I always save the XMPs) but after a few hundreds LR just waits with 0% cpu activity or i/o activity.
    4. I have checked the hardware (RAM, HD...) with various testing programs: no problem
    5. I have no problem what so-ever with any other program, Windows 7SP1 seems to have no problem. I have so very large files with word, excel... again no problem, only LR.

    Yes, they are
     
  5. Jim Wilde

    Jim Wilde Lightroom Guru Staff Member Moderator Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    9,385
    Location:
    West Sussex, UK
    Lightroom Experience:
    Advanced
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.11.x El Capitan
    Lightroom Version:
    6.6 / CC 2015.6
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    Victoria suggested copying some of these problem photos to a local hard drive, then trying to import them (just as a test, into a new catalog) using ADD. I still think that would be a useful thing to try.....the only warning flag I'm getting is the fact that these photos are on a network drive. Now that shouldn't be a problem, plenty of other people do that, but it would be useful to try to eliminate that as the cause of the problem.

    The test you did in point 3 would be good to repeat but with a copy of those photos on a local hard drive.
     
  6. Lew

    Lew New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Lightroom Experience:
    Intermediate
    Primary OS:
    Windows XP
    Ditto. Same problem almost a year later. Mine's on an external, not networked drive.
     
  7. Su Bayfield

    Su Bayfield New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Location:
    Cornwall, UK
    Lightroom Experience:
    Beginner
    Primary OS:
    Windows 7 64-bit
    I have the same problem today in LR4. I've been editing a folder with 600 pictures. After 500 I started to get the message 'the file appears to be unsupported or damaged'. These are not RAW, but old original jpg files. Not every picture has this message, but it's about 8 out of 10 from the last hundred photos. I deleted them from the catalogue and reimported them, but got the same message. Also the previews are not rendered properly in the library module. They look fine when viewed in windows explorer. My catalogue and photographs are on my local hard drive. Any suggestions anyone?
     
  8. Victoria Bampton

    Victoria Bampton Lightroom Queen / Owner Staff Member Administrator Moderator Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Messages:
    18,304
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.12.x Sierra
    Lightroom Version:
    6.7 / CC 2015.7
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    Send me one Su? victoria@lightroomqueen.com I'll try it here and see if I can reproduce the problem. It's possible that the file's are corrupted, so it would be useful to check out early on.
     
  9. Su Bayfield

    Su Bayfield New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Location:
    Cornwall, UK
    Lightroom Experience:
    Beginner
    Primary OS:
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Many thanks for your reply Victoria.

    I came to the conclusion that the files were somehow corrupted. I re-imported the originals from my external drive with the same results, then discovered I hadn't processed them through Photoshop for my Organizer either. The folder was six years old and I get the feeling I must have had problems back then too and forgotten about it. Not a problem now and many thanks for your offer to help.

    Su
     

Share This Page