1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome to Lightroom Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to register and post your first thread under Help on the menubar above. You're also welcome to join our newsletter, download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBook and explore our other FAQ resources.
    Dismiss Notice

Thumbnails Grayed Out in Some Modes

Discussion in 'Lightroom Troubleshooting (ARCHIVE)' started by alans, Apr 20, 2011.

  1. alans

    alans New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Primary OS:
    Windows Vista 32-bit
    I have followed this forum for a long time and now find I must ask for help.

    I have a desktop XP system that runs LR 3.3 just fine. My HP Vista 32 bit laptop
    has a problem with LR 3.3. I have loaded, deleted and reloaded the software.

    When selecting files, Raw or Jpeg, from a source folder for Import in Library Mode the thumbnails are visible.

    After importing files in Library Mode, thumbnails are grayed out but metadata is active and the file name appears on the grayed out thumbnail.

    If I export a file from Library mode and view it in Bridge it looks good. If I look at it with Bridge, in the folder where LR saves it, it is also good.

    If I switch from Library Mode to Web Mode the thumbnails become visible. If I next go to Print Mode the image is visible. If I go directly from Library to Print Mode the image is grayed out. Going through Web Mode makes it visible in Print Mode.

    Switch to Slideshow Mode and the image is grayed out. In Develop Mode it is grayed out and the Histogram is also grayed out but the R, B, & G numbers change as you move the cursor around the blank image.

    Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!
     
  2. b_gossweiler

    b_gossweiler Lightroom Guru Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    3,207
    Location:
    Zurich, Switzerland
    Lightroom Experience:
    Advanced
    Primary OS:
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Welcome to the forums, Alans :)

    What you describe sounds like a corrupt monitor profile. If you calibrated/profiled your display, recalibrate/reprofile, or try assigning a sRGB profile to your monitor in Vista's color management applet if not. Note that assigning the sRGB profile is not a solution, but a step in finding out what's wrong.

    Beat

    Edit:
    Victoria's Blog describes more about this subject.
     
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2011
  3. alans

    alans New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Primary OS:
    Windows Vista 32-bit
    Beat,

    You had the answer. Changed the monitor profile and LR 3 now works as advertized on my laptop.

    Thanks,

    Alan
     
  4. b_gossweiler

    b_gossweiler Lightroom Guru Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    3,207
    Location:
    Zurich, Switzerland
    Lightroom Experience:
    Advanced
    Primary OS:
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Alan,

    Please be aware that using sRGB as your monitor profile is not a solution, but just a workaround (sRGB is not a display profile, but a color space). Using sRGB will make your images show up, but not in correct color.

    You should assign a proper monitor profile, best done by calibrating your monitor with a hardware device. These devices are available from about $100 and are indispensable for somebody working on color, tones and exposures of images. It will also work calibrating your desktop monitor, which probably is even more important, as notebook displays are not very reliable in terms of color/luminance accuracy anyway.

    Beat
     

Share This Page