1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome to Lightroom Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to register and post your first thread under Help on the menubar above. You're also welcome to join our newsletter, download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBook and explore our other FAQ resources.
    Dismiss Notice

Spiking CPU

Discussion in 'Lightroom General Discussion (ARCHIVE)' started by edgley, Oct 31, 2010.

  1. edgley

    edgley Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    307
    Lightroom Experience:
    Advanced
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.7.x Lion
    Hi,
    For the last week or so LR has been quite sluggish for me.For example, when I am in developer, and choose crop, I get the beachball for a second or two, then when I try to grab the handle to change the crop, I have to wait another 2 or 3 second for it to become active, so I can move it.
    Looking at my CPU's, all 8 cores are whacking up to 1''% when this happens, I don't remember LR ever doing this before; I even rebooted to see if that would help, but it didn't.
    Any other Mac users getting these high hits, when only doing basic things? I am thinking of installing the 3.3RC to see if that helps out the problem.
    Thanks,Simon.
     
  2. edgley

    edgley Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    307
    Lightroom Experience:
    Advanced
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.7.x Lion
    A little research, and it seems it could be lens correction.
    Have now turned this off, will give it another go to see if it gets any better.
     
  3. Victoria Bampton

    Victoria Bampton Lightroom Queen / Owner Staff Member Administrator Moderator Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Messages:
    18,227
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.11.x El Capitan
    Lightroom Version:
    6.6 / CC 2015.6
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    Yep, that would sound right Simon. The new noise reduction is pretty heavy duty too.
     
  4. ukbrown

    ukbrown Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    539
    Location:
    UK
    Primary OS:
    Windows 8 64-bit
    Lightroom Version:
    5.0
    3.2 IMHO is slightly better at this
     
  5. Victoria Bampton

    Victoria Bampton Lightroom Queen / Owner Staff Member Administrator Moderator Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Messages:
    18,227
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.11.x El Capitan
    Lightroom Version:
    6.6 / CC 2015.6
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    Than 3.3RC, you think?
     
  6. edgley

    edgley Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    307
    Lightroom Experience:
    Advanced
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.7.x Lion
    Ah, I am using a lot of NR too.
    It does seem better now that I have turned LC off; irony being that the images I was working on used a lens that there wasn't even a profile for!

    I am running 3.2, but haven't changed my sig, will do so now. And I'll stick 3.3 on later and see if it seems any better.

    I did find a utility that allowed over clocking of Macs; maybe its time to give it a try.
     
  7. ukbrown

    ukbrown Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    539
    Location:
    UK
    Primary OS:
    Windows 8 64-bit
    Lightroom Version:
    5.0
    A lot of people leave lens correction as the last thing to be applied. I have a filter for the range of focal length where my lens seems it's worst and apply en-bloc.
     
  8. edgley

    edgley Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    307
    Lightroom Experience:
    Advanced
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.7.x Lion
    If I have to leave it off till last, I will, but first MORE POWER :)

    I have oc'd from 28'' to 3'8', and all seems well; no memory errors in the console.
    I will take some fresh snaps tomorrow and test with LC on and see if its better.
     
  9. edgley

    edgley Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    307
    Lightroom Experience:
    Advanced
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.7.x Lion
    Problem completely gone with 3.3.
    Amazing, back to full speed with LC turned on; yay!
     

Share This Page