1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome to Lightroom Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to register and post your first thread under Help on the menubar above. You're also welcome to join our newsletter, download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBook and explore our other FAQ resources.
    Dismiss Notice

Some import operations were not performed:

Discussion in 'Lightroom General Discussion (ARCHIVE)' started by Jeff.b, Jan 17, 2011.

  1. Jeff.b

    Jeff.b Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    160
    Location:
    UK Midlands
    Lightroom Experience:
    Intermediate
    Primary OS:
    Windows 10
    Lightroom Version:
    6.5 / CC 2015.5
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    Starting a new thread with this problem.

    When I import direct from the card into LR I get the following message window:

    Import results.

    Some import operations were not performed:

    The files could not be copied to the backup location.
    The following files were imported but could not be renamed.

    There is also a drop down arrow that lists all the file numbers.

    If I try to open one of the files in the develop module I get the following message:

    'file is missing or offline'

    All the files and the associated folder have a question mark.

    If I download the files to my HD first then import to LR there is no problem.

    jeff
     
  2. RikkFlohr

    RikkFlohr Lightroom Guru Staff Member Lightroom Guru Adobe Representative

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,684
    Location:
    Twin Cities, MN
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Windows 10
    Lightroom Version:
    6.5 / CC 2015.5
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    Are you still using LR 3.0 or have you upgraded to 3.3?

    There was a bug in the original release that would cause an issue if you were renaming the file on import and had Make Second Copy checked, if the second copy location was, for what ever reason, unavailable.

    Solution is to upgrade to the latest LR version.

    or Make certain your backup location is on-line and correctly referenced. Your files are likely there but LR thinks they were renamed and they weren't or vice-versa.
     
  3. Jeff.b

    Jeff.b Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    160
    Location:
    UK Midlands
    Lightroom Experience:
    Intermediate
    Primary OS:
    Windows 10
    Lightroom Version:
    6.5 / CC 2015.5
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    Rikk, you're a star, problem solved it was the 'Make Second Copy'. I am soooooooooo pleased.

    jeff
     

Share This Page