1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome to Lightroom Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to register and post your first thread under Help on the menubar above. You're also welcome to join our newsletter, download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBook and explore our other FAQ resources.
    Dismiss Notice

Smart Collection - filter for 'Title' can't get to work!!!

Discussion in 'Workflow Discussion' started by theMusicMan, May 7, 2012.

  1. theMusicMan

    theMusicMan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Messages:
    150
    Hi All

    I am making quite extensive use of the Smart Collection functions in LR4, but I am having a mare of a time trying to get a particular Smart Collection criteria working, wonder if I can enlist someones expert help please.

    I am trying to show images in a Smart Collection that (1) are in another collection called 'Current work' AND have the 'Title' field not filled in. However, I just cannot get the 'title' part to work as the Smart Collection still shows images that DO have the 'Title' field populated. See screenshots.

    These are the criteria I am using for the Smart Collection

    20120507-rg4futmihtghyuk4sy3aky9bun.jpg

    Yet there are images showing in the list that DO have Title populated;

    20120507-1ynurb9d2us1ybdrxt1u5tphfe.jpg

    I wonder can someone try to help me here please. What am I doing wrong?

    Thanks in anticipation
    John
     
  2. Jim Wilde

    Jim Wilde Lightroom Guru Staff Member Moderator Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    9,315
    Location:
    West Sussex, UK
    Lightroom Experience:
    Advanced
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.11.x El Capitan
    Lightroom Version:
    6.6 / CC 2015.6
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    Try changing the Title to "Doesn't Contain" and "a e i o u y".
     
  3. theMusicMan

    theMusicMan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Messages:
    150
    Thanks Jim, that certainly worked a treat.

    However, are you aware why my criteria didn't work...?
     
  4. Jim Wilde

    Jim Wilde Lightroom Guru Staff Member Moderator Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    9,315
    Location:
    West Sussex, UK
    Lightroom Experience:
    Advanced
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.11.x El Capitan
    Lightroom Version:
    6.6 / CC 2015.6
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    I would think that your criteria means "contains a blank" rather that what you expected it to mean, i.e. Title "is blank".

    But that doesn't seem to work either if I create a title with no blanks. So I don't really know.....
     
    Last edited: May 7, 2012
  5. theMusicMan

    theMusicMan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Messages:
    150
    Ahhh yes, that makes logical sense now you say it. Thanks Jim.
     
  6. clee01l

    clee01l Lightroom Guru Staff Member Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Messages:
    11,080
    Location:
    Bellaire, TX USA
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.11.x El Capitan
    Lightroom Version:
    6.6 / CC 2015.6
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    Try this criteria {Collection}{Contains all}{Current Work} otherwise you find collections that have "Current" and collections the have "Work" in the title.
    Also {Collection}{Starts with}{Current Work} if these are the only words int the Collection name.
    Please note that the Collection must be a static collection and not a Smart Collection.

    I begin all my collection names with numbers (00.01 Current Work) to facilitate something and since there is only one collection that begins "00.01" then my criteria is simply {Collection}{Starts with}{00.01}
     

Share This Page