1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome to Lightroom Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to register and post your first thread under Help on the menubar above. You're also welcome to join our newsletter, download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBook and explore our other FAQ resources.
    Dismiss Notice

raf files (from fuji x100) changes on import

Discussion in 'Workflow Discussion' started by Roc1, Apr 16, 2012.

  1. Roc1

    Roc1 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Lightroom Experience:
    Intermediate
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.8.x Mountain Lion
    Lightroom Version:
    5.2
    Hi, i've just imported for the first time some raw (raf) files from my fuji x100 in to LR3 (ver 3.6) and they now appear under exposed and very dark.

    Can anyone suggest why this might have happened?

    Thanks!
     
  2. clee01l

    clee01l Lightroom Guru Staff Member Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Messages:
    11,267
    Location:
    Bellaire, TX USA
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.11.x El Capitan
    Lightroom Version:
    6.6 / CC 2015.6
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    You are looking at your first RAW file. Until processed, they are flat toneless and noisey. What you saw on the back of the camera and the thumbnail was the processed JPEG that was created by the tiny computer inside your camera. Take a look at this link for more info:

    http://www.lightroomforums.net/showthread.php?10418-Why-did-Lr-ruin-my-picture
     
  3. Victoria Bampton

    Victoria Bampton Lightroom Queen / Owner Staff Member Administrator Moderator Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Messages:
    18,304
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.12.x Sierra
    Lightroom Version:
    6.7 / CC 2015.7
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    Hi Roc, welcome to the forum!

    There's one other variation on Clee's comments - some cameras offer additional processing which underexposes the raw data and then brightens using post-processing. Canon have auto lighting optimizer, Nikon have active d-lighting, and Fuji may have something similar, so try checking the settings on your camera if they're significantly underexposed.
     
  4. bgates

    bgates New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    Jamesville, NY USA
    Lightroom Experience:
    Intermediate
    Primary OS:
    Windows 7 64-bit
    DR

    As Victoria suggests, it has to do with, in this case, Fuji X100 having Dynamic Range settings. DR200, DR400, etc. You won't see this if you set DR 100.
     
  5. Victoria Bampton

    Victoria Bampton Lightroom Queen / Owner Staff Member Administrator Moderator Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Messages:
    18,304
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.12.x Sierra
    Lightroom Version:
    6.7 / CC 2015.7
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    Thanks for the confirmation bgates, much appreciated.
     

Share This Page