1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome to Lightroom Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to register and post your first thread under Help on the menubar above. You're also welcome to join our newsletter, download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBook and explore our other FAQ resources.
    Dismiss Notice

Problem Creating Stacks In Lightroom 4

Discussion in 'Lightroom Installation & Performance' started by michael8765, Apr 23, 2012.

  1. michael8765

    michael8765 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Messages:
    121
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Lightroom Experience:
    Intermediate
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.9.x Mavericks
    Lightroom Version:
    5.3
    I started using LR4 about a month ago. Since that time I can't create stacks. Any comments or suggestions?
     
  2. Jim Wilde

    Jim Wilde Lightroom Guru Staff Member Moderator Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    9,281
    Location:
    West Sussex, UK
    Lightroom Experience:
    Advanced
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.11.x El Capitan
    Lightroom Version:
    6.6 / CC 2015.6
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    Could you perhaps give us a bit more information, i.e. how exactly you are trying to do the stacking, and what happens when you try?
     
  3. michael8765

    michael8765 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Messages:
    121
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Lightroom Experience:
    Intermediate
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.9.x Mavericks
    Lightroom Version:
    5.3
    Hi Jim.....Thanks for your kind reply to my question and please excuse the delay in my response. The way I'm trying to stack is this: first I select the group of images that I want to stack, then I click on Ctrl G. So far, using this method (and trying the same thing through the Menu) I am unable to stack any images. Any thoughts?
     
  4. Jim Wilde

    Jim Wilde Lightroom Guru Staff Member Moderator Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    9,281
    Location:
    West Sussex, UK
    Lightroom Experience:
    Advanced
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.11.x El Capitan
    Lightroom Version:
    6.6 / CC 2015.6
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    So what exactly happens when you try to stack? If it can't be done, I would expect Lightroom to give you an error message.....for example if you tried to stack images that aren't all in the same folder you would get an error message telling you exactly that. So do you get an error?
     
  5. michael8765

    michael8765 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Messages:
    121
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Lightroom Experience:
    Intermediate
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.9.x Mavericks
    Lightroom Version:
    5.3
    Strangely enough, no error message comes up, nothing happens on the screen at all!! Am I missing something? Isn't the group of images I select supposed to stack behind one image thus reducing the number of images that I see.
     
  6. RikkFlohr

    RikkFlohr Lightroom Guru Staff Member Lightroom Guru Adobe Representative

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,677
    Location:
    Twin Cities, MN
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Windows 10
    Lightroom Version:
    6.5 / CC 2015.5
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    Are you selecting the images via the Filmstrip instead of the Grid view perhaps?
     
  7. Mark Sirota

    Mark Sirota Lightroom Guru Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,055
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA, USA
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.8.x Mountain Lion
    Lightroom Version:
    5.5
    On the Mac it's Command-G, not Control-G. Could that be it?
     
  8. carson

    carson Active Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Messages:
    184
    Location:
    Tampa Bay Florida, USA
    Lightroom Experience:
    Intermediate
    Primary OS:
    Windows 7 64-bit
    When you stack images, the stack doesn't automatically collapse. When you stack them and hour the mouse over one of them does it show 1 of 3, 2 of 3 etc. If so right click on one and select collapse stack and see what happens.
     

Share This Page