1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome to Lightroom Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to register and post your first thread under Help on the menubar above. You're also welcome to join our newsletter, download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBook and explore our other FAQ resources.
    Dismiss Notice

Printing error. Printer not activated, error code -20

Discussion in 'Lightroom Troubleshooting (ARCHIVE)' started by jjlad, Sep 18, 2011.

  1. jjlad

    jjlad Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    286
    Location:
    Winnipeg, Canada
    Lightroom Experience:
    Intermediate
    Hi there. Just got a new printer. Kodak 6150. Using it wirelessly.

    This is the 2nd time this happened. (and the 2nd time I've tried printing to it from Lightroom)

    A few minutes ago I printed a 4x6. Worked fine. Then I went to print another one and got:

    "Printer not activated, error code -20"

    I go to my devices and printers and print a test page no problem. This seems so crazy ..happening right after a successful print. I know Kodak will tell me its the program because it prints from any other application ...just tried and Excel sheet no problem, went to gmail and printed a message from there ...no problem, opened an image in Irfanview and printed from there ... no problem. Opened the same image in CS5 and printed one copy from there ...no problem. Only a problem in LR 3.4.1.

    Same thing happened last night after printing one photo it wouldn't recognize the printer to print another one.

    I shut down then and so perhaps it worked on that first one today due to that, but then got confused again afterwards and probably won't work until I re-boot again. Crazy stuff! I hope the solution isn't that I have to re-boot every time I want to print something in Lightroom.

    Hopefully someone has had this issue and can comment.

    Thanks!
    jj
     
  2. Victoria Bampton

    Victoria Bampton Lightroom Queen / Owner Staff Member Administrator Moderator Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Messages:
    18,303
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.12.x Sierra
    Lightroom Version:
    6.7 / CC 2015.7
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    jj, what if you hook it up wired - does it work correctly then? I'm not suggesting that as a long term solution, but just as a troubleshooting step.
     
  3. jjlad

    jjlad Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    286
    Location:
    Winnipeg, Canada
    Lightroom Experience:
    Intermediate
    Hi there. Just thought I'd report back. Found out what the problem was. With the Kodak printers one must use the supplied CD to install them and then let them update on the web and then find and activate them in windows.
    I had it working initially following that routine but after installing it on my desktop machine on the same network..something glitched and I reinstalled it on my laptop using the Add Printer dialogue and after that had the described problem.
    Contacted Kodak today and they got it straightened out quickly.
    Thanks again for trying to help.
     
  4. Victoria Bampton

    Victoria Bampton Lightroom Queen / Owner Staff Member Administrator Moderator Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Messages:
    18,303
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.12.x Sierra
    Lightroom Version:
    6.7 / CC 2015.7
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    Brilliant, thanks for letting us know!
     

Share This Page