1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the new forum software!

    The forum is now live again but we're still working on the upgrade. It's a massive upgrade, so we're considering this a beta release for the next few weeks. Please report any bugs and feature requests on this thread. Thank you for your patience!

    Please update your profile and you're also welcome to upload an avatar so we can get to know you better.
    Dismiss Notice

Moving the catalog and previews out of my Pictures folder

Discussion in 'Managing your Photos & Video' started by jhnpennington, Sep 17, 2013.

  1. jhnpennington

    jhnpennington New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Lightroom Experience:
    Beginner
    Primary OS:
    Windows 8 64-bit
    Lightroom Version:
    5.0
    Hi,
    I installed the Lightroom catalog etc. into the Pictures folder as that is the default setting.
    However, I don't want all the previews clogging up my Pictures folder, so would like to move the catalog, previews etc. to a new folder, but can't figure out how to do it properly.
    Any help gratefully received.
    Thank you,
    John.
     
  2. Jim Wilde

    Jim Wilde Senior Member Staff Member Moderator Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    8,987
    Lightroom Experience:
    Advanced
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.11.x El Capitan
    Lightroom Version:
    6.4 / CC 2015.4
    Hi, welcome to the forum.

    The only restriction for catalog placement is that it can't be on a network volume, but with that in mind it's simple enough to relocate it. With Lightroom shut down, simply create a new parent folder outside of your My Pictures folder, then drag and drop the catalog (i.e. the file ending in .lrcat) into this new parent folder. Then drag and drop the associated previews sub-folder (yourcatalogname Previews.lrdata) into the same new parent folder. When done, double-click on the catalog file from its new location (it's about the easiest way of telling Lightroom the catalog has been moved), when Lightroom starts go to the Preferences menu (General Tab) and if needed reset the Default Catalog setting to reflect the newly moved catalog.
     
  3. jhnpennington

    jhnpennington New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Lightroom Experience:
    Beginner
    Primary OS:
    Windows 8 64-bit
    Lightroom Version:
    5.0
    Thanks Jim, I'll do that as soon as I get home form work.:D
     
  4. Jim Wilde

    Jim Wilde Senior Member Staff Member Moderator Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    8,987
    Lightroom Experience:
    Advanced
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.11.x El Capitan
    Lightroom Version:
    6.4 / CC 2015.4
    OK, but make sure you have an up-to date catalog backup, just in case some catastrophic system problem happens in the middle of the drag and drop.
     
  5. jhnpennington

    jhnpennington New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Lightroom Experience:
    Beginner
    Primary OS:
    Windows 8 64-bit
    Lightroom Version:
    5.0
    I'll be careful :cool:
     

Share This Page