1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome to Lightroom Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to register and post your first thread under Help on the menubar above. You're also welcome to join our newsletter, download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBook and explore our other FAQ resources.
    Dismiss Notice

Lightroom 5 and Windows Vista

Discussion in 'Lightroom Installation & Performance' started by hanoman, Sep 20, 2013.

  1. hanoman

    hanoman New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    Messages:
    36
    Location:
    46047 Oberhausen, Germany
    Lightroom Experience:
    Advanced
    Primary OS:
    Windows 10
    Lightroom Version:
    6.4 / CC 2015.4
    Hi,
    my Notebook is running windows vista. Is there a possibility to run Lightroom 5? The original RC-Version of Lightroom 5 was running on that computer.
    Hannes Löhr
     
  2. Gene_mtl

    Gene_mtl Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Messages:
    169
    Location:
    Amherstview, Ontario, Canada
    Lightroom Experience:
    Intermediate
    Primary OS:
    Windows 10
    Lightroom Version:
    6.6 / CC 2015.6
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    According to Adobe's Lightroom 5 Tech Spec, LR5 requires Windows 7 or 8.

    Maybe someone else here can say if they have been successful running the latest released version on Vista.
     
  3. clee01l

    clee01l Lightroom Guru Staff Member Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Messages:
    11,284
    Location:
    Bellaire, TX USA
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.11.x El Capitan
    Lightroom Version:
    6.6 / CC 2015.6
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    If you can install LR 5.2RC on Vista, you can run LR 5.2 also. Just keep in mind that performance may not be optimal and that you'll get no support from Adobe since it does not meet the minimum specs set by Adobe.
     
  4. RikkFlohr

    RikkFlohr Lightroom Guru Staff Member Lightroom Guru Adobe Representative

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,684
    Location:
    Twin Cities, MN
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Windows 10
    Lightroom Version:
    6.5 / CC 2015.5
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    5.0 Public beta should have been the last version that would install and run on any version of Vista. There was somebody at the Adobe User to User forum who claimed to have 5.0 final installed and running through some slight of hand but, as Cletus says, you'll get no support from Adobe. No word on whether they got 5.2 RC or final to run.
     
  5. clee01l

    clee01l Lightroom Guru Staff Member Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Messages:
    11,284
    Location:
    Bellaire, TX USA
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.11.x El Capitan
    Lightroom Version:
    6.6 / CC 2015.6
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    Hannes,
    If you are concerned about paying the upgrade fee, you can D/L and install the released version of LR5.2 and run this as a 30 day trial. Then if you are happy with the results, you can make the buy decision.
     
  6. hanoman

    hanoman New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    Messages:
    36
    Location:
    46047 Oberhausen, Germany
    Lightroom Experience:
    Advanced
    Primary OS:
    Windows 10
    Lightroom Version:
    6.4 / CC 2015.4
    Thanks to all.
    My main Computer is running Win 8 with LR5.2.
    I think to restrict LR to Win 7 and 8 is somehow artificial, because the RC-Version runs on Vista. If thats true there could be a patch to remove this restriction. I installed LR on my laptop because i use it for demonstrations in my Photo Club. It is not possible to edit photos because of screen size and quality. A software upgrade of this machine makes no sense.
    Greetings from Germany
    Hannes Löhr
     
  7. clee01l

    clee01l Lightroom Guru Staff Member Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Messages:
    11,284
    Location:
    Bellaire, TX USA
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.11.x El Capitan
    Lightroom Version:
    6.6 / CC 2015.6
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    I don't think any one is saying there is a restriction. The restriction may be performance. You have all of the tools necessary to answer your own question. You have the computer running Vista. You can freely download the 5.2 trial. Please try this yourself (no one else here seems to be running Vista) and please report the results.
     

Share This Page