1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome to Lightroom Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to register and post your first thread under Help on the menubar above. You're also welcome to join our newsletter, download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBook and explore our other FAQ resources.
    Dismiss Notice

Lightroom 4 is out of beta!

Discussion in 'Lightroom BETA Discussion (CLOSED)' started by Kiwi Picbod, Mar 6, 2012.

  1. Kiwi Picbod

    Kiwi Picbod New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.10.x Yosemite
    Lightroom 4 is now available in full-release and it is cheaper than ever! Upgrade is only US$79, full version US$149.

    Don't panic! Your beta version will still work fine until March 31. Put that date in your calendar as you will want to have at least saved and exported your LR4 catalogue by then if you haven't upgraded to (paid for) the full-release version.

    Here's the link (well, it's the NZ link, but you can figure it out for yourselves)

    https://store3.adobe.com/cfusion/st..._nz&category=/Applications/PhotoshopLightroom
     
  2. Victoria Bampton

    Victoria Bampton Lightroom Queen / Owner Staff Member Administrator Moderator Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Messages:
    18,215
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.11.x El Capitan
    Lightroom Version:
    6.6 / CC 2015.6
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
  3. MikeCaine

    MikeCaine New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    64
    Location:
    Isle of Man
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.8.x Mountain Lion
    Trying to purchase an upgrade but keep getting a system error box on Adobe's site. It's a bit frustrating but hopefully they'll sort it soon
     
  4. Kiwigeoff

    Kiwigeoff Lightroom Guru Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    4,627
    Location:
    Paradise
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.10.x Yosemite
    Lightroom Version:
    5.7
    There is a bit of a demand bottleneck it seems, please be patient!:hm:
     
  5. Grizz

    Grizz New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Messages:
    39
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Lightroom Experience:
    Advanced
    Primary OS:
    Windows 10
    Lightroom Version:
    6.4 / CC 2015.4
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    Got It! Installing now!
     
  6. MikeCaine

    MikeCaine New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    64
    Location:
    Isle of Man
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.8.x Mountain Lion
    The link I'd followed took me to the USA store, which I assume was the problem for me. Re ordered from UK store and just waiting for order to be released now
     
  7. jndm

    jndm New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012
    Messages:
    38
    Location:
    Czech republic
    Lightroom Experience:
    Beginner
    Primary OS:
    Windows 8 64-bit
    Lightroom Version:
    5.3
    Does anybody knows if there is some difference between boxed and download version? I mean printed manual for example? I remember those old days when you got printed manuals with your SW:)
     
  8. Happy Haggis

    Happy Haggis Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Messages:
    142
    Location:
    Scotland
    Lightroom Experience:
    Intermediate
    Primary OS:
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Lightroom Version:
    5.7
    As far as I know there's no difference.
     
  9. neil79

    neil79 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    Staffordshire, UK
    Lightroom Experience:
    Intermediate
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.9.x Mavericks
    Lightroom Version:
    5.2
    UK Upgrade price is £59.09 and if you want the box it's free shipping until the 31/3/12. Full version is £103.88
     
  10. jndm

    jndm New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012
    Messages:
    38
    Location:
    Czech republic
    Lightroom Experience:
    Beginner
    Primary OS:
    Windows 8 64-bit
    Lightroom Version:
    5.3
    Thanks.

    In CZ store which shows prices in EUR is boxed version a bit cheaper than download one, funny. 76.26 EUR download vs 74.40 EUR boxed for upgrade and 134,07 EUR download vs 130,80 EUR boxed for full version.
     
  11. Victoria Bampton

    Victoria Bampton Lightroom Queen / Owner Staff Member Administrator Moderator Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Messages:
    18,215
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.11.x El Capitan
    Lightroom Version:
    6.6 / CC 2015.6
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    The downloads can sometimes work out more expensive than the boxed versions, because it depends on the VAT/sales tax wherever the download server is housed.
     
  12. Happy Haggis

    Happy Haggis Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Messages:
    142
    Location:
    Scotland
    Lightroom Experience:
    Intermediate
    Primary OS:
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Lightroom Version:
    5.7
    I'm pretty sure those prices don't include VAT, so add 20% to those prices. Amazon UK is quoting £61.99 for the upgrade and £99.99 for the full version. Probably worth waiting for them to get stock.
     
  13. neil79

    neil79 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    Staffordshire, UK
    Lightroom Experience:
    Intermediate
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.9.x Mavericks
    Lightroom Version:
    5.2
    Does anyone know if the US version includes taxes on top of the $79 ?
     
  14. neil79

    neil79 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    Staffordshire, UK
    Lightroom Experience:
    Intermediate
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.9.x Mavericks
    Lightroom Version:
    5.2
    The UK £59.09 does include VAT and delivery as I have just ordered the box from Adobe
     
  15. jndm

    jndm New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012
    Messages:
    38
    Location:
    Czech republic
    Lightroom Experience:
    Beginner
    Primary OS:
    Windows 8 64-bit
    Lightroom Version:
    5.3
    I believe that for EU VAT depend on customers country, for me all prices from Adobe store are including 20% VAT. I think that they have some "handling" costs for both, download and boxed version. And because until 31.3. boxed version can be bought without shipping costs they are selling it for base price and download version is sold by base price+some small handling fee I think. Anyway, both prices are quite good.:)
     
  16. neil79

    neil79 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    Staffordshire, UK
    Lightroom Experience:
    Intermediate
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.9.x Mavericks
    Lightroom Version:
    5.2
    Just had a look on the Amazon site and they are advertising LR 4 as Windows XP compatible which I am sure I heard somewhere it is not compatible. I am a Mac user but thought it was worth pointing out :oops:
     
  17. Happy Haggis

    Happy Haggis Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Messages:
    142
    Location:
    Scotland
    Lightroom Experience:
    Intermediate
    Primary OS:
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Lightroom Version:
    5.7
    You're right, I'm sure it's not compatible with XP. Good spot!
     
  18. jndm

    jndm New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012
    Messages:
    38
    Location:
    Czech republic
    Lightroom Experience:
    Beginner
    Primary OS:
    Windows 8 64-bit
    Lightroom Version:
    5.3
    It is probably mistake, Adobe site tell this:

    System requirements


    Windows


    • Intel® Pentium® 4 or AMD Athlon® 64 processor
    • Microsoft® Windows Vista® with Service Pack 2 or Windows® 7 with Service Pack 1
    • 2GB of RAM
    • 1GB of available hard-disk space
    • 1024x768 display
    • DVD-ROM drive
    • Internet connection required for Internet-based services*


    Mac OS


    • Multicore Intel processor with 64-bit support
    • Mac OS X v10.6.8 or v10.7
    • 2GB of RAM
    • 1GB of available hard-disk space
    • 1024x768 display
    • DVD-ROM drive
    • Internet connection required for Internet-based services*
     
  19. Victoria Bampton

    Victoria Bampton Lightroom Queen / Owner Staff Member Administrator Moderator Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Messages:
    18,215
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.11.x El Capitan
    Lightroom Version:
    6.6 / CC 2015.6
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    I'm not sure about the rest of the EU, but it's 23% Irish VAT for downloads from Adobe UK.

    Ooooops, thanks for the heads-up.
     
  20. Jim Stewart

    Jim Stewart New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    Scotland
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.7.x Lion
    I have the download and I'm ready to go - just one nagging thought - I don't remember how to get my LR3 catalog over into LR4 :eek:

    Seem to recall there was a complication in moving from LR2 to LR3 - can anyone remind me (or point me to a link re) how to do this step??

    Thanks in advance

    Jim
     
  21. Victoria Bampton

    Victoria Bampton Lightroom Queen / Owner Staff Member Administrator Moderator Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Messages:
    18,215
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.11.x El Capitan
    Lightroom Version:
    6.6 / CC 2015.6
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    Open LR4, go to File menu > Open Catalog and open your LR3 catalog. It'll ask to upgrade. That bit's wonderfully straightforward!

    If you've used the beta version, you can import your beta catalog into your main working catalog by going to File menu > Import from Another Catalog and pointing it to the LR4 beta catalog. At that point, it depends on whether you've used the same photos in both catalogs, and therefore whether you want to keep the LR3 settings, the LR4 settings, or both.
     
  22. Jim Stewart

    Jim Stewart New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    Scotland
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.7.x Lion
    Hi Victoria

    It actually wouldn't let me into LR4 until I'd chosen a catalog. I chose my LR3 catalog and then it asked to upgrade and choose a destination folder. So straightforward enough. I did use the beta a little, and I'll sort that out later as you suggest.

    Mnay thanks for the help

    Jim
     
  23. Hal P Anderson

    Hal P Anderson Lightroom Guru Staff Member Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    2,059
    Location:
    Canada
    Lightroom Experience:
    Advanced
    Primary OS:
    Windows 10
    Lightroom Version:
    6.6 / CC 2015.6
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    Jim,

    Just open LR4, and if it doesn't automatically find your LR3 catalogue, go to File/Open Catalog and choose your LR3 catalogue. LR will convert it to the new format and you'll be good to go. It creates a new copy, leaving your old catalogue intact.

    Hal
     
  24. Happy Haggis

    Happy Haggis Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Messages:
    142
    Location:
    Scotland
    Lightroom Experience:
    Intermediate
    Primary OS:
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Lightroom Version:
    5.7
    Thanks for that. I wasn't able to get on the Adobe site to check. I am pleasantly surprised that the price is less than Amazon. Just placed my order.
     
  25. Choke

    Choke New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    Stockholm
    Lightroom Experience:
    Advanced
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.10.x Yosemite
    Hi
    Anyone no when we can acpect the new version of ACR? At the moment we can't edit a photo from LT4 to PS?

    Best regards
    Choke
     

Share This Page