1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the new forum software!

    The forum is now live again but we're still working on the upgrade. It's a massive upgrade, so we're considering this a beta release for the next few weeks. Please report any bugs and feature requests on this thread. Thank you for your patience!

    Please update your profile and you're also welcome to upload an avatar so we can get to know you better.
    Dismiss Notice

Lightroom 4.1 rc2 over exposing and adjustment brush quirk

Discussion in 'Lightroom Installation & Performance' started by virtualg, Apr 30, 2012.

  1. virtualg

    virtualg New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Lightroom Experience:
    Intermediate
    Primary OS:
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Has anyone noticed a tendency of Basic Panel's Auto adjustments to push the histogram way to the right (over-exposure)? I was touching up a catalog this weekend and had to override exposure far more than usual. It is possible that I just ran into an usual sample of tricky photos. Next time I run into this, I will try switching processing to the LR3 engine.

    Also, I find the adjustment brush's selection/desection functionality gets messed up if you switch between multiple layers. It starts selecting/deselecting in big "blocks". The workaround is to toggle "Show Selected Mask Overlay".

    Cheers everyone,
    VG
     
  2. JimHess43

    JimHess43 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Messages:
    328
    Lightroom Experience:
    Advanced
    Primary OS:
    Windows 10
    If you were touching up images that were converted from your Lightroom 3 catalog the difference in results can be dramatic. I have chosen to leave all my images that were processed in Lightroom 3 in the 2010 process, and simply choose the ones I want to move into the 2012 process. When I make that switch I expect a big change and almost plan to start over.
     
  3. clee01l

    clee01l Senior Member Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Messages:
    10,175
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.11.x El Capitan
    In LR3, I used the AutoTone on import to get me in the ball park. In LR4, I too find the AutoTone sets the exposure 1-2 stop in the over exposed zone. And this is on a camera that is known for metering on the minus side of exposure. Because of this, while I still set AutoTone on import, I have to manually adjust the Exposure parameter down after import.

    When I converted my LR3 Catalog to LR4, I left all of my 2010 Process images unchanged and they remain in my LR4 catalog as PV2010. Of these, I made virtual copies of my very best 'keepers'. These VCs I have reprocessed as PV2012 and usually find much better results.
     
  4. virtualg

    virtualg New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Lightroom Experience:
    Intermediate
    Primary OS:
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Hmm, many of the images I was looking at were originally processed in 3. I hit the reset button to remove all filters, then began my normal processing of starting with auto-tone. I'll see if over-exposure was only on those photos.

    The effect is very noticeable - 2 stops too bright for sure with a compressed histogram and blown highlights.
     
    Last edited: Apr 30, 2012
  5. virtualg

    virtualg New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Lightroom Experience:
    Intermediate
    Primary OS:
    Windows 7 64-bit
    That's about what I'm seeing. I wonder if there is a new setting that I'm missing somewhere.
     
  6. clee01l

    clee01l Senior Member Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Messages:
    10,175
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.11.x El Capitan
    I don't think there are any parameters you can supply with AutoTone. I suspect it is broken (or at least broken for RAW formats like your Olympus or my SOOC DNG)
     
  7. donoreo

    donoreo Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2012
    Messages:
    257
    Lightroom Experience:
    Intermediate
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.10.x Yosemite
    I noticed it as well on my Canon, sometimes. Other times is underexposes. I used to use it as a starting point, but it does not save me any time now.
     
  8. Victoria Bampton

    Victoria Bampton Lightroom Queen / Owner Staff Member Administrator Moderator Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Messages:
    17,513
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.11.x El Capitan
    Lightroom Version:
    6.4 / CC 2015.4
    Yeah, I think they need to do a bit more work on auto tone to be honest. It's not just you!
     
  9. Gene_mtl

    Gene_mtl Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Messages:
    167
    Lightroom Experience:
    Intermediate
    Primary OS:
    Windows 10
    Has there been any talk about fixing Auto-tone in LR4? Is there any improvement in either of the two RC versions?

    TIA
     
  10. Victoria Bampton

    Victoria Bampton Lightroom Queen / Owner Staff Member Administrator Moderator Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Messages:
    17,513
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.11.x El Capitan
    Lightroom Version:
    6.4 / CC 2015.4
    Eric was working on the new 32-bit HDR import and new CA controls, and has been off on holiday since then, so I'd be surprised if he's had time to look at it.
     
  11. Gene_mtl

    Gene_mtl Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Messages:
    167
    Lightroom Experience:
    Intermediate
    Primary OS:
    Windows 10
    Thanks, Victoria for the feedback. I've not experienced any of the other issues that have been mentioned, but the screwed-up auto-tone is actually making me dread processing any images. :(
     
  12. donoreo

    donoreo Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2012
    Messages:
    257
    Lightroom Experience:
    Intermediate
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.10.x Yosemite
    How dare he! :)
     

Share This Page