1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome to Lightroom Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to register and post your first thread under Help on the menubar above. You're also welcome to join our newsletter, download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBook and explore our other FAQ resources.
    Dismiss Notice

L4 Catalog Previews.lrdata file

Discussion in 'Workflow Discussion' started by irenefrie, Apr 10, 2012.

1. irenefrie

irenefrie New Member

Lightroom Experience:
    Beginner
    Primary OS:
    Windows Vista 32-bit
    I am new to L4 and started importing my photos and making sure that I have a back-up. But as I import and save I would like to delete some of the back-ups. Some of the back-up files have a sub-folder named: Lightroom 4 Catalog Previews.lrdata, but not all of the backups have this sub-folder. Can someone explain to me the importance of this folder and why other backups don't have it? I'm nervouse about deleting one of the folders that have this sub-folder.

Thank you.
    Irene

2. b_gossweiler

b_gossweiler Lightroom Guru Lightroom Guru

Lightroom Experience:
    Advanced
    Primary OS:
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Irene,

Before answering your question, one word about backups:
    Are you aware that the backups you perform when closing LR ONLY back up your Lightroom catalog, and not your original images? You need to back up your originals also using other backup procedures.