1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome to Lightroom Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to register and post your first thread under Help on the menubar above. You're also welcome to join our newsletter, download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBook and explore our other FAQ resources.
    Dismiss Notice

In Map Module Can I Delete Track Logs?

Discussion in 'Managing your Photos & Video' started by alanhunt, May 7, 2012.

  1. alanhunt

    alanhunt New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    Brevard, NC, western NC mountains, US
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Windows 10
    I have Lightroom 4.2RC installed on a Windows 7 machine. I have uploaded about ten track logs to the Lightroom Map module, but only three are associated with images. How do I delete the track logs that I am not interested in? I would like to have the track log list less cluttered.

    Thanks,

    Alan.
     
    Last edited: May 7, 2012
  2. Paul Treacher

    Paul Treacher New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    76
    Location:
    Alton, Hants
    Lightroom Experience:
    Intermediate
    Primary OS:
    Windows 7 64-bit
    I dont have any Tracklogs so can't confirm this however this post suggests that LR does not maintain its own copy of the logs (in same way that it does not copy your original photo files):

    http://johnbarrettphotography.com/2012/03/lightroom-4-map-module/

    This would suggest you can merely delete the file from wherever you saved it. I guess you then want to remove it from the "Previous Track" list - will the "Clear All Suggestions" button in Catalog Settings do this ? Of course it will also clear everything else !
     
  3. Paul Treacher

    Paul Treacher New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    76
    Location:
    Alton, Hants
    Lightroom Experience:
    Intermediate
    Primary OS:
    Windows 7 64-bit
    It appears that LR does not include an option to clear any of the "Recent" lists so the only way to do this may be manual editing of the preference file. Having never used the track logs option I have just done a backup of my preference file before importing a log obtained online. I then compared the two files and it appears two lines are added (in Red below):

    LocationModule_lastTracklogFolder = "C:\\Users\\Paul\\Desktop",
    LocationModule_mapLatitude = 53.44951880755,
    LocationModule_mapLongitude = -1.8345095,
    LocationModule_mapMode = "google.maps.MapTypeId.HYBRID",
    LocationModule_mapRadius = 7.7071103251506,
    LocationModule_mapZoom = 12,
    LocationModule_recentTracklogPaths = "paths = {\
    \"C:\\\\Users\\\\Paul\\\\Desktop\\\\Cut_Gate_and_Doctors_Gate.gpx\",\
    }\
    ",
    LocationModule_showFilterBar = true,
    LocationModule_showInfoOverlay = true,
    LocationModule_toolbar_revealedState = "normal",
    LocationModule_tools = "tools = {\
    lock = true,\
    mode = true,\
    reverse_geocoding = true,\
    tracklog = true,\
    zoom = true,\

    Obvioulsy the usual disclaimer applies - I.E. you should back up the file before editing it in case things go wrong and I accept no blame if it does.
     
  4. b_gossweiler

    b_gossweiler Lightroom Guru Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    3,207
    Location:
    Zurich, Switzerland
    Lightroom Experience:
    Advanced
    Primary OS:
    Windows 7 64-bit
    The logic with recent tracks is the same as with recent catalogs (File -> Open Recent):
    As soon as you delete (or rename/move) the underlying physical file, its entry will not appear in the recent list anymore.

    Beat
     
  5. happycranker

    happycranker Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Messages:
    217
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Thanks for that Paul/Beat, I wondered the same thing, as I have a few tracks which I do not need anymore.

    Paul BTW I used to live in Alton, before moving to Australia and don't miss those smelly steam trains one bit!
     
  6. Paul Treacher

    Paul Treacher New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    76
    Location:
    Alton, Hants
    Lightroom Experience:
    Intermediate
    Primary OS:
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Peter

    Small world - I most confess that Railways are one of my interests so I dont mind them - I'm actually based down the road in Four Marks so on a nice day when the windows are open I can hear them.

    I did not realise that LR was clever enough to recognise when the file had been deleted - gues I'm used to Microsoft aps that leave them in the Recent list and then tell you that the file cant be found if you try to select it.
     

Share This Page