1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome to Lightroom Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to register and post your first thread under Help on the menubar above. You're also welcome to join our newsletter, download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBook and explore our other FAQ resources.
    Dismiss Notice

How to view original of edited photos

Discussion in 'Lightroom General Discussion (ARCHIVE)' started by aster, May 4, 2011.

  1. aster

    aster Active Member

    Jun 12, 2010
    Primary OS:
    Windows 7 64-bit
    When all LR editing has been applied to "original" .
    What is later the easiest way to view original image without resetting editing?
    To create a copy, but how?

  2. Brad Snyder

    Brad Snyder Lightroom Guru Lightroom Guru

    Nov 20, 2007
    Port Deposit, Maryland USA
    Lightroom Experience:
    Primary OS:
    Windows 7 64-bit
    The generalized way to approach this is with Before/After View in Develop.
    Select an image in Develop. On the main menu, choose View > Before/After > and one of the various screen layouts, top/bottom, left/right, split.
    Note that theses selections all have shortcut keys, remember your favorite. The Before/After views are also available on the Tool Bar below the image near the far left.
    Then, use the History browser to select the image state you'd like to display as the 'Before'. In your case, all the way at the bottom of the History, usually called 'Import', with perhaps an import preset noted.
    Right click on the desired history state, and choose 'Copy History State Settings to Before'.

    There are other ways to skin this cat, but that should get you where you want without the (minimal) overhead of creating a snapshot or virtual copy.
  3. sizzlingbadger

    sizzlingbadger Lightroom Guru Lightroom Guru

    Apr 18, 2009
    New Zealand
    Lightroom Experience:
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.12.x Sierra
    Lightroom Version:
    6.7 / CC 2015.7
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    The only reliable way is to hit reset then ctrl-Z to undo it. The before and after only shows the difference between import state and current state and that it is not always what you need. If you don't apply anything during import then using the / key can work quite well.

    I changed the default settings in my catalog and now the before after toggles between current edits and my original imported defaults not my new defaults and this is a pain.

Share This Page