• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • Dark mode now has a single preference for the whole site! It's a simple toggle switch in the bottom right-hand corner of any page. As it uses a cookie to store your preference, you may need to dismiss the cookie banner before you can see it. Any problems, please let us know!

How can I put a filename onto a photo?

Status
Not open for further replies.

keener

Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Hi everyone, I'm a total newbie to the Forum so I apologise if this has been asked before - I did a search which came up blank so I'm risking your scorn and asking anyway! :nod:

I'm trying to figure out a way of getting the filename onto my photos. I've been using a program called Qimage to embed the filename onto the photo but it's causing the jpeg files to corrupt somehow and CS5 isn't reading them. It basically prints the filename onto the image in a font, position and size that you specify so the text becomes part of the picture. (I know putting the filename onto the photo will cover up a part of the image but I'm fine with that and I've been doing it for years as it's a great way of clarifying the image filename for each of the thousands of proof images I shoot every year. My clients find it easier to place orders and it totally eliminated the confusion over filenames I use to get before I went to digital photography!)