1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome to Lightroom Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to register and post your first thread under Help on the menubar above. You're also welcome to join our newsletter, download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBook and explore our other FAQ resources.
    Dismiss Notice

HD and Smart Previews vs SSD

Discussion in 'Lightroom Installation & Performance' started by reidthaler, Jul 8, 2013.

  1. reidthaler

    reidthaler Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Messages:
    256
    Location:
    San Francisco Bay Area
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Lightroom Version:
    6.4 / CC 2015.4
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    Apologies since I have perused the forum, but wanted to check to hear options about Lightroom performance on a standard HD with smart previews vs a SSD (and smart previews, of course).

    I didn't see much of speed difference in Lightroom 4 when I moved my catalog to an SSD. I now have my Lightroom 5 catalog on a standard HD with smart previews and perceive that it makes a big difference. I'm wondering if it makes sense to move my catalog back to the SSD or whether I should move the SSD to my laptop to replace its standard HD.

    Any thoughts?

    Thanks,

    Reid
     
  2. sizzlingbadger

    sizzlingbadger Lightroom Guru Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,548
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Lightroom Experience:
    Advanced
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.11.x El Capitan
    Lightroom Version:
    6.4 / CC 2015.4
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    I moved my LR5 catalog to SSD for the first time last week and it made a nice increase in Lightroom's performance. I use 1:1 previews at present. I haven't tried smart previews yet but will do shortly.

    I'm using a 240GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD which is a fairly new generation SSD so maybe that helps ?
     
  3. _Ash_

    _Ash_ New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    When you say moved the catalogs, did you both move them to a different drive letter? I've just rebuilt my system on an SSD and I'm planning to move the catalog to it. At the moment it's on D: but will go to C: I'm not expecting any issues as the image files are staying put on D:. Are there any 'gotchas' I should watch out for?

    Thanks
    Dave
     
  4. Jim Wilde

    Jim Wilde Lightroom Guru Staff Member Moderator Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    9,379
    Location:
    West Sussex, UK
    Lightroom Experience:
    Advanced
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.11.x El Capitan
    Lightroom Version:
    6.6 / CC 2015.6
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    As the images are staying in the same location, moving the catalog should be fine. Moving the associated previews as well would save you a ton of time rebuilding them after the move (I assume your SSD will have sufficient space for catalog and previews?). Also, after the move, make sure you look at the startup option on the Preferences>General Tab and change if necessary.
     
  5. _Ash_

    _Ash_ New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Jim, thanks for reply. Yes the SSD size is like for like - taken out a 500Gb SATA and put in 500Gb SSD and right now the old drive was only at 50% used. I didn't think the catalog move would cause any problems but just wanted to double check.

    Dave
     

Share This Page