1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome to Lightroom Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to register and post your first thread under Help on the menubar above. You're also welcome to join our newsletter, download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBook and explore our other FAQ resources.
    Dismiss Notice

Editing in Photoshop CS5 and return to LR5 as .jpg

Discussion in 'Extending Lightroom' started by rwaugh, Aug 9, 2013.

  1. rwaugh

    rwaugh New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Lightroom Experience:
    Beginner
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.8.x Mountain Lion
    Lightroom Version:
    5.0
    Hello,
    I am fairly new to LR, so this may be a stupid question, but here goes....

    Occasionally I have a photo that I have made my edits to in LR5 and now want to take into Photoshop CS5 to do a few minor things and I understand how that is done. My issue is that when I save it and it is brought back into LR it is now a .psd (I know that is because I have set it up that way in my LR Preferences). That is great when I want to save detailed layers with edits from photoshop incase I need to go back in and tweak them, however in the instance where the PS edits are so minor and no layers were created, I really don't want the massive file size that comes along with the .psd version. Is it possible to automatically bring it back to LR as a .jpg? If there is a better way to handle this in my workflow please let me know.


    Thanks in advance for the help.
    Ria
     
  2. clee01l

    clee01l Lightroom Guru Staff Member Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Messages:
    11,301
    Location:
    Bellaire, TX USA
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.11.x El Capitan
    Lightroom Version:
    6.6 / CC 2015.6
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    Welcome to the forum, The data sent to PS needs to be either TIFF (preferred) or PSD. These two formats are lossless compression formats. A Tiff or PSD will not have layers unless you create them and if memory serves LR does not manage layers on export. Your file sent from LR will preserve the best color if created as a 16 bit ProPhotoRGB color space. This will give PS everything to work with that LR has to send it. You can export the file from LR as a JPEG and compress it using JPEGs lossy compression methods and 8 bit color, Then, it becomes your option to keep or toss the intermediate TIFF/PSD along side the master original.
     
  3. rwaugh

    rwaugh New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Lightroom Experience:
    Beginner
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.8.x Mountain Lion
    Lightroom Version:
    5.0
    Thanks Cletus. I am trying to avoid having the TIFF/PSD created in the first place. I could delete as you suggested, but it just seems like extra steps and I don't want to confuse it with the PSDs that I do want to keep vs the ones I want to delete. I did find a round about way by creating another external editor with the file format as Jpeg in my LR preferences and saving it as a preset. This new preset shows up under Photo/Edit in..., however Lightroom gives an error thinking that no external editor was selected (I did select Cs5 when creating my preset - LR didn't like that, but I said to use it anyway). Ironically when I open the dropdown Photo/Edit in... there are two choices for Adobe Photoshop CS5 (with different short cut keys) and if I click the second one in the list it does exactly what I wanted all along.
     
  4. clee01l

    clee01l Lightroom Guru Staff Member Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Messages:
    11,301
    Location:
    Bellaire, TX USA
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.11.x El Capitan
    Lightroom Version:
    6.6 / CC 2015.6
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    Yes, this Alternate external editor pointing to PS12 will give you exactly what you are after.
     

Share This Page