1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome to Lightroom Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to register and post your first thread under Help on the menubar above. You're also welcome to join our newsletter, download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBook and explore our other FAQ resources.
    Dismiss Notice

Do I need to import an image when I "Save As" in Photoshop?

Discussion in 'Extending Lightroom' started by Mahombi, Apr 17, 2012.

  1. Mahombi

    Mahombi New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Messages:
    29
    Location:
    London, England
    Lightroom Experience:
    Intermediate
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.9.x Mavericks
    Lightroom Version:
    5.6
    Do images edited via the "Edit in Photoshop" and "Edit Original" option in LR, then saved as another version elsewhere, need to be imported back into Lightroom in order to appear in the Catalog? That's what is happening in my case.
     
  2. RikkFlohr

    RikkFlohr Lightroom Guru Staff Member Lightroom Guru Adobe Representative

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,684
    Location:
    Twin Cities, MN
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Windows 10
    Lightroom Version:
    6.5 / CC 2015.5
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    Greetings, and welcome.

    Yes, as you have discovered invoking the "Save As" command creates an image which Lightroom cannot track. Lightroom remembers the original sent to Photoshop and, as long as you hit on the "Save" command, Lightroom will know where it is, what it is called, and keep it in the catalog. "Save As" breaks the link and forces you to either manually import the photo via the Import dialog or the Synchronize Folder option.
     
  3. Mahombi

    Mahombi New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Messages:
    29
    Location:
    London, England
    Lightroom Experience:
    Intermediate
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.9.x Mavericks
    Lightroom Version:
    5.6
    Thanks for that Rikk. I thought it was because I chose the "Edit Original" option. Does the same apply if I "Save As" with "Edit a Copy" or "Edit a Copy with Lightroom Adjustments"?
     
  4. Karayuschij

    Karayuschij Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    143
    Location:
    Kiev, Ukraine
    Lightroom Experience:
    Advanced
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.8.x Mountain Lion
    Lightroom Version:
    5.0
    I am used to edit photos in Photoshop and then to "Save As" these photos in jpeg format (from Photoshop), and they normally appears automatically as jpeg in the Lightroom library.
    Maybe it works because I change the file format?
     
  5. Mahombi

    Mahombi New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Messages:
    29
    Location:
    London, England
    Lightroom Experience:
    Intermediate
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.9.x Mavericks
    Lightroom Version:
    5.6
    Well Karayuschi, that is confusing me, as I too have been saving as Jpeg. Can anyone explain that?
     
  6. Karayuschij

    Karayuschij Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    143
    Location:
    Kiev, Ukraine
    Lightroom Experience:
    Advanced
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.8.x Mountain Lion
    Lightroom Version:
    5.0
    It has always worked for me using LR 3.X
    Then there was a problem using LR4 with acr 6.7 as the "Save As" jpeg was not automatically imported in the LR4 library.
    After having installed Photoshop CS6 the acr 7.0 has been installed too and the "Save As" started to import again automatically the jpeg in the LR library.

    But in your profile infos I see that you are using LR 3.6, are you?
     
  7. Mahombi

    Mahombi New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Messages:
    29
    Location:
    London, England
    Lightroom Experience:
    Intermediate
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.9.x Mavericks
    Lightroom Version:
    5.6
    Indeed I am.

    I have since discovered that if I open my image as a Smart Object and save the edit as another version, it does appear in the Catalog.
     

Share This Page