1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome to Lightroom Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to register and post your first thread under Help on the menubar above. You're also welcome to join our newsletter, download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBook and explore our other FAQ resources.
    Dismiss Notice

Collections and External Backup

Discussion in 'Managing your Photos & Video' started by samhayward, May 6, 2012.

  1. samhayward

    samhayward New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Lightroom Experience:
    Beginner
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.7.x Lion
    Hi, I have searched for an answer on this but I have had little success, maybe its my choice of search terms. Sorry.

    My problem: I use Carbon Cloner to back up all my images onto my NAS and have this available to lightroom 4 under the FOLDERS. My problem is when I make smart collections based on "creation date" and "star" rating this doubles up the images in the smart collection, because they are duplicates, after all thats what the back up is for :D

    I have hunted through the rules under smart collections to try and narrow it down to using only my "Macintosh HD" which is my Computer HD and not NAS, sadly I cant find anything.

    The reason I dont just disconnect the NAS from the catalogue is because I also have archived folders in their and would still like to access them this way.

    So. the question please is how can I stop smart collections looking at my NAS with rules?

    kind regards

    Sam
     
  2. b_gossweiler

    b_gossweiler Lightroom Guru Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    3,207
    Location:
    Zurich, Switzerland
    Lightroom Experience:
    Advanced
    Primary OS:
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Welcome to the forums, Sam :)

    My first question would be:
    Why do you have your backed up folders in your catalog? Did you import them? Usually, one does not include the backups of the originals in the catalog.

    To try to answer your question:
    Have you tried entering "Folder starts with Macintosh HD" in your smart collection(s) like this:
    capture_0001_20120506_153711.png

    Beat
     
  3. samhayward

    samhayward New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Lightroom Experience:
    Beginner
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.7.x Lion
    Hi and thanks for the reply.

    All my imports start as RAW into the catalogue. Things like Model shoots (practise) and family stuff I convert to HQ.jpg when edited etc. I keep my Wedding CR2 files for 12 months (just in case) then convert to .jpg

    I understand why you ask but to keep space down on my computer HD I only keep current photos there, then as said, archive to the NAS.

    I have tried the rule as suggested, I thought that would do it, sadly for some reason it doesn't? I dont really understand why it doesn't as that would be perfect?

    thanks for trying
     
  4. b_gossweiler

    b_gossweiler Lightroom Guru Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    3,207
    Location:
    Zurich, Switzerland
    Lightroom Experience:
    Advanced
    Primary OS:
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Can you please post a screen shot of your smart collection?

    Beat
     
  5. clee01l

    clee01l Lightroom Guru Staff Member Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Messages:
    11,303
    Location:
    Bellaire, TX USA
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.11.x El Capitan
    Lightroom Version:
    6.6 / CC 2015.6
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    There are two things that are important to have a backup duplicate copy. One is the LR catalog. The other are your master originals. There is no need to keep backup copies of your master originals in the LR. Catalog. You have limited storage on your primary drive. You can move older master originals off of the primary drive AND still keep them in the catalog for easy access in LR.

    i have an auxiliary drive in addition to my primary drive. After I have completed processing the RAW image I move them to the auxiliary drive using LR to make the move. My backup (TimeMachine) backs up both the primary drive and the auxiliary drive so that I always have a backup copy of ALL my master images and my master catalog. I think you need a backup file management solution similar to this and if you do implement it, you will not have Smart Collection problems like this.
     
  6. samhayward

    samhayward New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Lightroom Experience:
    Beginner
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.7.x Lion
    Hi Gents, thanks for the replies and sorry for the delay. Work gets in the way sometimes :)

    In the end I just didnt bother having a link to my NAS.. I will just hook up to it as required as the "Macintosh HD" folder filter doesnt seem to work.

    thanks again :)
     

Share This Page