1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome to Lightroom Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to register and post your first thread under Help on the menubar above. You're also welcome to join our newsletter, download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBook and explore our other FAQ resources.
    Dismiss Notice

cleaning op the HD, but with all acces in catalogue

Discussion in 'Managing your Photos & Video' started by JoeriM, Jan 22, 2013.

  1. JoeriM

    JoeriM New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Lightroom Experience:
    Intermediate
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.5.x Leopard
    hi all,

    Since my internal HD is filling up now, I want to get rid of my oldest files. The most common way of doing it would be to export the files to an external harddrive, but then I won't see them in my big all-time catalogue any more. I backed up all the original files, make regular backups of the LR catalogue, so can I just physically remove the older folders from the finder - or explorer in windows - ? In that way, I'll still have the previews in the catalogue, but not the huge original files on the internal HD, right? Or does that make LR a lot slower, because it is 'looking' for missing files all the time?

    Hope the question is not too stupid...

    Joeri
     
  2. clee01l

    clee01l Lightroom Guru Staff Member Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Messages:
    11,270
    Location:
    Bellaire, TX USA
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.11.x El Capitan
    Lightroom Version:
    6.6 / CC 2015.6
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    Joeri, welcome to the forum.

    It is easier than you think. With your EHD attached, open LR and click on the (+) on the right side of the Folder panel header.

    Choose {Add Folder...} from the context menu.
    Navigate to a folder that you want to use as parent that exists on the EHD and select it.
    Once that folder appears in your Folder panel, drag other folders from their current location to the EHD folder that is showing. This will move the folders images and all to the EHD As long as the EHD is attached to your computer, the images will be available to you in LR.
     
  3. JoeriM

    JoeriM New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Lightroom Experience:
    Intermediate
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.5.x Leopard
    Thanks! However, if I want to see my files without having my EHD attached? Is removing the files physically the best option?
     
  4. clee01l

    clee01l Lightroom Guru Staff Member Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Messages:
    11,270
    Location:
    Bellaire, TX USA
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.11.x El Capitan
    Lightroom Version:
    6.6 / CC 2015.6
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    You can not see, export or work with the images that are stored on the EHD unless it is attached. If you have 1:1 previews stored in the previews folder you will be able to see the 1:1 previews but that kind of defeats the purpose of freeing up space on your local HD.

    Lightroom maintains reference pointers to each image it has cataloged. Those reference pointers can point to images located on the local HD, and EHD, or a Network HD (NAS). As long as LR has a thumbnail or other preview stored in the Previews folder, it can display a view of that image. If the preview is missing or if LR has been requested to merge the adjustments with the original to create an export JPEG, LR need access to the original.

    While I don't recommend it, you can Export parts of your catalog off onto a EHD with the master original images, but you can not search across catalogs in LR you need to open each separate catalog to search. I think most people are like me. I have recent images stored locally and have images older than about three months stored on an EHD. All is contained in one master catalog. The idea behind this is that older images are not likely to be needed except for special purposes. While my EHD is always attached to my iMac, it does not need to be. Because everything is in one master catalog, I can use Smart Collections or the filter bar to locate any image that is in my inventory. If my EHD were not attached, I can still search my catalog for images contained on it. These may show up in my serch as missing (with the ?) and will remain so until I attach the EHD. I don't see why this can not work for you too
     
  5. JoeriM

    JoeriM New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Lightroom Experience:
    Intermediate
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.5.x Leopard
     
  6. clee01l

    clee01l Lightroom Guru Staff Member Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Messages:
    11,270
    Location:
    Bellaire, TX USA
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.11.x El Capitan
    Lightroom Version:
    6.6 / CC 2015.6
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    I use Time Machine for my backups. My "Image Archive" Volume is included.

    Please note. I am not exporting master original files. The "Image Archive volume is a part of my folder panel display and continues to be a part of my master active image inventory. The "green" icon to the left of the volume named "DataTale" indicated that the volume is connected and active. If the EHD is disconnected, the icon shows "black".

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2013
  7. JoeriM

    JoeriM New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Lightroom Experience:
    Intermediate
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.5.x Leopard
    Thanks for your explanation!
     

Share This Page