1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome to Lightroom Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to register and post your first thread under Help on the menubar above. You're also welcome to join our newsletter, download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBook and explore our other FAQ resources.
    Dismiss Notice

Cannot find lightroom!!!

Discussion in 'Lightroom Installation & Performance' started by sum1993, May 6, 2012.

  1. sum1993

    sum1993 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Location:
    United Arab Emirates
    Lightroom Experience:
    Beginner
    Primary OS:
    Windows Vista 32-bit
    I've been working with lightroom for quite a long time now .. but all of a sudden I can't seem to find it in my program files .. I don't think the trial version has expired I'm just in the middle of it.. What can be going wrong? I've searched for it in all the other related folders.. and looked into the installed programs aswell but I can't seem to find it anywhere. I hope I'm posting it under the appropriate forum as it deals with installation and performance.
     
  2. erro

    erro Lightroom Guru Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,455
    Location:
    Sweden
    Lightroom Experience:
    Advanced
    Primary OS:
    Windows 10
    Lightroom Version:
    6.6 / CC 2015.6
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    What if you just search for light in the startbar?
     
  3. sum1993

    sum1993 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Location:
    United Arab Emirates
    Lightroom Experience:
    Beginner
    Primary OS:
    Windows Vista 32-bit
    Can't find it there.. Not even in the recent items.
     
  4. erro

    erro Lightroom Guru Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,455
    Location:
    Sweden
    Lightroom Experience:
    Advanced
    Primary OS:
    Windows 10
    Lightroom Version:
    6.6 / CC 2015.6
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    Sorry, no idea then what might have happened..... Can you restore your computer to a previous restore point perhaps?
     
  5. Victoria Bampton

    Victoria Bampton Lightroom Queen / Owner Staff Member Administrator Moderator Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Messages:
    18,220
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.11.x El Capitan
    Lightroom Version:
    6.6 / CC 2015.6
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    You're not in a different user account, or something like that? Perhaps installed for only one user?
     
  6. sum1993

    sum1993 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Location:
    United Arab Emirates
    Lightroom Experience:
    Beginner
    Primary OS:
    Windows Vista 32-bit
    How do I do that? What about my other files, won't they be deleted if I restore my system?
     
  7. sum1993

    sum1993 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Location:
    United Arab Emirates
    Lightroom Experience:
    Beginner
    Primary OS:
    Windows Vista 32-bit
    No its the same user Victoria :)
     
  8. Victoria Bampton

    Victoria Bampton Lightroom Queen / Owner Staff Member Administrator Moderator Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Messages:
    18,220
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.11.x El Capitan
    Lightroom Version:
    6.6 / CC 2015.6
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    I think I'd just run the installer again then!
     
  9. sum1993

    sum1993 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Location:
    United Arab Emirates
    Lightroom Experience:
    Beginner
    Primary OS:
    Windows Vista 32-bit
    From the internet right? or you want me to look for the lightroom installation program which I anyways can't find or I would have had re-installed it again.. =/
     
  10. Victoria Bampton

    Victoria Bampton Lightroom Queen / Owner Staff Member Administrator Moderator Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Messages:
    18,220
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.11.x El Capitan
    Lightroom Version:
    6.6 / CC 2015.6
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
  11. sum1993

    sum1993 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Location:
    United Arab Emirates
    Lightroom Experience:
    Beginner
    Primary OS:
    Windows Vista 32-bit
    It's in a zip format and is opening in windows gallery.. =/
     
  12. Victoria Bampton

    Victoria Bampton Lightroom Queen / Owner Staff Member Administrator Moderator Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Messages:
    18,220
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.11.x El Capitan
    Lightroom Version:
    6.6 / CC 2015.6
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    A zip file is opening in Windows Gallery? You should just be able to unzip it by double clicking, and then run the setup file inside.
     
  13. sum1993

    sum1993 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Location:
    United Arab Emirates
    Lightroom Experience:
    Beginner
    Primary OS:
    Windows Vista 32-bit
    Yes, it opens in windows gallery with this sentence'' can't open picture video. File format not supported or you do not have latest updates ''.
    What do I double click ? =l
     
  14. Victoria Bampton

    Victoria Bampton Lightroom Queen / Owner Staff Member Administrator Moderator Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Messages:
    18,220
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.11.x El Capitan
    Lightroom Version:
    6.6 / CC 2015.6
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    Weird. Ok, instructions for reassociating zip files with the unzip mechanism (borrowed from here):

    1. Find a zip file.
    2. Right click the file and choose "Open With". If a sub-menu appears, please click "Choose Default Program…"
    3. Click "Browse…" button. Browse to "C:\Windows" folder.
    4. Find the file "explorer.exe" (it sometimes will show as "explorer") and click "Open".
    5. Make "Always use the selected program to open this kind of file" selected and click "OK".
     
  15. sum1993

    sum1993 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Location:
    United Arab Emirates
    Lightroom Experience:
    Beginner
    Primary OS:
    Windows Vista 32-bit
    Okay done till there .. a folder opened up that said install lightroom 4.exe and If I click that it says extract all, run and cancel..
     
  16. sum1993

    sum1993 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Location:
    United Arab Emirates
    Lightroom Experience:
    Beginner
    Primary OS:
    Windows Vista 32-bit
    EEee :D It worked I hope the next time I want to open up lightroom I'm able to find it !
    THANK-YOU Victoriaa :D
     
  17. Victoria Bampton

    Victoria Bampton Lightroom Queen / Owner Staff Member Administrator Moderator Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Messages:
    18,220
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.11.x El Capitan
    Lightroom Version:
    6.6 / CC 2015.6
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    Excellent! Hopefully it'll stay happily in the start menu from now on.
     

Share This Page