1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome to Lightroom Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to register and post your first thread under Help on the menubar above. You're also welcome to join our newsletter, download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBook and explore our other FAQ resources.
    Dismiss Notice

applying keywords in develop module?

Discussion in 'Developing your Photos' started by dtsantos, Apr 30, 2012.

  1. dtsantos

    dtsantos New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Lightroom Experience:
    Beginner
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.7.x Lion
    I saw there is an old discussion about this, back at Lightroom 3.3

    Is it still the same in 4? Can't apply keywords on Develop module?

    Can't migrate to lightroom because of double trouble with that.

    Thanks everyone
     
  2. clee01l

    clee01l Lightroom Guru Staff Member Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Messages:
    10,957
    Location:
    Bellaire, TX USA
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.11.x El Capitan
    Lightroom Version:
    6.6 / CC 2015.6
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    Dtsantos, welcome to the forum. The develop module is for only making adjustments to the image, not changes in the metadata. This is really not a problem since you can quickly switch from the Library module to the Develop module and back with a couple of shortcut keys.

    I would like this option too, since I often think of keywords while in the develop part of my workflow. However, what it thought at first was a PIA to switch back to the Library module I now consider just a mild inconvenience.

    My workflow sequence consists of:
    1. Cull unacceptable images
    2. add keywords, Titles and Captions
    3. apply image adjustments
    4. cull additional images the do not meet my standards for quality
    5. publish
    There is always room to manoever. And the opportunity to back up in my workflow sequence.
     
  3. Brad Snyder

    Brad Snyder Lightroom Guru Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    6,293
    Location:
    Port Deposit, Maryland USA
    Lightroom Experience:
    Intermediate
    Primary OS:
    Windows 7 64-bit
    *Insert my usual rant about modularity and UI Nazis here*

    (No sense in inflicting it on everybody, yet again :) )
     
  4. carson

    carson Active Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Messages:
    184
    Location:
    Tampa Bay Florida, USA
    Lightroom Experience:
    Intermediate
    Primary OS:
    Windows 7 64-bit
    I agree I have a similar issue with nt being able to rename in the develop module, I often think of a god name while working on a photo and it's a pain to go back to the library module and brake my train of thought in the process.
     
  5. erro

    erro Lightroom Guru Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,454
    Location:
    Sweden
    Lightroom Experience:
    Advanced
    Primary OS:
    Windows 10
    Lightroom Version:
    6.3 / CC 2015.3
    D = Develop module
    G = Grid mode, Library module

    One key. Yes, a real trouble......
     
  6. clee01l

    clee01l Lightroom Guru Staff Member Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Messages:
    10,957
    Location:
    Bellaire, TX USA
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.11.x El Capitan
    Lightroom Version:
    6.6 / CC 2015.6
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    A PIA? No. An annoyance, yes. It probably would not be such an annoyance, except that no one has justified the Quick Develop panel in Library while there is no Quick Metadata panel in Develop.
     
  7. Brad Snyder

    Brad Snyder Lightroom Guru Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    6,293
    Location:
    Port Deposit, Maryland USA
    Lightroom Experience:
    Intermediate
    Primary OS:
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Robert, everyone tells me exactly that. Try it 1800 times over to Library and 1800 times back during a single work session.

    (Here's where you tell me that I don't understand Lr, and my workflow is clearly defective, and besides the engineers have far more important things to work on, and yada, yada, yada)

    :) I say this all with a certain amount of humor. In my personal opinion, Lr has represented the triumph of form over function since it was first conceived. We're still paying the price for all of those home-rolled user-interface elements, inserted because the standard OS APIs and UI elements weren't pretty enough.

    Even now, in other venues, involving some highly sophisticated users, I'm reading discussions about the 'undiscoverability' of Lr user controls.
     
    Last edited: May 1, 2012
  8. johnbeardy

    johnbeardy Senior Member Staff Member Moderator Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    3,663
    Location:
    London
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Lightroom Version:
    6.4 / CC 2015.4
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    Sorry, Brad, I tend to think if you need to keep jumping back and forth..... You know where I'm going. At least, you have to hope it's trying to encourage people to work methodically rather than being an after-the-fact justification! But given there is the "form over function" nature, why should keywords be preferred in Develop rather than folders, or the rest of the Metadata panel? Maybe it's more realistic to ask for Ctrl K to work from anywhere?
     
  9. clee01l

    clee01l Lightroom Guru Staff Member Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Messages:
    10,957
    Location:
    Bellaire, TX USA
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.11.x El Capitan
    Lightroom Version:
    6.6 / CC 2015.6
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    Why should Quick Develop be included in the Library Panel if you are not going to include a Quick Metadata in Develop? It is inconsistencies like these that make LR frustrating at times.
     
  10. johnbeardy

    johnbeardy Senior Member Staff Member Moderator Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    3,663
    Location:
    London
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Lightroom Version:
    6.4 / CC 2015.4
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    Well, because QD's original purpose was for quick adjustments while you're in the pick / reject phase. I'm not sure many people use it in that way though.
     
  11. Brad Snyder

    Brad Snyder Lightroom Guru Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    6,293
    Location:
    Port Deposit, Maryland USA
    Lightroom Experience:
    Intermediate
    Primary OS:
    Windows 7 64-bit
    John, LOL, here we go again.

    Let me put in another way. Give me crop/frame in Quick Develop, and my particular problem is solved. (And not that half-a$$ed centered crop that's already there.)

    It just frustrates the crap out of me that I can drag Photoshop palettes and tool boxes all over the place, and set up my workspace however I want it, but in Lr, I get whatever it is Phil Clevenger decides is good for me, and whatever they can browbeat Lua into providing.

    It's kind of a moot point for me anymore, I don't shoot a tenth of what I used to, since I un-retired myself and went back to one of my earlier careers. I'll leave the torch burning in Lee Jay's hands, he's the only one left that halfway agrees with me.
     
  12. johnbeardy

    johnbeardy Senior Member Staff Member Moderator Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    3,663
    Location:
    London
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Lightroom Version:
    6.4 / CC 2015.4
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    I did agree with him about something. Not sure what though - one of us must have been drinking.
     
  13. Brad Snyder

    Brad Snyder Lightroom Guru Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    6,293
    Location:
    Port Deposit, Maryland USA
    Lightroom Experience:
    Intermediate
    Primary OS:
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Yeah, there's a group I'd like to spend some time with over a Guinness or two, and ask "Ok, what's the real story behind this?"

    Jerry Pournelle used to have a software category he called 'infuriatingly excellent'. That's where I am half the time with Lr. So much brilliant work handcuffed by "we haven't really gotten to that yet"
     

Share This Page