1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome to Lightroom Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to register and post your first thread under Help on the menubar above. You're also welcome to join our newsletter, download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBook and explore our other FAQ resources.
    Dismiss Notice

Adjustment Brush

Discussion in 'Developing your Photos' started by frank, Jun 23, 2012.

  1. frank

    frank New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Lightroom Experience:
    Beginner
    Primary OS:
    Windows Vista 64-bit
    I just loaded Lightroom 4 and am having problems with the adjustment brush. When I am in the develop module with a photograph selected, I click on the adjustment brush. I then adjust the slider for the local affect I want to brush on. But when I do this, LR4 applies it to the entire photograph. Help
     
  2. clee01l

    clee01l Lightroom Guru Staff Member Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Messages:
    11,267
    Location:
    Bellaire, TX USA
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.11.x El Capitan
    Lightroom Version:
    6.6 / CC 2015.6
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    Frank, Welcome to the forum. The Adjustment brush has it own panel of adjustment sliders. You need to mak sure that you are using these sliders and not the sliders in the Basic Panel.
    [​IMG]
     
  3. frank

    frank New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Lightroom Experience:
    Beginner
    Primary OS:
    Windows Vista 64-bit
    I cannot thank you enough. I have Martin Evening's book on LR4 as well as Scott Kelby's and I could not find the answer.
     
  4. clee01l

    clee01l Lightroom Guru Staff Member Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Messages:
    11,267
    Location:
    Bellaire, TX USA
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.11.x El Capitan
    Lightroom Version:
    6.6 / CC 2015.6
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    We are far and away cheaper than any book. And alway glad to help!
     
  5. enovember

    enovember New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Lightroom Experience:
    Intermediate
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.7.x Lion
    I have been using LR3 for several years and just upgraded to LR4 today.
    My problem started while using LR3. I had successfully been using the adjustment brushes. For some reason, now, when I try to use the adjustment brush, I am seeing the slightest if any change in brightness.
    It makes no difference if I have auto-mask on or off. What am I missing here?
     
  6. Jim Wilde

    Jim Wilde Lightroom Guru Staff Member Moderator Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    9,365
    Location:
    West Sussex, UK
    Lightroom Experience:
    Advanced
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.11.x El Capitan
    Lightroom Version:
    6.6 / CC 2015.6
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    Hi, welcome to the forum.

    It sounds as though you may have the Flow and/or Density sliders set too low?
     
  7. enovember

    enovember New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Lightroom Experience:
    Intermediate
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.7.x Lion
    This is Ellen. I am using the Adjustment tool sliders. I'm very baffled as to why I am not getting any response from the brush. I chose Lighten which is what I normally used it for and still no action. Any help is greatly appreciated.
     
  8. enovember

    enovember New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Lightroom Experience:
    Intermediate
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.7.x Lion
    You are genius

    Thank you that did it!!


     

Share This Page