Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: Lightroom 3 wont let me import .cr2 RAW files?

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    8

    Lightroom 3 wont let me import .cr2 RAW files?

    I'm a fairly new LR3 user and just came back from a trip where I shot around 3'' RAW photos on my Canon Rebel XS (1'''D). When I try to import them into LR, I get a message saying LR doesn't support the files? I don't need any upgrades.
    I attached an image of what the error looks like.

    The photos are .cr2 and it doesn't work when I select the Copy As DNG setting either. I'm on a Mac. What do I do?

    Please help!
    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Rochester, NY
    Posts
    1,293
    Main OS
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Memory
    8gb
    CPU Cores
    6
    LR Version
    3.4
    Camera
    Nikon
    File Format
    Raw

    Re: Lightroom 3 wont let me import .cr2 RAW files?

    Your camera should be supported. So, my first thought is to check and make sure you have really installed Lightroom 3 and not some earlier version.
    Paige
    Lightroom 3.4, Photoshop Elements 5.0.2
    Nikon D7000, 18-200 VR, 70-300 G, 50 f/1.4 Sigma 17-70 f/2.8-4.0 OS HSM
    Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit, 8gb RAM, Athlon Phenom II X6 1055T 6-core
    My Flickr Galleries

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    8

    Re: Lightroom 3 wont let me import .cr2 RAW files?

    It definitely is lightroom 3..

  4. #4
    Lightroom Guru
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Bellaire, TX USA
    Posts
    7,995
    Experience
    Power User
    Main OS
    Mac 10.10.x Yosemite
    Other OS
    Windows 8.1 64-bit
    Memory
    16gb
    CPU Cores
    4
    LR Version
    5.7
    Camera
    Nikon D800E/D810
    File Format
    Raw

    Re: Lightroom 3 wont let me import .cr2 RAW files?

    Can you use a card reader instead of the camera connected? It could also be a bad USB cable Try using a different one. Next, can you copy the image files to a place on your local HD and try importing from there? There is probably something squirrelly about the camera/cable/computer connection

  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    8

    Re: Lightroom 3 wont let me import .cr2 RAW files?

    I tried converting it with Adobe Bridge and it wouldn't convert to .DNG
    I imported the photos into iPhoto, and tried to export to LR but that didn't work because all the raw photos were black.

    Anyone have any idea what is going on here?

  6. #6
    Lightroom Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Port Deposit, Maryland USA
    Posts
    6,293
    Experience
    Intermediate
    Main OS
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Memory
    4gb - 8gb
    CPU Cores
    8
    LR Version
    4.2
    Camera
    Canon
    File Format
    Raw

    Re: Lightroom 3 wont let me import .cr2 RAW files?

    Any chance you can upload a raw file copy somewhere for us to play with?
    ......brad s Win7x64 (HPE) / i7-920 / 6GB / 2.67 GHz / tons o'drives / Canon/Sigma gear

  7. #7
    Lightroom Guru
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Bellaire, TX USA
    Posts
    7,995
    Experience
    Power User
    Main OS
    Mac 10.10.x Yosemite
    Other OS
    Windows 8.1 64-bit
    Memory
    16gb
    CPU Cores
    4
    LR Version
    5.7
    Camera
    Nikon D800E/D810
    File Format
    Raw

    Re: Lightroom 3 wont let me import .cr2 RAW files?

    [quote author=guitarguy4'34 link=topic=1'698.msg72''5#msg72''5 date=1281645'19]
    I tried converting it with Adobe Bridge and it wouldn't convert to .DNG
    I imported the photos into iPhoto, and tried to export to LR but that didn't work because all the raw photos were black.

    Anyone have any idea what is going on here?
    [/quote]I think iPhoto is not the application to use for RAW images. I will restate my earlier question: Can you copy the CR2 file from the card to a physical place on your HD and then import thast into LR? Do not involve iPhoto in the copy process.

    Also back to an earlier question: Can you try a different cable to connect the camera? Do you have a card reader to use and bypass the camera?

  8. #8
    New Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    8

    Re: Lightroom 3 wont let me import .cr2 RAW files?

    @Brad. I tried to upload the image to my desktop, using the Apple Image Capture, and it came out as a black image, though in the program the thumbnail showed the full photo. It's a .cr2 file, I screencapped a picture of the photo in Image Capture as a thumbnail and in my finder.

    @Clee I tried a card reader, with the same problem

  9. #9
    Lightroom Guru
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Bellaire, TX USA
    Posts
    7,995
    Experience
    Power User
    Main OS
    Mac 10.10.x Yosemite
    Other OS
    Windows 8.1 64-bit
    Memory
    16gb
    CPU Cores
    4
    LR Version
    5.7
    Camera
    Nikon D800E/D810
    File Format
    Raw

    Re: Lightroom 3 wont let me import .cr2 RAW files?

    One other thought that I hesitate to mention. You could have a corrupt card.. Can you try a few photos on another card to eliminate the card from the list of suspects? It could be:
    the camera,
    the card,
    the cable.
    One by one, replace the card, the cable and finally the camera (with the card reader). Should you detemine that the card is bad, it might be possible to use some recovery tools to recover images from the card. So do not lose hope yet.

  10. #10
    New Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    8

    Re: Lightroom 3 wont let me import .cr2 RAW files?

    Really appreciate the help and hate to deny another of your suggestions, but the card/camera are both fine. I have uploaded many photos before this problem and all the photos I have on it now, that are jpg, upload fine.


  11. #11
    Lightroom Guru
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Bellaire, TX USA
    Posts
    7,995
    Experience
    Power User
    Main OS
    Mac 10.10.x Yosemite
    Other OS
    Windows 8.1 64-bit
    Memory
    16gb
    CPU Cores
    4
    LR Version
    5.7
    Camera
    Nikon D800E/D810
    File Format
    Raw

    Re: Lightroom 3 wont let me import .cr2 RAW files?

    [quote author=guitarguy4'34 link=topic=1'698.msg72'27#msg72'27 date=1281671189]
    Really appreciate the help and hate to deny another of your suggestions, but the card/camera are both fine. I have uploaded many photos before this problem and all the photos I have on it now, that are jpg, upload fine.


    [/quote]It is either the Camera, Card, Cable or computer. I think we can eliminate the software if you have installed it properly and have successfully uploaded images in the past.. Therefore you are overlooking something. Go back and review each of these areas for failure again and try to remain open often we tend to discount the obvious. (as I am often reminded over and over).

  12. #12
    New Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    8

    Re: Lightroom 3 wont let me import .cr2 RAW files?

    it might be important to note that this is the first time I am actually importing RAWs directly to LR. I actually used aperture in the past and had to export my entire library to LR.

  13. #13
    New Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    8

    Re: Lightroom 3 wont let me import .cr2 RAW files?

    Sorry for the double post put I tested some things out and I've figured out why I have this problem.
    On my camera there are two raw settings RAW+L and just normal RAW. For some reason Lightroom wont accept the RAW+L files, even when I take new ones.

    That said, anyone have a clue why?

  14. #14
    Lightroom Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA, USA
    Posts
    4,055
    Experience
    Power User
    Main OS
    Mac 10.8.x Mountain Lion
    LR Version
    5.5
    Camera
    Nikon
    File Format
    Raw

    Re: Lightroom 3 wont let me import .cr2 RAW files?

    This is reminiscent of a problem we've seen before, where cameras plugged straight into the computer are viewed through the camera driver, which masks the file type somehow. In the past, these problems are "fixed" by using a card reader rather than plugging the camera in directly. But the OP says he's done that and it made no difference.

    I think getting a copy of one of the files (read from the card reader, not straight from the camera) would be very helpful.

  15. #15
    New Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    8

    Re: Lightroom 3 wont let me import .cr2 RAW files?

    @Mark thanks for the advice. For some reason my card reader (Lexar multi card reader) isn't even being recognized by my computer. When I turn it on and plug it in, it doesn't pop up anywhere, even in LR.

  16. #16
    Lightroom Guru
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Bellaire, TX USA
    Posts
    7,995
    Experience
    Power User
    Main OS
    Mac 10.10.x Yosemite
    Other OS
    Windows 8.1 64-bit
    Memory
    16gb
    CPU Cores
    4
    LR Version
    5.7
    Camera
    Nikon D800E/D810
    File Format
    Raw

    Re: Lightroom 3 wont let me import .cr2 RAW files?

    [quote author=guitarguy4'34 link=topic=1'698.msg72329#msg72329 date=1282'69397]
    @Mark thanks for the advice. For some reason my card reader (Lexar multi card reader) isn't even being recognized by my computer. When I turn it on and plug it in, it doesn't pop up anywhere, even in LR.
    [/quote]Usually a USB card reader does not show up until a card is inserted. If that is not the case, then can you try a different cable? Next step after that would be for some knowledgeable Mac person to get involved.

  17. #17
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Porsgrunn, Norway
    Posts
    1
    Experience
    Beginner
    Main OS
    Mac 10.6.x Snow Leopard
    LR Version
    3.4
    Camera
    Canon
    File Format
    Raw
    I got exactly the same problem on my computer. I just converted from Windows to Mac, and have just installed Lightroom 3.4 on my Mac. I got all my pictures on a separate hard drive, and this was formatted and the pictures on it imported via Windows. Importing the pictures from this drive into Lr was no problem.
    I tried several solutions including all you mention above. Finally I tried importing the new pictures from the camera via Lr into the harddrive on the Mac. This solved the problem for me. It seems Mac can read but not write to a windows disc.
    I donīt know if this can be your problem as well??

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •