Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Synchronize Folder greyed out

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    10

    Synchronize Folder greyed out

    I have a series of folders that are shown in red in the folder list, indicating that LR can't view them. The effect is that the folder can't be synchronized and I can't move images into the folder. Other folders in the same list are OK.

    I've tried "locating a missing folder" and it re-linked it OK and the folder name turned white; however, when I clicked on that folder again it turned red again. The half dozen folders that are already white, stay white when clicked on - ie they don't get "lost".

    Also tried creating a new catalogue from scratch: set up a folder with 2 sub folders, put pictures in each, imported everything OK. The top level folder stayed OK, and allowed images to be moved into it, but the 2 subs turned red.
    Also when synchronizing the top level folder, it did not recognise (and import) a new file that I had copied into it using another application.

    I'm using Windows Vista Ultimate and version 1.3.1

    any help on this much appreciated!
    Thanks
    David
    David Galloway[/COLOR] Dell Dimension 9200; Windows Vista Ultimate; 1TB Raid array; external LaCie drives; NEC 2690; latest version LR; CS3
    www.davidgallowayphotography.com

  2. #2
    Lightroom Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Worcester, MA
    Posts
    2,187
    Memory
    3gb - 4gb
    CPU Cores
    2
    Video Card
    nVidia
    LR Version
    5.3
    Camera
    Pentax
    File Format
    Raw
    Printer
    Offsite Photo Lab

    Synchronize Folder greyed out

    You may have a bad cable connection to this drive. Is it Firewire or USB? Check the connections, it may be loosing contact and thus LR thinks it is off-line.

    Also please Fill in your signature with complete System, OS, Gear etc so as we can better answer your questions on down the line. (See User CP in Navbar above).


    Don
    Don Ricklin, MacBook Pro 15.4" 2.4Ghz Duo 2 Core, 4Gb RAM, 250Gb SATA HD, 10.6.4 , LR V5.3, Assorted Firewire & USB2 SATA Back-up Drives.
    Gear: Pentax K-7, Sigma 17-70 2.8-4.5; 75-300 and 175-500, Zigview R
    'I was older then, I'm younger than that now' .... 'Oh, you mean Nancy'!

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    10

    Synchronize Folder greyed out

    Thanks Don
    The folders are on the internal HD - which is working 1''% as far as I know.
    None of the folders are critical to me at this stage - so would you recommend re-installing LR?

    David
    David Galloway[/COLOR] Dell Dimension 9200; Windows Vista Ultimate; 1TB Raid array; external LaCie drives; NEC 2690; latest version LR; CS3
    www.davidgallowayphotography.com

  4. #4
    Lightroom Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Worcester, MA
    Posts
    2,187
    Memory
    3gb - 4gb
    CPU Cores
    2
    Video Card
    nVidia
    LR Version
    5.3
    Camera
    Pentax
    File Format
    Raw
    Printer
    Offsite Photo Lab

    Synchronize Folder greyed out

    Might be worth a try.

    Don
    Don Ricklin, MacBook Pro 15.4" 2.4Ghz Duo 2 Core, 4Gb RAM, 250Gb SATA HD, 10.6.4 , LR V5.3, Assorted Firewire & USB2 SATA Back-up Drives.
    Gear: Pentax K-7, Sigma 17-70 2.8-4.5; 75-300 and 175-500, Zigview R
    'I was older then, I'm younger than that now' .... 'Oh, you mean Nancy'!

  5. #5
    Lightroom Queen / Owner
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Southampton, UK
    Posts
    15,664
    Experience
    Power User
    Primary OS
    Mac 10.9.x Mavericks
    Memory
    16gb
    CPU Cores
    4
    Video Card
    nVidia
    LR Version
    5.5
    Camera
    Canon
    File Format
    Raw
    Printer
    None

    Synchronize Folder greyed out

    I wondered about catalog corruption, but David said he's tried a fresh catalog and the same thing happened with these folders so that seems unlikely.

    David, I know you said the same thing happened when you imported some of THOSE files - what happens if you import files from another drive? Same thing or do those work? I'm wondering about the folders themselves - Don, wasn't there something about compressed folders not working properly a while back?
    Victoria


    Lots of questions? Adobe Lightroom 5 - The Missing FAQ Book available now - PDF, ePub, Kindle & Paperback Discount code: LRF2011

    Website: Lightroom Queen Blog - Follow me on Twitter as @LightroomQueen - Find me on Facebook

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    10

    Synchronize Folder greyed out

    Victoria, you may have cracked the problem - LR seems to be OK when importing from different drives. The drive causing the issues is the internal Raid drive, which as far as I know is in A1 shape. I guess I could run a disc validation on the drives and see if that does it.

    Thanks to you and Don for the help.
    David
    David Galloway[/COLOR] Dell Dimension 9200; Windows Vista Ultimate; 1TB Raid array; external LaCie drives; NEC 2690; latest version LR; CS3
    www.davidgallowayphotography.com

  7. #7
    Lightroom Queen / Owner
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Southampton, UK
    Posts
    15,664
    Experience
    Power User
    Primary OS
    Mac 10.9.x Mavericks
    Memory
    16gb
    CPU Cores
    4
    Video Card
    nVidia
    LR Version
    5.5
    Camera
    Canon
    File Format
    Raw
    Printer
    None

    Synchronize Folder greyed out

    Well I'm very pleased that's narrowed it done David! Now just got to figure out how to fix it!
    Victoria


    Lots of questions? Adobe Lightroom 5 - The Missing FAQ Book available now - PDF, ePub, Kindle & Paperback Discount code: LRF2011

    Website: Lightroom Queen Blog - Follow me on Twitter as @LightroomQueen - Find me on Facebook

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •