Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Lightroom can't open catalog on network drive?

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Indianapolis
    Posts
    1

    Lightroom can't open catalog on network drive?

    I've got Lightroom 2.4 on 2 computers...my laptop running Vista and my desktop running xp. I'm lazy and want to be able to edit catalogs that reside on my desktop using my laptop. I've got the drive on my desktop shared, but lightroom on my laptop still says it can't open it. Any ideas?

    The specific error message I get is:
    Lightroom cannot launch with this catalog. It is either on a network volume or on a volume on which Lightroom cannnot save changes.

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Posts
    47
    Primary OS
    XP
    Memory
    1gb - 2gb
    CPU Cores
    2
    Video Card
    Intel onboard?
    LR Version
    3.3
    Camera
    Canon
    File Format
    Raw
    Printer
    Canon

    Re: Lightroom can't open catalog on network drive?

    IMHO, that's not really an error message.
    It's just stating the obvious for you. LR won't open catalogs on network drives, and that's what your shared drive/folder is.
    Conor
    • LR3.3 on Win XP Pro SP3 on HP/Compaq Desktop, Dual Core 3.4GHz, 2GB RAM, 1TB+
    • Canon 350D, EF-S 17-85mm IS, EF-S 55-250mm IS, EF-S 10-22mm, EF 50mm II
    • My free photo screensaver/desktop changer for Gallery 2.x installations: http://gloss.ildica.com/

  3. #3
    Lightroom Guru
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Bellaire, TX USA
    Posts
    7,673
    Experience
    Power User
    Primary OS
    Mac 10.10.x Yosemite
    Memory
    16gb
    CPU Cores
    4
    Video Card
    AMD Radeon HD 6770M
    LR Version
    5.6
    Camera
    Nikon D800E/D810
    File Format
    Raw
    Printer
    Canon

    Re: Lightroom can't open catalog on network drive?

    [quote author=storaloppan link=topic=7692.msg52593#msg52593 date=1251768399]
    I've got Lightroom 2.4 on 2 computers...my laptop running Vista and my desktop running xp. I'm lazy and want to be able to edit catalogs that reside on my desktop using my laptop. I've got the drive on my desktop shared, but lightroom on my laptop still says it can't open it. Any ideas?

    The specific error message I get is:
    Lightroom cannot launch with this catalog. It is either on a network volume or on a volume on which Lightroom cannnot save changes.
    [/quote]As I have just recently discovered, this is a built-in limitation to LR. The only work around that I can figure our is to copy the .lrcat file to a locally attached drive (Even a USB) and update your catalog and when finished, copy this .lrcat back. Another option would be to keep the one .lrcat on a thumbdrive and share the thumb drive between computers.

  4. #4
    Lightroom Guru
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    2,487
    Experience
    Advanced
    Primary OS
    Mac 10.10.x Yosemite
    Memory
    16GB
    CPU Cores
    8
    Video Card
    AMD
    LR Version
    5.6
    Camera
    Fuji
    File Format
    Raw
    Printer
    Offsite Photo Lab

    Re: Lightroom can't open catalog on network drive?

    why not use remote desktop or VNC to control your PC from your laptop.
    Nik Player- Blog

  5. #5
    Lightroom Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    St-Mathias-sur-Richelieu, Québec, CANADA
    Posts
    2,979
    Primary OS
    Mac 10.9.x Mavericks
    Memory
    More than 8gb
    CPU Cores
    4
    Video Card
    nVidia
    LR Version
    5.5
    Camera
    Nikon
    File Format
    Raw
    Printer
    Epson

    Re: Lightroom can't open catalog on network drive?

    Is your share on the laptop appearing like [pre]\\Desktop'sName\Sharename ?[/pre]If so, try assign an letter as R: to it. No guarantee it will work tough as I did not tested.

    Otherwise on the laptop, you can give the command
    [pre]SUBST \\Desktop'sName\Sharename R:[/pre]but you are then playing with fire! SEE HERE.

    Your best and safest option: Catalog and images on external drive that you connect to the computer you want to work with. Make it appear with the same drive letter/name on both computers.
    Denis Pagé

    Gravity won't let you down...

  6. #6
    Lightroom Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    St-Mathias-sur-Richelieu, Québec, CANADA
    Posts
    2,979
    Primary OS
    Mac 10.9.x Mavericks
    Memory
    More than 8gb
    CPU Cores
    4
    Video Card
    nVidia
    LR Version
    5.5
    Camera
    Nikon
    File Format
    Raw
    Printer
    Epson

    Re: Lightroom can't open catalog on network drive?

    [quote author=sizzlingbadger link=topic=7692.msg52597#msg52597 date=1251772498]
    why not use remote desktop or VNC to control your PC from your laptop.
    [/quote]
    Because no remote control program will be able to make use of a color managed workflow. I.E.: You can't remotely profile a monitor. That is ok for keywording and such tough and you may wish to reduce the number of colors displayed to improve data transfer speed.
    Denis Pagé

    Gravity won't let you down...

  7. #7
    Lightroom Guru
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    2,487
    Experience
    Advanced
    Primary OS
    Mac 10.10.x Yosemite
    Memory
    16GB
    CPU Cores
    8
    Video Card
    AMD
    LR Version
    5.6
    Camera
    Fuji
    File Format
    Raw
    Printer
    Offsite Photo Lab

    Re: Lightroom can't open catalog on network drive?

    You calibrate your local monitor.
    Nik Player- Blog

  8. #8
    Lightroom Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    St-Mathias-sur-Richelieu, Québec, CANADA
    Posts
    2,979
    Primary OS
    Mac 10.9.x Mavericks
    Memory
    More than 8gb
    CPU Cores
    4
    Video Card
    nVidia
    LR Version
    5.5
    Camera
    Nikon
    File Format
    Raw
    Printer
    Epson

    Re: Lightroom can't open catalog on network drive?

    [quote author=sizzlingbadger link=topic=7692.msg52661#msg52661 date=1251839195]
    You calibrate your local monitor.
    [/quote]
    It won't work because the system at the other end will translate for its monitor and not the remote one.
    Denis Pagé

    Gravity won't let you down...

  9. #9
    Lightroom Guru
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    2,487
    Experience
    Advanced
    Primary OS
    Mac 10.10.x Yosemite
    Memory
    16GB
    CPU Cores
    8
    Video Card
    AMD
    LR Version
    5.6
    Camera
    Fuji
    File Format
    Raw
    Printer
    Offsite Photo Lab

    Re: Lightroom can't open catalog on network drive?

    Calibrate the local monitor with the calibration software running on the LR host. It works I have done it. (you just switch profiles depending on which machine you are using)
    Nik Player- Blog

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •