Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Lightroom 5 and Windows Vista

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    46047 Oberhausen, Germany
    Posts
    10
    Experience
    Advanced
    Primary OS
    Windows Vista 32-bit
    Memory
    4gb
    CPU Cores
    2
    Video Card
    nVidia
    LR Version
    4.0
    Camera
    Sony
    File Format
    Raw+Jpeg

    Lightroom 5 and Windows Vista

    Hi,
    my Notebook is running windows vista. Is there a possibility to run Lightroom 5? The original RC-Version of Lightroom 5 was running on that computer.
    Hannes Löhr

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Amherstview, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    152
    Experience
    Intermediate
    Primary OS
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Memory
    8gb
    CPU Cores
    4
    Video Card
    GeForce 8600 GT 512MB
    LR Version
    5.5
    Camera
    Canon
    File Format
    Raw
    Printer
    Epson
    According to Adobe's Lightroom 5 Tech Spec, LR5 requires Windows 7 or 8.

    Maybe someone else here can say if they have been successful running the latest released version on Vista.
    - Gene

    Win7Pro 64bit / Lightroom 5.5 /Canon EOS-5D; EF-24-105mm f/4.0L IS; EF-50mm f/1.4; EF-100mm f/2.8; EF-70-200mm f/4.0L
    Photo Sites: http://ghealy.smugmug.com and http://www.redbubble.com/people/photosbyhealy

  3. #3
    Lightroom Guru
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Bellaire, TX USA
    Posts
    7,403
    Experience
    Power User
    Primary OS
    Mac 10.9.x Mavericks
    Memory
    16gb
    CPU Cores
    4
    Video Card
    AMD Radeon HD 6770M
    LR Version
    5.5
    Camera
    Nikon D800
    File Format
    Raw
    Printer
    Canon
    If you can install LR 5.2RC on Vista, you can run LR 5.2 also. Just keep in mind that performance may not be optimal and that you'll get no support from Adobe since it does not meet the minimum specs set by Adobe.

  4. #4
    Lightroom Guru
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Twin Cities, MN
    Posts
    1,500
    Experience
    Power User
    Primary OS
    7 64-bit
    Memory
    12GB
    CPU Cores
    More than 8
    Video Card
    nVidia
    LR Version
    5.4
    Camera
    Canon
    File Format
    Raw
    Printer
    Canon
    5.0 Public beta should have been the last version that would install and run on any version of Vista. There was somebody at the Adobe User to User forum who claimed to have 5.0 final installed and running through some slight of hand but, as Cletus says, you'll get no support from Adobe. No word on whether they got 5.2 RC or final to run.
    ~Rikk Flohr

    LR Keyword Lists
    here, Imaging Blog here & Holy Crop! here
    Desktop: Win 7 64Bit, 12-Core, 12 GB, 9.5 TB of HD Laptop: MacBook Pro Retina 15", 10.8.4, 2.6 Quad Duo, 16 GB, PS CC

  5. #5
    Lightroom Guru
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Bellaire, TX USA
    Posts
    7,403
    Experience
    Power User
    Primary OS
    Mac 10.9.x Mavericks
    Memory
    16gb
    CPU Cores
    4
    Video Card
    AMD Radeon HD 6770M
    LR Version
    5.5
    Camera
    Nikon D800
    File Format
    Raw
    Printer
    Canon
    Hannes,
    If you are concerned about paying the upgrade fee, you can D/L and install the released version of LR5.2 and run this as a 30 day trial. Then if you are happy with the results, you can make the buy decision.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    46047 Oberhausen, Germany
    Posts
    10
    Experience
    Advanced
    Primary OS
    Windows Vista 32-bit
    Memory
    4gb
    CPU Cores
    2
    Video Card
    nVidia
    LR Version
    4.0
    Camera
    Sony
    File Format
    Raw+Jpeg
    Thanks to all.
    My main Computer is running Win 8 with LR5.2.
    I think to restrict LR to Win 7 and 8 is somehow artificial, because the RC-Version runs on Vista. If thats true there could be a patch to remove this restriction. I installed LR on my laptop because i use it for demonstrations in my Photo Club. It is not possible to edit photos because of screen size and quality. A software upgrade of this machine makes no sense.
    Greetings from Germany
    Hannes Löhr

  7. #7
    Lightroom Guru
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Bellaire, TX USA
    Posts
    7,403
    Experience
    Power User
    Primary OS
    Mac 10.9.x Mavericks
    Memory
    16gb
    CPU Cores
    4
    Video Card
    AMD Radeon HD 6770M
    LR Version
    5.5
    Camera
    Nikon D800
    File Format
    Raw
    Printer
    Canon
    Quote Originally Posted by hanoman View Post
    Thanks to all.
    My main Computer is running Win 8 with LR5.2.
    I think to restrict LR to Win 7 and 8 is somehow artificial, because the RC-Version runs on Vista. If thats true there could be a patch to remove this restriction.
    I don't think any one is saying there is a restriction. The restriction may be performance. You have all of the tools necessary to answer your own question. You have the computer running Vista. You can freely download the 5.2 trial. Please try this yourself (no one else here seems to be running Vista) and please report the results.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •