Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: Exporting jpeg images from LR5

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    8
    Experience
    Beginner
    Main OS
    Windows Vista 64-bit
    LR Version
    5.0

    Question Exporting jpeg images from LR5

    Hi,

    I am trying to export my photographs from LR5 to my external hard drive, but an error message keeps appearing saying, 'folder not found'. Can anyone help?

    I am using Windows 7 on my laptop with an external hard drive plugged in. The images were able to be imported easily from my desktop, but even when I choose to export back to my desktop, this error message keeps coming up!

    I have had no issues with exporting to my external hard drive with previous LR versions, or with my earlier trial on the LR5 I am using now.

    If you can help I would appreciate it.

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    West Sussex, UK
    Posts
    6,724
    Experience
    Advanced
    Main OS
    Mac 10.9.x Mavericks
    Other OS
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Memory
    16gb
    CPU Cores
    4
    LR Version
    5.7
    Camera
    Canon
    File Format
    Raw
    Hi, welcome to the forum.

    It would help if you could post a screenshot of your export settings. If you need help taking and posting screenshots, start with this link.
    Jim

    Laptop: Late 2013 MacBook Pro, 16gb Ram, 512gb SSD, 2 x External HDD
    Desktop: i7-930, 12gb RAM, 2 x SDD, 3 x Internal HDD, Win7 Pro 64bit
    Cameras: 5D MkIII, 7D, Panasonic DMC-FZ1000

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    8
    Experience
    Beginner
    Main OS
    Windows Vista 64-bit
    LR Version
    5.0
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture.PNG 
Views:	15 
Size:	81.1 KB 
ID:	3876
    Here is the first screen shot, do you need more details?
    Thank you.

  4. #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    8
    Experience
    Beginner
    Main OS
    Windows Vista 64-bit
    LR Version
    5.0
    Here is the last part of my settings for exporting.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture1.PNG 
Views:	11 
Size:	71.6 KB 
ID:	3877

  5. #5
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    West Sussex, UK
    Posts
    6,724
    Experience
    Advanced
    Main OS
    Mac 10.9.x Mavericks
    Other OS
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Memory
    16gb
    CPU Cores
    4
    LR Version
    5.7
    Camera
    Canon
    File Format
    Raw
    Thanks, that's fine for now.

    So you are exporting to a sub-folder called Louise of a folder called Photos which is on your Desktop. Was that your intention, and if so do both the Photos folder AND the Louise sub-folder already exist on your Desktop?
    Jim

    Laptop: Late 2013 MacBook Pro, 16gb Ram, 512gb SSD, 2 x External HDD
    Desktop: i7-930, 12gb RAM, 2 x SDD, 3 x Internal HDD, Win7 Pro 64bit
    Cameras: 5D MkIII, 7D, Panasonic DMC-FZ1000

  6. #6
    New Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    8
    Experience
    Beginner
    Main OS
    Windows Vista 64-bit
    LR Version
    5.0
    Hi Jim,
    I am now seeing this message!?!?

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture2.PNG 
Views:	18 
Size:	55.6 KB 
ID:	3878

  7. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    8
    Experience
    Beginner
    Main OS
    Windows Vista 64-bit
    LR Version
    5.0
    Hi Jim,

    I was trying to export to my external hard drive but thought it may work to my desktop so then I can copy them over to my hard drive.

    Both folders do exist on my desktop already.

  8. #8
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    West Sussex, UK
    Posts
    6,724
    Experience
    Advanced
    Main OS
    Mac 10.9.x Mavericks
    Other OS
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Memory
    16gb
    CPU Cores
    4
    LR Version
    5.7
    Camera
    Canon
    File Format
    Raw
    OK, I think you'll find that you are trying to export "missing files". You need to go back into the Library and check to see if any of those files that you are trying to export have the small exclamation mark which indicates they are missing.
    Jim

    Laptop: Late 2013 MacBook Pro, 16gb Ram, 512gb SSD, 2 x External HDD
    Desktop: i7-930, 12gb RAM, 2 x SDD, 3 x Internal HDD, Win7 Pro 64bit
    Cameras: 5D MkIII, 7D, Panasonic DMC-FZ1000

  9. #9
    New Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    8
    Experience
    Beginner
    Main OS
    Windows Vista 64-bit
    LR Version
    5.0
    Ok, but I was unable to export before they missing file error appeared. How do I locate the missing files? I tried to find them in the folder on my desktop and even though they are there Lightroom is not finding them.
    thanks.

  10. #10
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    West Sussex, UK
    Posts
    6,724
    Experience
    Advanced
    Main OS
    Mac 10.9.x Mavericks
    Other OS
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Memory
    16gb
    CPU Cores
    4
    LR Version
    5.7
    Camera
    Canon
    File Format
    Raw
    The original "folder not found" problem can also be a symptom of missing files/folders.

    How to locate missing files? It's easy if you can remember what you did that caused them to go missing, as generally speaking missing files only occur when you rename, move, or delete your files using the operating system and not Lightroom. Another cause could be that the files are on an external drive which is now disconnected. Does any of that ring a bell with you? If not, you'll need to adopt a methodical approach, such as making a note of one of the missing file names and doing a system-wide search for it using Explorer.....though this won't help if you've renamed or deleted the file, or if the drive is offline.

    What's the extent of the missing files issue? Have you run the Library>Find All Missing Photos command? If so, what was the score?
    Jim

    Laptop: Late 2013 MacBook Pro, 16gb Ram, 512gb SSD, 2 x External HDD
    Desktop: i7-930, 12gb RAM, 2 x SDD, 3 x Internal HDD, Win7 Pro 64bit
    Cameras: 5D MkIII, 7D, Panasonic DMC-FZ1000

  11. #11
    Lightroom Guru
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Bellaire, TX USA
    Posts
    7,801
    Experience
    Power User
    Main OS
    Mac 10.10.x Yosemite
    Memory
    16gb
    CPU Cores
    4
    LR Version
    5.7
    Camera
    Nikon D800E/D810
    File Format
    Raw
    Lightroom will tell you which files it thinks are missing. On the menu {Library}{Find all missing Files} Actually what LR is telling you is that the path ot the cataloged file no longer has that file at its end. As Jim has said . If you move a file outside of LR, then the path changes and it is now different from the location that LR recorded in the catalog.

  12. #12
    New Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    8
    Experience
    Beginner
    Main OS
    Windows Vista 64-bit
    LR Version
    5.0
    Hi Jim and Cletus,

    Thank you both for looking at my problem. I am in work at the moment but when I get chance later I will look into this at home.

    Hopefully, I will find the missing files and all will be good. I did try finding the missing files, with the hard drive plugged in, last night. I clicked on the 'missing files' hyperlink and it took me to my folders to find them.

    Will try again tonight, thanks.

  13. #13
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    West Sussex, UK
    Posts
    6,724
    Experience
    Advanced
    Main OS
    Mac 10.9.x Mavericks
    Other OS
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Memory
    16gb
    CPU Cores
    4
    LR Version
    5.7
    Camera
    Canon
    File Format
    Raw
    A lot of people misunderstand the "Find Missing File" link.....they think Lightroom is going to go searching for that missing file, but no that isn't the case. Lightroom expects the user to know where the file is, so all that link does is to invoke a file browser which gives the user the opportunity to locate the file and tell Lightroom where it now is.

    So if you yourself don't know where it is, clicking in that link will be a waste of time. If you have your drive connected, and you are still getting missing files (run that command again with the drive connected, it doesn't auto-update), you need to go looking for them yourself. Start with the Folders Panel, do any of the folders have the "?" mark or is it just individual files?
    Jim

    Laptop: Late 2013 MacBook Pro, 16gb Ram, 512gb SSD, 2 x External HDD
    Desktop: i7-930, 12gb RAM, 2 x SDD, 3 x Internal HDD, Win7 Pro 64bit
    Cameras: 5D MkIII, 7D, Panasonic DMC-FZ1000

  14. #14
    Lightroom Guru
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Bellaire, TX USA
    Posts
    7,801
    Experience
    Power User
    Main OS
    Mac 10.10.x Yosemite
    Memory
    16gb
    CPU Cores
    4
    LR Version
    5.7
    Camera
    Nikon D800E/D810
    File Format
    Raw
    Quote Originally Posted by Maisey View Post
    ...I did try finding the missing files, with the hard drive plugged in, last night. I clicked on the 'missing files' hyperlink and it took me to my folders to find them.
    in that dialog, Lightroom only opens the last available folder in the path that LR had recorded in its catalog for the missing file. If you use the {Find Missing Files} menu option, LR will present you with a collection of the files that have a disconnect with the path recorded in the catalog. You can then use Windows Explorer to search for those file names in the collection of missing files.

  15. #15
    New Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    8
    Experience
    Beginner
    Main OS
    Windows Vista 64-bit
    LR Version
    5.0
    Thank you both for your advice. I managed to locate all missing files last night and Export! I am so pleased I had not lost all my work I had already done. I cannot thank you enough.

    Your help and tips helped me not waste 3 hours of work that I had done on Monday, so THANK YOU!!!

    I really like this site too, help is always on hand and you don't have to wait too long. AMAZING!!

  16. #16
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    West Sussex, UK
    Posts
    6,724
    Experience
    Advanced
    Main OS
    Mac 10.9.x Mavericks
    Other OS
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Memory
    16gb
    CPU Cores
    4
    LR Version
    5.7
    Camera
    Canon
    File Format
    Raw
    That's good to hear, but it would great if you realised exactly why those files went "missing" so that you can avoid a recurrence.

    Sadly we get far too many of that type of issue, and not always with a happy ending.
    Jim

    Laptop: Late 2013 MacBook Pro, 16gb Ram, 512gb SSD, 2 x External HDD
    Desktop: i7-930, 12gb RAM, 2 x SDD, 3 x Internal HDD, Win7 Pro 64bit
    Cameras: 5D MkIII, 7D, Panasonic DMC-FZ1000

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •