Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Adjustment Brush Flow Setting...

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    56
    Primary OS
    Mac 10.6.x
    Memory
    8gb
    CPU Cores
    2
    Video Card
    ATI
    LR Version
    3.3
    Camera
    Nikon
    File Format
    Raw
    Printer
    Epson

    Adjustment Brush Flow Setting...

    As a rule when I use the adjustment brush I leave it set at or near the maximum flow rating. Unfortunately no matter where I set the flow Lightroom keeps changing it back to a low setting. This is very aggravating as I will be applying a particular change and all of a sudden the program changes the flow rate in the middle of the editing process. Is there any way to set the flow rate so it stays put unless I want to raise or lower it in a particular situation?

    thanks!

  2. #2
    Lightroom Queen / Owner
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Southampton, UK
    Posts
    15,420
    Experience
    Power User
    Primary OS
    Mac 10.9.x Mavericks
    Memory
    16gb
    CPU Cores
    4
    Video Card
    nVidia
    LR Version
    5.5
    Camera
    Canon
    File Format
    Raw
    Printer
    None
    I can't reproduce that so far. Are you still in 3.3? If so, updating to 3.6 may do the trick. Or perhaps try trashing the preferences file.
    Victoria


    Lots of questions? Adobe Lightroom 5 - The Missing FAQ Book available now - PDF, ePub, Kindle & Paperback Discount code: LRF2011

    Website: Lightroom Queen Blog - Follow me on Twitter as @LightroomQueen - Find me on Facebook

  3. #3
    Lightroom Guru
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Twin Cities, MN
    Posts
    1,478
    Experience
    Power User
    Primary OS
    7 64-bit
    Memory
    12GB
    CPU Cores
    More than 8
    Video Card
    nVidia
    LR Version
    5.4
    Camera
    Canon
    File Format
    Raw
    Printer
    Canon
    You aren't changing the Star Rating via a shortcut key while you are brushing are you?
    ~Rikk Flohr

    LR Keyword Lists
    here, Imaging Blog here & Holy Crop! here
    Desktop: Win 7 64Bit, 12-Core, 12 GB, 9.5 TB of HD Laptop: MacBook Pro Retina 15", 10.8.4, 2.6 Quad Duo, 16 GB, PS CC

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    56
    Primary OS
    Mac 10.6.x
    Memory
    8gb
    CPU Cores
    2
    Video Card
    ATI
    LR Version
    3.3
    Camera
    Nikon
    File Format
    Raw
    Printer
    Epson
    Victoria,

    I am using 3.6. Before I follow your suggestion of trashing the preference file, however, I want to make sure that I've communicated my problem to you accurately as the thrid sentance in my post might be misleading. My problem is that no matter where I set the flow setting to Lightroom eventually resets it to a low setting. This happens on an irregular basis. For instance I might drag the flow slider to maximum and then use the adjustment brush repeatedly with no problem. Then out of nowhere Lightroom resets the flow to low. I guess my question to you is once I've set the flow slider to a particular setting should it stay in that position until I personally change it?

    Thanks!
    Last edited by BoatPhotog; 4 Nov 2012 at 6:10 pm. Reason: spell error

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    56
    Primary OS
    Mac 10.6.x
    Memory
    8gb
    CPU Cores
    2
    Video Card
    ATI
    LR Version
    3.3
    Camera
    Nikon
    File Format
    Raw
    Printer
    Epson
    Rikk,

    No. But are you indicating that if I were this could cause a problem? If so, could you explain why?

    Thanks!

  6. #6
    Lightroom Queen / Owner
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Southampton, UK
    Posts
    15,420
    Experience
    Power User
    Primary OS
    Mac 10.9.x Mavericks
    Memory
    16gb
    CPU Cores
    4
    Video Card
    nVidia
    LR Version
    5.5
    Camera
    Canon
    File Format
    Raw
    Printer
    None
    Yes, it should stay in that position. I can't think of a situation which should change it, but perhaps someone else can. But that's why I'm wondering if the preferences file is corrupted.
    Victoria


    Lots of questions? Adobe Lightroom 5 - The Missing FAQ Book available now - PDF, ePub, Kindle & Paperback Discount code: LRF2011

    Website: Lightroom Queen Blog - Follow me on Twitter as @LightroomQueen - Find me on Facebook

  7. #7
    Lightroom Guru
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,517
    Experience
    Advanced
    Primary OS
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Memory
    8gb
    CPU Cores
    4
    Video Card
    nVidia
    LR Version
    5.5
    Camera
    Nikon, Fuji, Olympus, Canon :)
    File Format
    Raw
    Printer
    Offsite Photo Lab
    The adjustment brush has two sets of settings. They are labeled 'A' and 'B'. Each has totally independent settings from the other, and Flow is one of the settings that each of them keep. Clicking on the brush letter will switch between them. So will hitting the '/' key. Could it be that you are accidentally doing one of those things? Next time it happens, pay attention to the brush letter that is lit up and see if that is your problem.

    Hal

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Lightroom Database-4 - Adobe Photoshop Lightroom - Develop_2012-11-05_06-22-01.jpg 
Views:	167 
Size:	8.5 KB 
ID:	3087

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    56
    Primary OS
    Mac 10.6.x
    Memory
    8gb
    CPU Cores
    2
    Video Card
    ATI
    LR Version
    3.3
    Camera
    Nikon
    File Format
    Raw
    Printer
    Epson
    Hal,

    As soon as I read your suggestion it made sense so I thought to myself, "That's probably it!" Alas, as I worked on some images this evening I kept a close eye on things in hopes that I was inadvertently switching between brushes but alas such did not prove the case. I am guessing (hoping) that Victoria must be correct in saying that my preference file has somehow gotten corrupted and so I guess when I get a moment I will trash it and see if that fixes things... I'll let you all know what I discover and thanks again everyone for taking the time to make suggestions!

  9. #9
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    1
    Experience
    Advanced
    Primary OS
    Windows 7 64-bit
    LR Version
    3.6
    Quote Originally Posted by BoatPhotog View Post
    As a rule when I use the adjustment brush I leave it set at or near the maximum flow rating. Unfortunately no matter where I set the flow Lightroom keeps changing it back to a low setting.
    This frustrated me for a long time, and finally I figured out the answer today.

    It's because you're hitting a number on your keyboard (perhaps to assign a star rating or a color label). If you're in the adjustment brush mode, and you hit a number then it sets the brush flow to 10 times that number. Probably not what you meant to do!

  10. #10
    Lightroom Queen / Owner
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Southampton, UK
    Posts
    15,420
    Experience
    Power User
    Primary OS
    Mac 10.9.x Mavericks
    Memory
    16gb
    CPU Cores
    4
    Video Card
    nVidia
    LR Version
    5.5
    Camera
    Canon
    File Format
    Raw
    Printer
    None
    Well spotted Dave, and welcome to the forum!
    Victoria


    Lots of questions? Adobe Lightroom 5 - The Missing FAQ Book available now - PDF, ePub, Kindle & Paperback Discount code: LRF2011

    Website: Lightroom Queen Blog - Follow me on Twitter as @LightroomQueen - Find me on Facebook

  11. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    56
    Primary OS
    Mac 10.6.x
    Memory
    8gb
    CPU Cores
    2
    Video Card
    ATI
    LR Version
    3.3
    Camera
    Nikon
    File Format
    Raw
    Printer
    Epson
    Dave,

    An interesting note...thanks! At the same time I should report that once I had followed Victoria's suggestion to delete the the preference file the problem vanished so in my case at least I don't think the number business was the issue. That said, however, I believe that your comment brings to light one of LR's major faults...to whit as the number of key combination shortcuts proliferates so too do the odds of causing a quite unseen change to occur by an accidential brush of key... I sometimes have the feeling that the only thing between me and disaster while using LR is dumb luck...

  12. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Victoria, BC
    Posts
    88
    Experience
    Intermediate
    Primary OS
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Memory
    16 gb
    CPU Cores
    4
    LR Version
    4.2
    Camera
    Canon
    File Format
    Raw
    Printer
    None
    Quote Originally Posted by BoatPhotog View Post
    Dave,

    ...to whit as the number of key combination shortcuts proliferates so too do the odds of causing a quite unseen change to occur by an accidental brush of key...
    Which illustrates the diminishing returns of adding more and more complexity, or as someone said (me), "more technology is not the solution for problems caused by technology".
    Glenn


    Quadcore Intel 16 MB
    500 GB HDD + 500 GB Internal HDD + 2 TB Internal HDD

  13. #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    56
    Primary OS
    Mac 10.6.x
    Memory
    8gb
    CPU Cores
    2
    Video Card
    ATI
    LR Version
    3.3
    Camera
    Nikon
    File Format
    Raw
    Printer
    Epson
    Dave, A long belated Thank You! It turned out that you were correct about the problem being caused by my trying to assign a star rating to the image while the adjustment brush was active. Sometimes I think that LR just has too many shortcut keys for its own good! Or perhaps I should say, too many shortcut keys for my own good?

  14. #14
    Lightroom Guru
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    1,212
    Experience
    Advanced
    Primary OS
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Memory
    24GB
    CPU Cores
    8
    Video Card
    nVidia
    LR Version
    5.4
    Camera
    Canon
    File Format
    Raw
    Printer
    Epson
    Excellent sleuthing all round.
    Congratulations all!

    Tony Jay

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •