Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: "Bridge's parent application is not active. Bridge requires that a qualifying product

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    East Central Fl
    Posts
    7
    Experience
    Intermediate
    Main OS
    Windows 7 64-bit
    LR Version
    4.1
    Camera
    Nikon
    File Format
    Raw+Jpeg

    Unhappy "Bridge's parent application is not active. Bridge requires that a qualifying product

    I'm getting this error: "Bridge's parent application is not active. Bridge requires that a qualifying product has been launched at least once to enable this feature" message going from Bridge to Photoshop CS5 (and at the moment I do anticipate up-dating Photoshop to CS6).

    Hardware is 2.80GHz i7, Win7 with 8.00 GB Ram and lots of HD space (boot drive is less than 1/2 full).

    I have done some internet surfing and it seems a likely culprit may be the multiple copies of LR I had on this computer. Seems.

    I had installed LR at version 2, 3 & 4 and have now whittled the multiple installs down to the 2.7 64 bit install and the 4.1 64 bit install.

    I have tried 3-4 time to uninstall the 2.7 64 bit version with no luck what-so-ever, I have restarted after the attempts.

    I also tried to do a repair of the 2.7 version (it does load and appears to be completely functional) but to repair it Win7 displays a message window asking for the original "msi" file. I have my original LR version 2 disk but 2.7 (well duh) was an update and no, I didn't keep the update file.

    I tried Adobe customer support only to be cut off & I never got a call back "The courtesy of your hall is somewhat lessened of late".

    Anybody got some wisdom to share that bears on this vexation.?

    TIA
    cvt

  2. #2
    Lightroom Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    London
    Posts
    3,016
    Main OS
    7 64-bit
    Memory
    12gb
    CPU Cores
    8
    LR Version
    5.3
    File Format
    Raw
    Firstly, I would be amazed, Chuck, if Lightroom had caused this error.

    It appears to be a purely Bridge error, as it checks that Photoshop, InDesign, or the Creative Suite is present. For example, assuming you only own Photoshop CS5, I can imagine it happening if you'd uninstalled Photoshop but not uninstalled Bridge. That shouldn't happen, but there are ways. Have you tried starting Photoshop? What about killing Bridge's preferences - as you start Bridge, on Windows hold down Control Shift Alt.

    John
    John Beardsworth - Photographing, Writing, Advising, Coding
    Recent books: Digital Photo Workflow (+eBook), Advanced Digital B&W
    Plug-ins: Search Replace, OpenDirectly, Syncomatic, List View More
    Web: Photography - Lightroom Solutions

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    East Central Fl
    Posts
    7
    Experience
    Intermediate
    Main OS
    Windows 7 64-bit
    LR Version
    4.1
    Camera
    Nikon
    File Format
    Raw+Jpeg
    Thank you.

    I was working on the problem from the premise of "What is the last change you made?" and that was installing the LR 4.1 update. I will try "as you start Bridge, on Windows hold down Control Shift Alt".

    But I remain puzzled - what is preventing me from uninstalling LR 2.7. Any ideas there?

    cvt

  4. #4
    Lightroom Guru
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,558
    Experience
    Advanced
    Main OS
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Memory
    8gb
    CPU Cores
    4
    LR Version
    5.6
    Camera
    Nikon, Fuji, Olympus, Canon :)
    File Format
    Raw
    Chuck,

    You can get 2.7 (or any other release) here.

    Hal

  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    East Central Fl
    Posts
    7
    Experience
    Intermediate
    Main OS
    Windows 7 64-bit
    LR Version
    4.1
    Camera
    Nikon
    File Format
    Raw+Jpeg
    'Did that late last night, waiting for the opportunity to sit down and see if the repair (!) option cures LR 2.7 enough so I can uninstall it.

    Thanks
    cvt


    Quote Originally Posted by Hal P Anderson View Post
    Chuck,

    You can get 2.7 (or any other release) here.

    Hal

  6. #6
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    East Central Fl
    Posts
    7
    Experience
    Intermediate
    Main OS
    Windows 7 64-bit
    LR Version
    4.1
    Camera
    Nikon
    File Format
    Raw+Jpeg
    The 2.7 install download did succeed in uninstalling 2.7. Finally.
    But didn't solve the problem.
    I've tried calling Adobe and once again didn't get a call back! Gimp anyone?

    cvt

  7. #7
    Lightroom Guru
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,558
    Experience
    Advanced
    Main OS
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Memory
    8gb
    CPU Cores
    4
    LR Version
    5.6
    Camera
    Nikon, Fuji, Olympus, Canon :)
    File Format
    Raw
    Chuck,

    Like John said, this being caused by Lightroom was extremely unlikely.

    So what is happening, exactly? You run PS, fire up Bridge, and select an image in Bridge to edit, and then you get the error message?

    Hal

  8. #8
    Lightroom Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    London
    Posts
    3,016
    Main OS
    7 64-bit
    Memory
    12gb
    CPU Cores
    8
    LR Version
    5.3
    File Format
    Raw
    Which version of Bridge? CS3, CS4 etc? That error message usually indicates what it says - that the related PS or ID isn't present.

    And have you blitzed the preferences as I suggested?
    John Beardsworth - Photographing, Writing, Advising, Coding
    Recent books: Digital Photo Workflow (+eBook), Advanced Digital B&W
    Plug-ins: Search Replace, OpenDirectly, Syncomatic, List View More
    Web: Photography - Lightroom Solutions

  9. #9
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    East Central Fl
    Posts
    7
    Experience
    Intermediate
    Main OS
    Windows 7 64-bit
    LR Version
    4.1
    Camera
    Nikon
    File Format
    Raw+Jpeg

    Bridge's Parent Application

    John & Hal - what have I done to cure this?

    Called Adobe and twice got a promise fro a call-back, unhuh.

    Uninstalled all the extra copies of LightRoom
    "blitzed" the Bridge preferences
    Checked to see what versions I've got:
    Adobe Photoshop 12.0.4 x64;
    Camera Raw version 6.7.0.339;
    Bridge 4.0.5.11;
    LR 4.1 with Camera Raw 7.1
    & where Camera Raw is - "Camera Raw 8bi" is in C:\Program files (x86)\Common File\Adobe\Plug-Ins\File Formats
    Tried the dll file substitution on YouTube

    What jumps out at me is LightRoom 4.1 with Camera Raw 7.1 - if that is the problem: Can I (how do I?) step LR back to Camera Raw 6.x?

    cvt

  10. #10
    Lightroom Guru
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,558
    Experience
    Advanced
    Main OS
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Memory
    8gb
    CPU Cores
    4
    LR Version
    5.6
    Camera
    Nikon, Fuji, Olympus, Canon :)
    File Format
    Raw
    Chuck,

    LR using Camera Raw 7.1 isn't your problem. To "step it back", you'd have to go to LR 3.x. LR only uses the Camera Raw algorithm, not the actual Camera Raw filter.

    You really ought to be asking for help with this in a CS or Bridge forum, because that's where you're having trouble.

    Hal

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •