Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Lightroom 4 import is VERY slow

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    9
    Experience
    Intermediate
    Primary OS
    Windows 7 64-bit
    LR Version
    4.1

    Lightroom 4 import is VERY slow

    Hi everyone,

    I have a problem with my Lightroom 4.1 and I hope you can help me. Suddenly my imports have become very slow. When I import, it first imports 2 or three photos, then it stops for around 2 minutes, then it takes 2-3 more. That makes it take very long to import many hundreds of photos.

    I had the same problem in Lightroom 3.6, but when i upgraded it dissapeared, but then, unfortunately, it came back. My card reader is not the problem, it's USB 3.0 and when I copy the photos with Windows Explorer it takes only 2 minutes or so.

    Any ideas?

  2. #2
    Lightroom Guru
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,540
    Experience
    Advanced
    Primary OS
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Memory
    8gb
    CPU Cores
    4
    Video Card
    nVidia
    LR Version
    5.6
    Camera
    Nikon, Fuji, Olympus, Canon :)
    File Format
    Raw
    Printer
    Offsite Photo Lab
    Neo,

    Welcome!

    When you use Windows Explorer to copy the images to a hard drive, can you then import from the disk into LR at a reasonable speed?

    Hal

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    9
    Experience
    Intermediate
    Primary OS
    Windows 7 64-bit
    LR Version
    4.1
    No, that is just the same

  4. #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    9
    Experience
    Intermediate
    Primary OS
    Windows 7 64-bit
    LR Version
    4.1
    I can add that 18 photos have been added since i made my post.

  5. #5
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    West Sussex, UK
    Posts
    6,506
    Experience
    Advanced
    Primary OS
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Memory
    12gb
    CPU Cores
    4
    Video Card
    ATI
    LR Version
    5.6
    Camera
    Canon
    File Format
    Raw
    Printer
    HP
    Are you using the "Make Second Copy" import option?
    Jim

    Desktop: i7-930, 12gb RAM, 2 x SDD, 3 x Internal HDD, Win7 Pro 64bit
    Cameras: 5D MkIII, 7D

  6. #6
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    9
    Experience
    Intermediate
    Primary OS
    Windows 7 64-bit
    LR Version
    4.1
    Nope, just a normal "Copy and import"

  7. #7
    Lightroom Queen / Owner
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Southampton, UK
    Posts
    15,663
    Experience
    Power User
    Primary OS
    Mac 10.9.x Mavericks
    Memory
    16gb
    CPU Cores
    4
    Video Card
    nVidia
    LR Version
    5.5
    Camera
    Canon
    File Format
    Raw
    Printer
    None
    What happens if you import from your hard drive using the 'ADD' option instead? It would be useful to narrow down whether it's an issue getting them into the catalog or copying them around. Have you optimized your catalog recently?
    Victoria


    Lots of questions? Adobe Lightroom 5 - The Missing FAQ Book available now - PDF, ePub, Kindle & Paperback Discount code: LRF2011

    Website: Lightroom Queen Blog - Follow me on Twitter as @LightroomQueen - Find me on Facebook

  8. #8
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    9
    Experience
    Intermediate
    Primary OS
    Windows 7 64-bit
    LR Version
    4.1
    The problem dissapears when using "Add". Then it added 80 photos in just 3 seconds, and the copy from CF-card took around a half minute. But it would be great if I could make it work properly in LR. My catalog was optimized last night when I closed the program.

  9. #9
    Lightroom Queen / Owner
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Southampton, UK
    Posts
    15,663
    Experience
    Power User
    Primary OS
    Mac 10.9.x Mavericks
    Memory
    16gb
    CPU Cores
    4
    Video Card
    nVidia
    LR Version
    5.5
    Camera
    Canon
    File Format
    Raw
    Printer
    None
    Ok, that at least means it's not a problem importing into the catalog. And if you use the COPY option to copy files that are already on the hard drive to another location on the hard drive (taking the memory card/reader out of the equation), how fast is that?
    Victoria


    Lots of questions? Adobe Lightroom 5 - The Missing FAQ Book available now - PDF, ePub, Kindle & Paperback Discount code: LRF2011

    Website: Lightroom Queen Blog - Follow me on Twitter as @LightroomQueen - Find me on Facebook

  10. #10
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    9
    Experience
    Intermediate
    Primary OS
    Windows 7 64-bit
    LR Version
    4.1
    It works as it should - it doesn't take one or two at a time, but is constantly transferring

  11. #11
    Lightroom Queen / Owner
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Southampton, UK
    Posts
    15,663
    Experience
    Power User
    Primary OS
    Mac 10.9.x Mavericks
    Memory
    16gb
    CPU Cores
    4
    Video Card
    nVidia
    LR Version
    5.5
    Camera
    Canon
    File Format
    Raw
    Printer
    None
    Ok, so that points back to the card or card reader again. Can you borrow one from someone else, just to try? And maybe try a different memory card?
    Victoria


    Lots of questions? Adobe Lightroom 5 - The Missing FAQ Book available now - PDF, ePub, Kindle & Paperback Discount code: LRF2011

    Website: Lightroom Queen Blog - Follow me on Twitter as @LightroomQueen - Find me on Facebook

  12. #12
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    9
    Experience
    Intermediate
    Primary OS
    Windows 7 64-bit
    LR Version
    4.1
    But it works just fine when transferring via Explorer. And I've tried with both a Sandisk SDHC card and a Transcend CF card. Both acts the same.

  13. #13
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    9
    Experience
    Intermediate
    Primary OS
    Windows 7 64-bit
    LR Version
    4.1
    Quote Originally Posted by Victoria Bampton View Post
    Ok, that at least means it's not a problem importing into the catalog. And if you use the COPY option to copy files that are already on the hard drive to another location on the hard drive (taking the memory card/reader out of the equation), how fast is that?
    It just came to my mind that you means the Lightroom COPY on import action you mean? I just tried to copy the files via Explorer. Lol. I'll just try trough Lightroom too.

  14. #14
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    9
    Experience
    Intermediate
    Primary OS
    Windows 7 64-bit
    LR Version
    4.1
    Well, now my problem is gone...

    But it comes back and dissappears, i just don't now what the problem is. Any suggestions?

  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    535
    Primary OS
    Windows 8 64-bit
    Memory
    32GB
    CPU Cores
    4
    Video Card
    nVidia
    LR Version
    5.0
    Camera
    Canon
    File Format
    Raw
    Connect your camera direct to the PC and import from there, is there any difference
    Canon 7D + 24-105
    Windows 8x64, 32GB RAM, 660GT Video Card
    Job - Windows Server support for a Bank

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •