Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Why do "Save As" versions from "Edit in Photoshop", not get added to the Catalog?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    London, England
    Posts
    29
    Experience
    Intermediate
    Primary OS
    Mac 10.9.x Mavericks
    Memory
    16 GB
    CPU Cores
    8
    Video Card
    ATI Radeon HD 4870
    LR Version
    5.6
    Camera
    Nikon
    File Format
    Raw

    Why do "Save As" versions from "Edit in Photoshop", not get added to the Catalog?

    Further to my previous question on the subject, it seems that it is normal for non-RAW images, edited via "Edit in Photoshop", using the "Edit Original" option and then saved as another version (e.g. a Jpeg to a different folder), not to automatically be placed into the Catalog. In other words, one has to manually import them back into Lightroom. Is there a good reason for this? I can't think of one!

  2. #2
    Lightroom Queen / Owner
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Southampton, UK
    Posts
    15,928
    Experience
    Power User
    Primary OS
    Mac 10.10.x Yosemite
    Memory
    16gb
    CPU Cores
    4
    Video Card
    nVidia
    LR Version
    5.6
    Camera
    Canon
    File Format
    Raw
    Printer
    None
    Hi Mahombi, which version of Photoshop are you using?
    Victoria


    Lots of questions? Adobe Lightroom 5 - The Missing FAQ Book available now - PDF, ePub, Kindle & Paperback Discount code: LRF2011

    Website: Lightroom Queen Blog - Follow me on Twitter as @LightroomQueen - Find me on Facebook

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    London, England
    Posts
    29
    Experience
    Intermediate
    Primary OS
    Mac 10.9.x Mavericks
    Memory
    16 GB
    CPU Cores
    8
    Video Card
    ATI Radeon HD 4870
    LR Version
    5.6
    Camera
    Nikon
    File Format
    Raw
    Hi Victoria

    My Photoshop version is CS5.

    I should also say that since posting my question, I have found that opening my image as a Smart Object, seems to get around this problem. I just don't understand why it's necessary to take this route.

  4. #4
    Lightroom Queen / Owner
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Southampton, UK
    Posts
    15,928
    Experience
    Power User
    Primary OS
    Mac 10.10.x Yosemite
    Memory
    16gb
    CPU Cores
    4
    Video Card
    nVidia
    LR Version
    5.6
    Camera
    Canon
    File Format
    Raw
    Printer
    None
    LR doesn't have a direct way to talk to Photoshop so it uses Bridgetalk I believe, which is a kind of scripting. There are differences in the ways that LR passes the file - if you're passing it with settings, it seems to go one way (through Bridgetalk, which it can track) and when it's just opening originals it doesn't track it. I'm not entirely sure of the logic behind it though.
    Victoria


    Lots of questions? Adobe Lightroom 5 - The Missing FAQ Book available now - PDF, ePub, Kindle & Paperback Discount code: LRF2011

    Website: Lightroom Queen Blog - Follow me on Twitter as @LightroomQueen - Find me on Facebook

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •