Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: raf files (from fuji x100) changes on import

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    9
    Experience
    Intermediate
    Primary OS
    Mac 10.8.x Mountain Lion
    Memory
    12gb
    LR Version
    5.2
    Camera
    Canon
    File Format
    Raw

    raf files (from fuji x100) changes on import

    Hi, i've just imported for the first time some raw (raf) files from my fuji x100 in to LR3 (ver 3.6) and they now appear under exposed and very dark.

    Can anyone suggest why this might have happened?

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Lightroom Guru
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Bellaire, TX USA
    Posts
    7,673
    Experience
    Power User
    Primary OS
    Mac 10.10.x Yosemite
    Memory
    16gb
    CPU Cores
    4
    Video Card
    AMD Radeon HD 6770M
    LR Version
    5.6
    Camera
    Nikon D800E/D810
    File Format
    Raw
    Printer
    Canon
    Quote Originally Posted by Roc1 View Post
    Hi, i've just imported for the first time some raw (raf) files from my fuji x100 in to LR3 (ver 3.6) and they now appear under exposed and very dark.

    Can anyone suggest why this might have happened?

    Thanks!
    You are looking at your first RAW file. Until processed, they are flat toneless and noisey. What you saw on the back of the camera and the thumbnail was the processed JPEG that was created by the tiny computer inside your camera. Take a look at this link for more info:

    http://www.lightroomforums.net/showt...uin-my-picture

  3. #3
    Lightroom Queen / Owner
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Southampton, UK
    Posts
    15,928
    Experience
    Power User
    Primary OS
    Mac 10.10.x Yosemite
    Memory
    16gb
    CPU Cores
    4
    Video Card
    nVidia
    LR Version
    5.6
    Camera
    Canon
    File Format
    Raw
    Printer
    None
    Hi Roc, welcome to the forum!

    There's one other variation on Clee's comments - some cameras offer additional processing which underexposes the raw data and then brightens using post-processing. Canon have auto lighting optimizer, Nikon have active d-lighting, and Fuji may have something similar, so try checking the settings on your camera if they're significantly underexposed.
    Victoria


    Lots of questions? Adobe Lightroom 5 - The Missing FAQ Book available now - PDF, ePub, Kindle & Paperback Discount code: LRF2011

    Website: Lightroom Queen Blog - Follow me on Twitter as @LightroomQueen - Find me on Facebook

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Jamesville, NY USA
    Posts
    10
    Experience
    Intermediate
    Primary OS
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Memory
    16 GB
    CPU Cores
    8
    LR Version
    4.1

    DR

    Quote Originally Posted by Roc1 View Post
    Hi, i've just imported for the first time some raw (raf) files from my fuji x100 in to LR3 (ver 3.6) and they now appear under exposed and very dark.

    Can anyone suggest why this might have happened?

    Thanks!
    As Victoria suggests, it has to do with, in this case, Fuji X100 having Dynamic Range settings. DR200, DR400, etc. You won't see this if you set DR 100.

  5. #5
    Lightroom Queen / Owner
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Southampton, UK
    Posts
    15,928
    Experience
    Power User
    Primary OS
    Mac 10.10.x Yosemite
    Memory
    16gb
    CPU Cores
    4
    Video Card
    nVidia
    LR Version
    5.6
    Camera
    Canon
    File Format
    Raw
    Printer
    None
    Thanks for the confirmation bgates, much appreciated.
    Victoria


    Lots of questions? Adobe Lightroom 5 - The Missing FAQ Book available now - PDF, ePub, Kindle & Paperback Discount code: LRF2011

    Website: Lightroom Queen Blog - Follow me on Twitter as @LightroomQueen - Find me on Facebook

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •